Research101

Systematic, practical, and accessible, this is the first book to focus on finding the most defensible design for a particular research question. Thoughtful guidelines are provided for weighing the advantages and disadvantages of various methods, including qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods designs. The book can be read sequentially or readers can dip into chapters on specific stages of research (basic design choices, selecting and sampling participants, addressing ethical issues) or data collection methods (surveys, interviews, experiments, observations, archival studies, and combined methods). Many chapter headings and subheadings are written as questions, helping readers quickly find the answers they need to make informed choices that will affect the later analysis and interpretation of their data. nbsp; Useful features include: *Easy-to-navigate part and chapter structure. *Engaging research examples from a variety of fields. *End-of-chapter tables that summarize the main points covered. *Detailed suggestions for further reading at the end of each chapter. *Integration of data collection, sampling, and research ethics in one volume. *Comprehensive glossary. See also Vogt et al.'s Selecting the Right Analyses for Your Data, which addresses the next steps in coding, analyzing, and interpreting data.

This collection brings together key articles and book chapters that provide an overview of research design for the social sciences, focusing on the purpose, nature, and types of research design - the architecture of research rather than the mechanics of running a research project. Emphasis is put on non-laboratory-based research designs that are typically encountered in the social sciences, those involving people rather than objects. The range of issues covered is impressive: the epististemology of social research design; the complex matters of causation and the logic of design; the importance of units of analsyis; the subjective elements of human behaviour and the role of qualitative and quantitative data. This range of topics is the strength of this four-volume collection. It offers insight into the central concepts, strengths, and weaknesses of various designs and threats to validity of research, and also provides the key readings outlining a wide range of research designs used across the social sciences.

This best-selling text pioneered the comparison of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods research design. For all three approaches, John W. Creswell and new co-author J. David Creswell include a preliminary consideration of philosophical assumptions, key elements of the research process, a review of the literature, an assessment of the use of theory in research applications, and reflections about the importance of writing and ethics in scholarly inquiry.  The Fifth Edition includes more coverage of: epistemological and ontological positioning in relation to the research question and chosen methodology; case study, PAR, visual and online methods in qualitative research; qualitative and quantitative data analysis software; and in quantitative methods more on power analysis to determine sample size, and more coverage of experimental and survey designs; and updated with the latest thinking and research in mixed methods. SHARE this Comparison of Research Approaches poster with your students to help them navigate the distinction between the three approaches to research.