LibGuides: International Trading Programme: Other Resources

About

This page consolidates all resources related to international trading which includes news, links to agencies, relevant legislation, and possible databases to find articles and data related to commodities, energy, and other topics in international trading.

Access to some of the links on this page have been provided by NTU Library and requires your log in using your Network ID and password. If you have any questions regarding access to these resources or need further help, do drop us an email.

News

The Economist This link opens in a new window
Economist.com analyses world business and current affairs, provides insight and opinion on international news, world politics, business, finance, science and technology, as well as overviews of cultural trends and regular industry, business and country special reports
Available to current NTU staff and students.
Restricted onsite access for NIE staff & students, associate members-- please approach the staff at the Lee Wee Nam Library service desk for assistance.

Bloomberg Commodities
Get updated commodity futures prices. Find information about commodity prices and trading, and find the latest commodity index comparison charts.

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles, dissertations, company- and industry-focused reports, and news. Covers management, economics, marketing, finance, and international business.
Includes ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline.
Available to current NTU staff and students.
Restricted onsite access for NIE staff & students, associate members -- please approach the staff at the Lee Wee Nam Library service desk for assistance.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides access to peer-reviewed journal articles, eBooks, reports, trade publications, and conference proceedings across numerous disciplines.
Available to current NTU/NIE staff and students.
Restricted onsite access for associate members -- please approach the staff at the Lee Wee Nam Library service desk for assistance.
Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
This database provides articles and chapters on the economics of agriculture in Asian countries from the 1960s onwards.
Available to current NTU/NIE staff and students
Restricted onsite access for associate members -- please approach the staff at the Lee Wee Nam Library service desk for assistance.

FAO Governing & Statutory Bodies
The Food and Agriculture Organisation of the United Nations database provides documents from its committees, conferences, councils, etc.

Bloomberg
Bloomberg provides pricing, data, history, news, analytics and research for global financial markets.
It is terminal based and you can find the terminals at the Business Lounge in the Business Library (N2-B2b). You can book a terminal through this link.
Bloomberg Provides financial data on stocks, bonds, currencies, and commodities, along with news, analytics, and research reports.
Take the Bloomberg Markets Concepts (BMC) course at the Bloomberg terminals. After logging in, type BMC at the command line and register with your NTU email account.
Concurrent users: 4
Available to current NTU staff and students only.
CEIC Data This link opens in a new window
The CEIC database provides economic time series data for more than 120 countries. Data variables provided are for business and economic surveys, financial and capital markets, foreign exchange, interest rates, international trade, prices, investments, among many others.
Note: Library subscription only includes World Trend Plus, Global Database, High Frequency Database and China Premium Database.
Concurrent users: 10
Available to current NTU staff and students only.
Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Viewpoint This link opens in a new window
EIU's research reports, data, and forecasts on various topics. Includes political and economic analysis for 200+ countries, industry trends, and proprietary forecasting models.
Available to current NTU staff and students.
Restricted onsite access for NIE staff & students, associate members -- please approach the staff at Lee Wee Nam Library service desk for assistance.

Economic and Social Commission for Europe (ECE)
The ECE statistical database provides country overviews and statistics on economics and forestry.
UN Comtrade database
Free access to detailed global trade data. UN Comtrade is a repository of official international trade statistics and relevant analytical tables.
United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA)
DESA statistical database provides commodity trade statistics and oil data.
United Nations Industrial Development Organisation (UNIDO)
UNIDO provides statistics for industrial performances in various countries, and documents, multimedia, and other data.
World Trade Organisation Data Portal
The WTO Data portal contains statistical indicators related to WTO issues. Available time series cover merchandise trade and trade in services statistics, market access indicators (bound, applied & preferential tariffs), non-tariff information as well as other indicators.
Food and Agriculture Organisation of the United Nation Statistics
FAO Statistics provides links to the statistical databases of the FAO such as the Agro-MAPS, AQUASTAT, CountrySTAT, Fishery and Aquaculture Statistics, Forestry Country Profiles, GLIPHA, PAAT Information Systems, and TERRASTAT.
FAOSTAT
FAOSTAT provides free access to food and agriculture data for over 245 countries and territories and covers all FAO regional groupings from 1961 to the most recent year available.
Environmental Data Explorer
The UNEP provides the Environmental Data Explorer that has more than 500 different types of statistics at national, regional and global levels. They can be shown as graphs, maps and tables.

Agencies

International Energy Agency
The International Energy Agency effects an international program of energy cooperation among its members. The site provides supply statistics, projections, research papers, and other materials for natural gas and oil.
International Energy Forum (IEF)
The International Energy Forum (IEF), provides energy reports derived from critical global oil and gas agencies and works to make sure that there will be energy security and transparency.
Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC)
The Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC) works with government agencies to provide statistics on oil demand and supply market, upstream and downstream capacities, and also issues bulletins and reports.

Legislation

LawNet Legal Research This link opens in a new window
This database focuses on Singapore related legal documents. You can find the court cases, law reports, decisions, summaries, legislation, journals, news articles, commentaries on cases and judgments, books, parliament and committee reports, and treaties.
The Library's subscription excludes Premium add-ons and the other modules. See list of databases available here.
Concurrent users: 5
Available to current NTU staff and students only.

FAOLEX Database
Produced by the Food and Agriculture Organisation of the United Nations, FAOLEX is a comprehensive and up-to-date legislative and policy database, one of the world's largest electronic collection of national laws, regulations and policies on food, agriculture and natural resources management. Users of FAOLEX have direct access to the abstracts and indexing information about each text, as well as to the full text of the legislation and policies contained in the database.