Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Web sites and youtube videos
Examples of Video recordings in the library collection
Introduction to Artificial Intelligence by
Publication Date: 2018-01-29
This accessible and engaging textbook presents a concise introduction to the exciting field of artificial intelligence (AI). The broad-ranging discussion covers the key subdisciplines within the field, describing practical algorithms and concrete applications in the areas of agents, logic, search, reasoning under uncertainty, machine learning, neural networks, and reinforcement learning. Fully revised and updated, this much-anticipated second edition also includes new material on deep learning. Topics and features: presents an application-focused and hands-on approach to learning, with supplementary teaching resources provided at an associated website; contains numerous study exercises and solutions, highlighted examples, definitions, theorems, and illustrative cartoons; includes chapters on predicate logic, PROLOG, heuristic search, probabilistic reasoning, machine learning and data mining, neural networks and reinforcement learning; reports on developments in deep learning, including applications of neural networks to generate creative content such as text, music and art (NEW); examines performance evaluation of clustering algorithms, and presents two practical examples explaining Bayes' theorem and its relevance in everyday life (NEW); discusses search algorithms, analyzing the cycle check, explaining route planning for car navigation systems, and introducing Monte Carlo Tree Search (NEW); includes a section in the introduction on AI and society, discussing the implications of AI on topics such as employment and transportation (NEW).Ideal for foundation courses or modules on AI, this easy-to-read textbook offers an excellent overview of the field for students of computer science and other technical disciplines, requiring no more than a high-school level of knowledge of mathematics to understand the material.
Risks of Artificial Intelligence by
Publication Date: 2016-01-05
If the intelligence of artificial systems were to surpass that of humans, humanity would face significant risks. The time has come to consider these issues, and this consideration must include progress in artificial intelligence (AI) as much as insights from AI theory. Featuring contributions from leading experts and thinkers in artificial intelligence, Risks of Artificial Intelligenceis the first volume of collected chapters dedicated to examining the risks of AI. The book evaluates predictions of the future of AI, proposes ways to ensure that AI systems will be beneficial to humans, and then critically evaluates such proposals. The book covers the latest research on the risks and future impacts of AI. It starts with an introduction to the problem of risk and the future of artificial intelligence, followed by a discussion (Armstrong/Sokala/ÓhÉigeartaigh) on how predictions of its future have fared to date. Omohundro makes the point that even an innocuous artificial agent can easily turn into a serious threat for humans. T. Goertzel explains how to succeed in the design of artificial agents. But will these be a threat for humanity, or a useful tool? Ways to assure beneficial outcomes through 'machine ethics' and 'utility functions' are discussed by Brundage and Yampolskiy. B. Goertzel and Potapov/Rodionov propose 'learning' and 'empathy' as paths towards safer AI while Kornai explains how the impact of AI may be bounded. Sandberg explains the implications of human-like AI via the technique of brain emulation. Dewey discusses strategies to deal with the 'fast takeoff' of artificial intelligence and, finally, Bishop explains why there is no need to worry because computers will remain in a state of 'artificial stupidity'. Sharing insights from leading thinkers in artificial intelligence, this book provides you with an expert-level perspective of what is on the horizon for AI, whether it will be a threat for humanity, and how we might counteract this threat.
KI 2017: Advances in Artificial Intelligence by
Publication Date: 2017-09-19
This book constitutes the refereed proceedings of the 40th Annual German Conference on Artificial Intelligence, KI 2017 held in Dortmund, Germany in September 2017. The 20 revised full technical papers presented together with 16 short technical communications were carefully reviewed and selected from 73 submissions. The conference cover a range of topics from, e. g., agents, robotics, cognitive sciences, machine learning, planning, knowledge representation, reasoning, and ontologies, with numerous applications in areas like social media, psychology, transportation systems and reflecting the richness and diversity of their field.
Re-defining the Role of Artificial Intelligence (AI) in Wiser Service Systems
In line with the need to define new directions in
Service Science, new rules should be formulated to create a synergic and collaborative
processes between humans (people) and machines. In order to design
a wiser service system, this paper proposes T-shaped professionals as especially
well-adapted for augmented and collaborative intelligence. Read more about it from this papaer