Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Resources -- Recommendations and Requests: 2. Recommend a Book

This guide is about submitting a resource recommendation or request to the Library.

Recommend a Book

A. For Course Reserves

The role of Course Reserves is to provide shared access to library materials that support instructional requirements for courses taught at NTU. The reserve collection can comprise textbooks, articles, DVDs, and other publications that are required reading or viewing.

Course instructors are encouraged to use the NTU CourseReserves platform in the Learning Management System (NTULearn) to select and request items for Course Reserves.

Physical items

Physical items will be made available following our circulation policies, e.g. a 2-hour loan for books and a 4-hour loan for DVDs. The number of copies purchased depends on factors such as class size, price of the item, average transactions, etc.

Electronic items

For electronic resources, availability will depend on their digital rights. The number of copies purchased or subscribed to will depend on factors such as class size, price, and digital rights.

Textbooks

We understand that students are expected to purchase their own copy of designated textbooks (print or electronic version) as they deem necessary. Course instructors can work with Booklink (the campus bookstore) to arrange for sufficient physical copies for students to purchase. Instructors may also liaise with publishers to arrange for e-textbooks to be made available.

NTU Library does not have the mandate nor budget to supply students with their personal or individual copies of designated textbooks. The Library will purchase at least one copy so that students will have access to a copy to use it when they need it.

Digital rights of e-textbooks available to libraries differ from those for individual use. These include limited concurrency, ability to download, availability for offline reading, and limited printing.  

Streaming Videos

Streaming Videos or Video on Demand (VOD) is a service provided by the Library for current NTU staff and students to access digitised videos on the intranet. Content can be accessed on computers or mobile devices anywhere with a working internet connection.

The distribution and licensing of videos worldwide is complicated (see also: this FAQ). Video producers or distributors may choose not to sell to libraries. Netflix, Amazon Prime Video or Apple TV only offer individual, personal subscription.

Course instructors may wish to consider choosing titles from our existing collection of streaming videos, or select titles available on:

For the purchase and use of audio-visual materials, the Library complies with regulations and guidelines from the Infocomm Media Development Authority (IMDA) of Singapore.

Submitting a request

Send an email to acquisition[at]ntu.edu.sg with the following details:

  • Course name and course code
  • Period of use (e.g. AY 19/20, semester 2)
  • Number of students
  • Bibliographic information of the title
    • Title
    • Year of publication
    • Director
    • URL(s) where helpful
  • How is this video being used in your course?
    • Is it mandatory viewing?
    • Is the film screen during class-time? Are students expected to view the entire film outside class-time?
    • Is there an assignment based on the film?
  • How likely are you to use this film in the next 2-3 years?

NOTE: Subscriptions to instructional or educational video courses online, such as those in Lynda.com or Schoolism.com, do not fall under the current scope of NTU Library.

B. For Research Using School / Research Funds

Researchers can choose to procure publications using research or school funds. These publications are considered part of the Library’s collection that can be circulated within the University for the purposes of research, learning or teaching.

Physical items are loaned to the requestors under Long Term Loan. The loan period is 2 years. Subsequently, the loan can be renewed, up to a maximum of 9 renewals.

The borrower is responsible for the safekeeping of the materials and is to return the items when they are no longer needed.

There are two ways to purchase materials using school or research funds: 

ServiceNow Request: Purchase Library Materials

Researchers submit a ServiceNow request indicating the cost centre and GL code and necessary information regarding the item. When the request is approved by the Approving Officer, the Library will do the sourcing and procurement. 

ServiceNow Request: Catalogue Library Materials

Researchers may choose to purchase and pay for the materials they need first and submit a reimbursement claim later.

Submit a request via ServiceNow. The Library will process these requests and determine whether the materials can be added to the collection. Requestors will receive an email from the Library that serves as a supporting document for the reimbursement claim.

For materials that the Library will add to the collection, requestors will receive an email notification with instructions to send the materials for cataloguing.

Materials that the Library does not Purchase or Catalogue

There are materials that the Library does not collect, and therefore not purchase nor catalogue. These include:

  • Juvenile materials
  • Instruction manuals for very specific equipment and users
  • Materials in obsolete formats which are no longer readable with existing equipment
  • Computer software for use by schools and departments
  • Workbooks, solution manuals, instructor's notes
  • Electronic books or resources which are sold on a personal-use basis (i.e. cannot be shared)
  • Materials with no scholarly or academic value/relevance
  • Self-published materials with no evidence of editing, peer-review, and proof-reading
  • Objectionable content or titles which are banned or restricted by the Infocomm Media Development Authority (IMDA) of Singapore

Sending materials for cataloguing

The Resources team is located at Lee Wee Nam Library, Level 2. The entrance to the office is located on the right of the staircase leading up to the library entrance. Please call 6790-5214 to inform us before you come during office hours:

  • Mondays to Thursdays 9.00am to 5.00pm
  • Fridays 9.00am to 4.30pm

Cataloguing and processing will usually take 1-3 working days.

When the item(s) is ready to be picked up, the borrower will receive an email notification from the Library. If you are assisting your colleague, please let us know who to loan the item to.

C. For the Library Collection

Library members can recommend books to the Library to add to the Library collection. Decisions will be made based on current collection development policies and guidelines. The electronic version is preferred. The Library generally buys one copy of each title to make full use of our funds. To recommend a book purchase, please click here.

If the recommendation is made for specific research or teaching needs that falls outside our collection policies, requestors can refer to other ways to procure the materials as stated in this guide.