To help authors maximise the benefits of open access, the Library supports the deposit of publications in the institutional repository, DR-NTU (green open access), and also partners with selected publishers to offer NTU-affiliated corresponding authors APC (article processing charge) waivers or discounts for publishing open access journal articles.
For enquiries, NTU authors may contact NTU Library via NTU Ask A Librarian, and select Article Processing Charge (APC) in the drop-down; NIE authors may email libscomm@nie.edu.sg.
To learn more about APC support, NTU authors may refer to the NTU APC Support Service FAQs; NIE authors may visit the NIE APC LibGuide.
Please note that APC support may be discontinued, subject to availability of University funding. You are advised to continue budgeting for APC in your research grants where possible.
Quick links
ASSOCIATION FOR COMPUTING MACHINERY (ACM)
APC Support Availability: Available
Provision of APC Waiver or Discount: Waiver
Author Workflow: Self-service and unmediated
Eligibility Criteria: NTU corresponding authors' articles must be accepted for publication on or after 1 January 2025 to be eligible for coverage. The Agreement does not include National Institute of Education (NIE) authors.
List of Eligible Publications (Please note that it does not include books.)
List of Eligible Article Types
Creative Commons Licenses:
Additional Information:
AMERICAN CHEMICAL SOCIETY (ACS)
APC Support Availability: Available
Type of APC: Waiver via a 'Promotion Code'
Author Workflow:
After the manuscript has been accepted in ACS Omega, NTU-affiliated corresponding authors must first contact the Library for a 'Promotion Code' before making any payment.
Thereafter, the author may enter the 'Promotion Code' during the APC payment process on CCC RightsLink for the waiver. Step-by-step guide available here. If the author has made self-payment to ACS Omega for APC, it cannot be reversed to apply the promotion code.
Eligibility Criteria: NTU corresponding authors' articles must be accepted for publication on or after 1 January 2025 to be eligible for coverage. The Agreement does not include National Institute of Education (NIE) authors.
List of Eligible Journals:
The following ACS publication grants the author APC waiver via promotion code.
The following ACS publications are offering special introductory sponsored open access publishing in which APCs are automatically waived. Please check the ACS website section on “Other fully open access journals” for more details.
Subscriber Discounts: NTU-affiliated corresponding authors are eligible for a discount of US$250 on listed prices for open access publishing in hybrid/transformative journals. Please check the ACS website section on “Subscriber discounts” for the latest information.
Creative Commons Licenses:
AMERICAN SOCIETY OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERS (ASME)
APC Support Availability: Available
Type of APC Support: Waiver
Author Workflow: Self-service and unmediated
Eligibility Criteria: NTU corresponding authors' articles must be accepted for publication on or after 1 January 2025 to be eligible for coverage. The Agreement does not include National Institute of Education (NIE) authors.
Creative Commons Licenses:
Additional Information:
APC Support Availability: Available
Type of APC Support: Waiver
Author Workflow: Self-service and unmediated
Eligibility Criteria: NTU corresponding authors' articles must be accepted for publication from 1 January 2023 to 31 December 2025 to be eligible for coverage.
List of Eligible Journals: Use the Journal Eligibility Checker; enter 'Singapore' as the location, and select 'Nanyang Technological University' as the institution to view list.
List of Eligible Article Types
Creative Commons Licenses:
Additional Information:
COLD SPRING HARBOUR LABORATORY
APC Support Availability: Available
Type of APC Support: Waiver
Author Workflow: Self-service and unmediated
Eligibility Criteria: NTU corresponding authors' articles must be accepted for publication on or after 1 January 2025 to be eligible for coverage. The Agreement does not include National Institute of Education (NIE) authors.
List of Eligible Journals:
List of Eligible Article Types: Fully peer-reviewed research, review, and case-study articles are eligible. Editorials, comments, protocols, methods, and similar materials are not eligible.
Creative Commons Licenses:
Additional Information:
Available
Waiver and Discount
NTU-affiliated corresponding authors should:
| Journal Type | If APC Support Is Approved | If APC Support Is Not Approved |
|---|---|---|
| Core Hybrid Journals |
Full APC waiver granted, subject to availability within NTU’s annual waiver quota. Thereafter, a 10% discount on APC will be provided. |
Author may choose to either: Option 1: Publish under the subscription model (no APC required) |
| Gold Open Access Journals |
10% discount on the APC. APC waivers are not applicable to Gold Open Access journals. |
Author is required to pay the full APC to publish (open access only). |
| Assessed By | Criteria |
|---|---|
| NTU Library |
Corresponding author must be NTU-affiliated. Articles must be published in NTU Tier 1 List OR in journals ranked in the top 10% of their subject area. |
| Publisher (Elsevier) | Article must be accepted for publication between 14 April 2025 and 31 December 2026. |
Disclaimer
This information reflects the current policies of both NTU and Elsevier and is subject to change. Authors are advised to consult this page regularly to ensure they have the most up-to-date information.
