LibGuides: AB1401 Technological Innovations & Developments: Introduction to IT

Web sites

FOLDOC is a searchable dictionary of acronyms, jargon, programming languages, tools, architecture, operating systems, networking, theory, conventions, standards, mathematics, telecoms, electronics, institutions, companies, projects, products, history, in fact anything to do with computing.

Gartner IT Glossary

This is a guide to exploring technology terms and definitions, from Gartner, one of the leading IT research and advisory company.

How stuff works

HowStuffWorks is an American commercial educational website founded by Marshall Brain to provide its target audience an insight into the way many things work.

Webopedia

Webopedia is an online Tech Dictionary for Students, Educators and IT Professionals

Bits

Bits is one of the technology blogs available at New York Times covering news and analysis on the technology industry from a business perspective.

E-books

Information Technology Encyclopedia and Acronyms by Ejub Kajan
ISBN: 9783642562624
Publication Date: 2012-12-06
Since the early days of information technology, professionals have developed an extraordinary huge amount of jargon, full of acronyms. This dictionary resolves more than 4,000 broadly used acronyms. It provides concise information, illustrated explanations, and numerous cross-references for the majority of technical terms. Most entries for acronyms that are associated with organizations, corporations, and conferences include Web links. All in all, the book constitutes an encyclopaedic documentation of information and communication technology organized by acronyms. An invaluable reference work for anybody who wants to stay on top of today's fast growing language of information technology.

Wikis

Portal:Information technology - This portal is a basic guide on Information Technology.
Portal:Computer Science - This Portal is a directory of Computer Science pages at Wikiversity.
Clinical Informatics Wiki - This is a wiki website devoted for topics in Biomedical Informatics

Databases

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters, videos, and audio files focusing on computer science and information technology.
Available to current NTU staff and students.
Restricted onsite access for NIE staff & students, associate members -- please approach the staff at the Lee Wee Nam Library service desk for assistance.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Access to IEEE and Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) collections of publications in the fields of electrical engineering, computer engineering, electronics, communications, and other engineering fields.
NOTE: Inactive standards are not available for this subscription.

Available to current NTU staff and students.
Restricted onsite access for NIE staff & students, associate members -- please approach the staff at the Lee Wee Nam Library service desk for assistance.
IET.tv This link opens in a new window
A video library containing presentations, lectures, and training videos from professional academics and researchers worldwide on engineering and technology.
Available to current NTU staff and students.
Restricted onsite access for NIE staff & students, associate members -- please approach the staff at the Lee Wee Nam Library service desk for assistance.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a vast collection of news, business, and legal sources. Includes newspapers, legal documents, and company information.
See this Tip Sheet: Top 10 Nexis Uni Features for more info.

Available to current NTU staff and students only.

E-journals

Computerworld
Articles on advanced technology, desktop computing, workgroup computing, networking, application development, management, the marketplace and timely news of note aimed at major users and major buyers of computer products and services.
Communications of the ACM
ACM's flagship magazine, Communications of the ACM, is the premier chronicler of computing technologies, covering the latest discoveries, innovations, and research that inspire and influence the field. Each month, Communications brings readers in-depth stories of emerging areas of computer science, new trends in IT, and practical research applications. Industry leaders choose Communications to debate technology implications, public policies, engineering challenges, and market trends.
MIS Quarterly
The MIS Quarterly is a peer reviewed scholarly journal published by the Management Information Systems Research Center, Carlson School of Management, University of Minnesota
Network World
Covers news, new technologies, products & services, trends, applications, electronic commerce, management strategies relating to network computing in the enterprise..
PC World
PC World is a global computer magazine published monthly by International Data Group (IDG)

How to access Journal articles?

What are Journal articles useful for?

Journal articles may be useful when:

Your topic is very recent. Articles, especially in newspapers and magazines, are intended to keep people up-to-date on the latest development in various issues, so they are very useful if you are tracking new developments and progress of a topic. For example, the most recent applications and developments of smart grid technology.
Your topic is very narrow in scope. You could be interested in something so specific that there will not be books written about the topic. For example, research on performance testing for XML Database based on TPC-C benchmark.

Journal articles may not be useful when:

You need background or overview information; or
Your topic is broad or covers a long time span.

There are a couple of ways to look for journal articles in the library collection:

Access the library homepage. You can do a search in One Search and then refine the results by resource type'Articles'
Click Advanced search below OneSearch, choose the tab 'Articles'. Key in your search terms and click Go. The retrieved results will show articles based on your search criteria.
If you do not have a specific journal in mind, use specific databases to search for articles of interest.

How to access the databases subcribed by the Library

What are library databases?

A library database is an electronic catalogue or index that contains information about published items. Most of the library databases are not freely available on the Internet and are specially subscribed by the library.

Library databases contain a variety of information from professional sources such as articles from journals, magazine, newspaper and trade publications. There are also conference proceedings, Business intelligence reports and financial data.

Library databases are searchable. By Keywords, Subject, Author, Title, Date and etc.

NTU library subscribes to many library databases in a wide range of subjects. You can browse them at the database page by subject list or alphabetical list. If you know the database name, you can search for it in OneSearch . Select the tab Databases in OneSearch, key in the title and click Go to search for the database.