LibGuides: FYP Guide: Research Methods

Book Chapters

These book chapters provide brief 'quick-start' overviews on research methods.

Guide to research projects for engineering students : planning, writing and presenting
Leong, E. C., Heah, C. L. H., & Ong, K. K. W. (2016). Guide to research projects for engineering students : planning, writing and presenting. Boca Raton : Taylor & Francis, 2016. Chapter 7. Research methodology and research methods pp. 41 - 47. LWNL RESERVES TA160.L583
The undergraduate research handbook
Wisker, G. (2009). The undergraduate research handbook. Houndmills, Basingstoke, Hampshire [England] ; New York : Palgrave Macmillan, 2009. Chapter 8. Research Metholody and Methods pp. 88 - 98. BUSL LB2369.W814
Doing your undergraduate Social Science dissertation
Smith, K., PhD, Todd, M. J., & Waldman, J. (2009). Doing your undergraduate social science dissertation. London ; New York : Routledge, 2009. Chapter 5. Designing your research methodology, pp. 51 - 65 (Overview of Methods from p. 60).
BUSL LB2369.S653
Doing your undergraduate Social Science dissertation (e-book)

Books

For more in-depth information on specific research methods, search the Library Catalogue for books and e-books on Research Methods. You can also search Course Reserves for Research Methods modules to see recommended texts.

Print and e-books on Research Methods
Filter by Library to see titles in your discipline. Some titles may be in Reserves
See also SAGE Research Methods database to access e-books, videos and more research method tools
Course Reserves on Research Methods
Click on the course title to see the recommended book titles
Subject listings on Research Methods
This listing for research methods as subject e.g. Biology--Research--Statistical methods or Research--Evaluation--Statistical methods

Databases

SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
A tool to help you explore methods concepts, design research projects, understand a particular method or identify a new method, and write up your findings. Content includes books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, journal articles, and instructional videos, including the classic Little Green Book (quantitative) and Little Blue Book (qualitative) series. There are also collections of case studies of real social research and sample datasets for hands-on practice.

NOTE: Our Library currently subscribes the following:
SAGE Research Methods Books & Reference
SAGE Research Methods Datasets
SAGE Research Methods Cases Part 1
SAGE Research Methods Video
SAGE Research Methods Video: Practical Research & Academic Skills Video

NOTE: The following collections are not available: SAGE Research Methods Cases Part 2, Podcasts, SAGE Research Methods Video: Data Science, Big Data Analytics, & Digital Methods

→ Concurrent users: Unlimited
→ Available to current NTU staff, students, as well as alumni | Restricted onsite access for NIE staff & students, associate members -- please approach the staff at the Lee Wee Nam Library service desk for assistance.