DR-NTU User Guides

Before the submission, please note that:

1.  All NTU faculty and staff are required to deposit a proper version of their journal articles and conference papers to DR-NTU upon acceptance of their publications to comply with the Open Access Policy (intranet link) with effect from August 2011.

2. Submit your paper to DR-NTU only when it has been accepted by the journal publisher or conference organiser.

3. Deposits should be made soonest possible once acceptance of manuscript to ensure the version that can be shared is not lost.

4. For Gold OA publications, please upload your published version with the metadata record. For Green OA publications published in conventional subscription-based journals, please check the publisher’s self-archiving policy before a manuscript submission is made to ensure the journal’s interest of OA compliance to be met.

5. To check the publisher’s self-archiving policy, you may use the Jisc's open policy finder (formerly Sherpa/Romeo) website or check the publisher’s website directly. Please choose the proper version that will be allowed to deposit in DR-NTU. To differentiate an accepted version from a published version, please see the image below.

        
6. If the publisher requires their publications to be embargoed for a period of time, you can set an embargo expiry date on your paper during the submission.

7. For those publishers that do not allow accepted version (final peer-reviewed manuscript) to be deposited in DR-NTU, the metadata record including abstract will be displayed and a link provided in DR-NTU to the subscribed content whenever appropriate.

8. Please read Terms of Use before submitting your works to DR-NTU.

9. Please note that the Library needs at least 2-3 weeks to process your submission during the peak periods, thus please submit your work at your soonest to avoid last-minute rush and processing “jam”.

There are two ways to deposit papers: (A) Self-submission; (B) Staff-mediated submission

A. Self-submission:

1. Go to DR-NTU homepage at https://dr.ntu.edu.sg/. Click “Deposit”.
   
   
    
2. a) Click Log in icon
   
   
   b) Sign in using your network account:

   NTU/NIE student (login using email id): username@e.ntu.edu.sg

   NTU staff         : username@staff.main.ntu.edu.sg
   NTU associate : username@assoc.main.ntu.edu.sg
   NIE staff           : username@niestaff.cluster.nie.edu.sg
    

3. At MyDSpace page, click on   and select Publication.
   
   
    
4. Enter the abbreviation of the school in the entry box. A list of collections will appear for you to choose from.
   Click on the specific collection to which you wish to deposit the paper.
   
   
    
5. Upload the full text file in the “Drop files to attach them or browse” section. (Note: Please attach only the “Accepted version,” which includes all modifications from the peer review process, but before copyediting, graphic design, formatting, typesetting, and other work done by the publisher to produce the final published article. Do not upload the final “published version,” unless the paper is published under a Creative Commons License.) You may skip this step if you are not attaching the full text in your submission. Then, click “I confirm the license above.”
   
   
    
6. Below is the submission form as displayed on the screen. For manual submission, fill in the fields as instructed on the screen. Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are mandatory; the other fields may be skipped and left empty. If you are submitting using a DOI, the system will auto-fill the fields for you.
   
   
    
7. If you wish to view the uploaded file, set an embargo (please refer to the “Setting embargo to the full text file” and “Embargo period for research paper” sections for details), or delete the file, simply scroll down to the "Upload files" section. If you want to add additional files, you can do so in the “Drop files to attach them or browse” section.
   
   
    

Click "+Deposit" when you are done with your submission. Please note that at this stage, your submission is only being dispatched to the workflow task pool in the DR-NTU system for processing by the Library; your paper has not yet been archived in DR-NTU. You will receive an email notification with a URL for your work in DR-NTU once your submission is processed and approved by the Library. If, for any reason, your submission is not approved, you will receive an email notification explaining the basis for rejection.




Setting embargo to the full text file
At the Upload files section, click  

Following will display on screen.
Select "Open Embargo” if you need to set an embargo period at the “Access condition type”

Embargo period for research paper

You can check the embargo period you should set for your paper and the version of the paper you can use for self-archiving in various journals by using the Jisc Open Policy Finder (formerly the Sherpa Service) at https://openpolicyfinder.jisc.ac.uk/.
Please see examples below:


 

B. Staff-mediated submission:

Faculty and researchers can submit papers through a department-administrator-mediated submission. Please inform the Library if you have a proxy submitting on your behalf.

To minimize any inconvenience to NTU faculty and researchers, the Library performs regular staff-mediated submissions to populate DR-NTU with published papers:

• Library staff downloads NTU paper metadata from citation databases such as Scopus.
• Library staff checks the publisher’s self-archiving policy to determine the allowed version for deposit.
• Library staff solicits the allowed version from the NTU author and obtains their agreement to grant the NTU Library a Non-exclusive Distribution License and Exclusion of Liability via email.
• NTU author provides the appropriate version for the Library staff to deposit.
• Library staff deposits the paper into DR-NTU on behalf of the author.

Please contact us if any assistance is needed.