LibGuides: International Trading Programme: Books

Want to read up?

Listed below is a selection of books related to the various courses in the International Trading Programme. Books are a good source for comprehensive information or an overview of a topic. The books include both print and e-books. For print books, a call number is included so that you can find them in the library.

Here are a list of topics you might need some extra help in. Click on the link to find relevant content in our collection of books and e-books.

Commodity Trading Advisors by Greg N. Gregoriou
Call Number: HG6046.5.C734
ISBN: 0471681946
Publication Date: 2004
Provides a new understanding of the rewards-and risks-of investing in CTAs Commodity Trading Advisors (CTAs) … an increasingly popular and potentially profitable investment alternative for institutional investors and high-net-worth individuals.
The Law of Securities, Commodities and Bank Accounts by Marek Dubovec
Call Number: K1338.D818
ISBN: 9781782549017
Publication Date: 2014
This study examines contemporary commercial relationships between investors and their intermediaries - relationships based on accounts that hold intangible rights to securities, funds, and commodity contracts. Such accounts have replaced traditional physical possession and delivery of tangible objects, such as security certificates, coins, and commodities previously used in commercial relationships.
Commodity Derivatives by Neil C. Schofield
ISBN: 9780470019108
Publication Date: 2007
Dealing primarily with over the counter structures,the book provides coverage of both hard and soft commodities, including gold, crude oil, electricity, plastics,emissions and agriculturals.

The Economics of Commodity Markets by Julien Chevallier & Florian Ielpo
ISBN: 9781119967910
Publication Date: 2013
Covers all important commodity markets topics and includes coverage of recent topics such as financial applications and intuitive economic reasoning.
Commodities by H. Kent Baker, Greg Filbeck & Jeffrey H. Harris (Eds.)
ISBN: 9780190656010
Publication Date: 2018
Provides a comprehensive view of commodity markets by describing and analyzing historical commodity performance, vehicles for investing in commodities, portfolio strategies, and current topics.
The Handbook of Global Agricultural Markets by L. Nijs
ISBN: 9781349453832
Publication Date: 2014
This book is a one-stop reference for practitioners and academics in finance, business and economics, providing a holistic reference to the international agriculture business. It takes a multidisciplinary approach, looking at the issues, opportunities and investable themes in the global agricultural space, combining research and practical tools.

A Trader's First Book on Commodities by Carley Garner
Call Number: HG6046.G234t
ISBN: 9780137015450
Publication Date: 2010
A simple, practical and useful guide for new commodities traders. Provides specific guidance on accessing commodity markets cost-effectively, avoiding common beginners' mistakes, and improving the odds of successful, profitable trades.
The Financialization of Commodity Markets : Investing During Times of Transition by Adam Zaremba
ISBN: 9781137476395
Publication Date: 2015
The essential purpose of this work is to answer the question of whether, under the conditions of structural changes in commodity markets resulting from the increased significance of financial investors, investments in commodities remain relevant both as individual deposits and as a part of a larger investment portfolio, contributing to the increase of efficiency—that is, to the improvement of the profit-to-risk relation.
Commodity Option Pricing by Iain J. Clark
ISBN: 9781119944515
Publication Date: 2014
Covers commodity option pricing for quantitative analysts, traders or structurers in banks, hedge funds and commodity trading companies and provides a mathematical introduction to the various market conventions and models used in commodity option pricing.