APC Support Availability: Available
Type of APC Support: Waiver
Author Workflow: Self-service and unmediated
Eligibility Criteria: NTU corresponding authors' articles must be accepted for publication on or after 1 January 2025 to be eligible for coverage.
List of Eligible Journals and Book Series
Creative Commons Licenses:
Additional Information:
APC Support Availability: Fully Utilised
Type of APC Support: Waiver
Author Workflow: Self-service and library-mediated
Eligibility Criteria: NTU corresponding authors' articles must be accepted for publication from 1 January 2025 to 31 December 2025 to be eligible for coverage.
Creative Commons Licenses:
Additional Information:
APC Support Availability: Available
Type of APC Support: Waiver
Author Workflow:
Upon article acceptance, the author will be informed via email to complete the publishing agreement. NTU-affiliated corresponding authors should choose to be funded through the Taylor & Francis and Nanyang Technological University Open Access Agreement.
Thereafter, the author should submit an APC Support Request Form via NTU ServiceNow to facilitate eligibility checks by NTU Library.
The author will be notified of the outcome of the APC Support Request via email from Taylor & Francis.
If the request has not been approved, the author will be given the option to fund the APC through a different source.
Eligibility Criteria (by NTU): NTU-affiliated corresponding authors must publish in NTU Tier 1 Journals or top 10% journals
Eligibility Criteria (by Publishers): NTU corresponding authors' articles must be accepted for publication on or after 1 January 2025 to be eligible for coverage. The Agreement does not include National Institute of Education (NIE) authors.
List of Eligible Journals: Taylor & Francis and Routledge Open Select (hybrid) and Open Access Journals only. Please note that Dove Press, F1000, and Expert Medicine titles are excluded.
List of Eligible Article Types: Only Research Article (RA) types, formerly Core, are eligible.
Creative Common Licenses:
Additional Information:
Disclaimer
This information reflects the current policies of both NTU and Taylor & Francis and is subject to change. Authors are advised to consult this page regularly to ensure they have the most up-to-date information.
APC Support Availability: Available
Type of APC Support: Waiver
Author Workflow: Self-service and unmediated
Eligibility Criteria by Publisher: NTU corresponding authors' articles must be accepted for publication on or after 1 January 2025 to be eligible for coverage. The Agreement does not include National Institute of Education (NIE) authors.
List of Eligible Journals:
Additional Information:
THE GEOLOGICAL SOCIETY - LYELL COLLECTION
APC Support Availability: Available
Type of APC Support: Waiver
Author Workflow: Self-service and unmediated
Eligibility Criteria by Publisher: NTU corresponding authors' articles must be accepted for publication on or after 1 January 2025 to be eligible for coverage. The Agreement does not include National Institute of Education (NIE) authors.
List of Eligible Journals and Books
List of Eligible Article Types: All Article Types
Creative Commons Licenses:
Additional Information:
APC Support Availability: Fully Utilised for NTU, Available for NIE
Type of APC Support: Waiver
Author Workflow:
Once NTU-affiliated corresponding authors confirm their institutional affiliation and opt to publish open access via Wiley’s Author Services platform, they must submit an APC Support Request Form via NTU ServiceNow to facilitate additional eligibility checks by NTU Library.
Authors will be notified of the outcome directly via email from Wiley.
If the APC request is not approved, authors will be given the option to either:
Proceed with open access by personally covering the full APC, or
Publish the article as a subscription article (for hybrid journals only).
Eligibility Criteria (by NTU): Article must be published either on NTU Tier 1 Journals or top 10% journals
Eligibility Criteria (by Publisher):
To qualify for APC coverage under NTU’s agreement with Wiley, the article must meet all the following conditions:
The corresponding author is affiliated with NTU
The article is either:
Accepted for publication in a Hybrid Open Access Journal on or after 1 January 2025, or
Submitted to a Gold Open Access Journal on or after 1 January 2025
The article has not yet been published online (i.e. not in Early View or In Issue Online)
⚠️ Important:
List of Eligible Journals: Hybrid Open Access and Gold Open Access Journals
List of Eligible Article Types
Creative Common Licenses:
Additional Information:
Disclaimer
This information reflects the current policies of both NTU and Wiley and is subject to change. Authors are advised to consult this page regularly to ensure they have the most up-to-date information.