Library Essentials for NTU Graduate Students

Search across NTU Library collection for books, audio-visuals, journal articles, NTU theses and dissertations, and more with OneSearch. 

• Browse by Author, Title, Series or Subject
• Narrow your search using search box suggestions
• Refine your search results with filters

Links to databases, journals, and University repositories can be found below the OneSearch box.

Find the best resources for your research in our database collections. Access databases via the A–Z list, or search by title/keyword, subject, material type (e.g. datasets, news, standards), or access mode.

NTU Library databases can be accessed through the link below the OneSearch box on the Library homepage, or directly via: https://libguides.ntu.edu.sg/az/databases.
 

Tip: When starting a new search, remember to Clear Filters.

NTU theses and dissertations are available through DR-NTU, the University’s institutional repository. Materials can be browsed by school or searched directly.

To browse, go to the DR-NTU homepage, select Communities & Collections, then choose Colleges/Schools.

Access DR-NTU via the link below the OneSearch box on the Library homepage or directly at: https://dr.ntu.edu.sg.

You can also search for theses and dissertations on:

• ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global
• Open Access Theses and Dissertations

Full text tools support your online research and unlock access to e-resources* behind paywalls — at no cost.

*E-resources subscribed by NTU Library

	LibBookmark
LibBookmark is a browser bookmarklet that connects you to NTU Library subscriptions when searching scholarly websites. Setup instructions: https://libguides.ntu.edu.sg/full-text-tools/libbookmark
	Google Scholar Library Links
Google Scholar is one of the most comprehensive academic search engines in the world. By connecting it to NTU Library through Library links, you can access full text articles via the ‘Find it @NTU Library’ link next to search results. Setup instructions: https://libguides.ntu.edu.sg/full-text-tools/google-scholar

Use these services to request for materials not found in the NTU Library collection:

• Request for Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
• Request for Documents (DocDel) e.g. journal articles, book chapters, conference papers, etc.
• Recommend Book Purchase

Note: Please check that the item is not available in NTU’s collection before making a request.

The library offers advisory services and resources to help you with your research and discovery throughout the Research Lifecycle. 

Literature Search Consultation
NTU Librarians can help you: 

• identify search terms and develop effective search strategies that can assist you in defining your topic
• recommend relevant databases and search engines
• find relevant sources such as books, journal articles, conference papers, market reports, data or other types of materials for your research

This service would be especially beneficial for those who:

• are unsure of where and how to begin their literature search for their assignment, project or research
• need guidance with formulating search strategies and navigating databases & search engines
• need help with identifying and evaluating scholarly resources
   

Systematic Search Services
These services are available to students conducting systematic reviews. Services include:

1. Systematic Search Advisory
   Get expert advice from a librarian on search strategy development and resource selection for systematic reviews (up to 3 hours consultation).
2. Systematic Search Collaboration
   Collaborate with librarians on formulation of research question, search strategy development and validation, database searching and syntax translation, citation export and reporting of search methods for reproducibility. Co-authorship is welcome.

More services listed at https://www.ntu.edu.sg/education/libraries/services.

Contact the Library's Open Science and Research Services Team when you:

• have questions, suggestions, or wish to collaborate to advocate open science/research (e.g. open methods/open access publications/code/data),
• need help with author identifiers/profiles e.g. ORCID, Google Scholar Profile, Scopus Author Profile, ResearcherID profile in Web of Science, or
• are looking for ideas on ways to increase research visibility and impact.

Research Data Management (RDM) E-Learning Course

Research Data Management (RDM) e-learning course introduces good RDM practices based on the latest policies and guidelines. Good RDM practices help to mitigate risks such as data loss, leakage, infringement of data reuse terms, or even research integrity-related risks such as data falsification and fabrication. Learn about good RDM practices based on the latest policies and guidelines by self-enrolling in this course via NTULearn.

Data Management Plan (DMP) and DR-NTU (Data) Workshops 

• Data Management Plan (DMP) workshops

  New to the NTU Data Management Plan template or would like a refresher training or have new team members? This workshop introduces you to the benefits of having a data management plan, best practices in research data management and ways to implement and update your DMP.
  

• Intro to DR-NTU and DR-NTU Data
  DR-NTU and DR-NTU (Data) are the open access repositories of NTU, which store and share NTU publications and research data. This workshop aims to introduce the functionalities of the repositories, so that you can utilize them in order to fulfil funders and/or publisher’s requirements.
  

Find out more at https://libguides.ntu.edu.sg/rdm/dmpworkshop.

Past-year NTU exam papers are available at https://bit.ly/ntuexampapers23.

Login with your NTU network account is required to access the papers.