Skip to main content

DR-NTU User Guides: Terms of Use

Important Information about Submitting your Works and Terms of Use for DR-NTU

Submitting your Works

Making your works available through DR-NTU facilitates the sharing of knowledge and increases the research impact. By depositing your works in DR-NTU for open access, the full-text and metadata of your works, including the title, author, abstract, etc., will be publicly searchable, viewable and downloadable.


Access to your Submitted Works
DR-NTU adopts a 4-tiered system to manage access to scholarly works – open access, restricted access, embargo and exemption.  
 

Open Access Full-text and metadata of works are openly shared and downloadable
Restricted Access Metadata of works are openly viewable but full-text are shared and downloadable only within the NTU community
Embargo  Authors can delay the sharing of their works by specifying an embargo date. During the period of embargo, the full-text will be locked-up but the metadata is created and made publicly viewable. When the embargo expires, the full-text will be viewable and downloadable publicly or to NTU community only (where applicable).
Exemption  Authors do not need to deposit their works into DR-NTU

For details on embargo setting or exemption request, please see Embargo and Exemption section.


Terms of Use

General terms of use
Unless otherwise specified, all works in DR-NTU can be viewed and downloaded by users for their own research, private study and teaching purposes. However, it is not permitted to use DR-NTU works for (a) commercial purposes, (b) the creation of a database or (c) dissemination to other people. Users agree not to misrepresent and misapply research findings.

Copyright and Creative Commons License
Contributors to DR-NTU must hold the copyright (either solely or jointly) or the right to deposit for the content that they submit to DR-NTU. To enable NTU to manage, deposit and disseminate the materials submitted to the repository, the author/creator/ copyright holder(s) must grant the University a royalty-free, irrevocable, perpetual and non-exclusive license to use and reproduce the work. They should make sure that any existing agreements related to the submitted works, such as prior agreements with journal publishers, are not in conflict with preservation and dissemination of the works through DR-NTU. 

For works that are unpublished, such as PhD theses, the use of the works will be governed by Creative Commons License - Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International (CC BY-NC 4.0). For more information about Creative Commons, please click here.

Contributor’s responsibilities
Contributors are responsible for the quality, validity and authenticity of the works submitted through direct online submission or staff-mediated submission. They need to provide accurate metadata for the deposited works to facilitate searching and discovery.

Personal, confidential or sensitive information
The submitted work should not contain personal, confidential or sensitive information. For instance, if your work contains personal data such as NRIC, Addresses and Contact Numbers, you should anonymise or remove them from your work before submission. Similarly, it should not contain commercially sensitive information or sensitive information that impacts national security.

Withdrawal of Submitted Works
All submitted works will be archived and made available for knowledge sharing in the long run. However, under certain exceptional circumstances, some works may be removed due to license agreement violation, legal requirements, copyright infringement, plagiarism or retraction by publisher. Typically, the full-text of the withdrawn item will be removed from DR-NTU but the associated metadata will be retained with a withdrawal notice added. NTU Library reserves the right to withdraw publications or works that are deemed to be unsuitable for sharing.

Exclusion of liability
The University (including the Library) shall not be liable for any loss or damage connected with the submission, storage or making available of the work on DR-NTU, or for any loss or damage arising from any use of data or information contained in DR-NTU by any person.