LibGuides: [Sunset by Guide Admin 07092023] Economics: Books

Introductory Readings

Economics: A Very Short Introduction by Partha Dasgupta
Call Number: HB171.D229
ISBN: 9780192853455
Publication Date: 2007-03-05
This title is a suitable reading for first-year Econs undergraduate students, as it provides intelligent and accessible introduction to key economic factors and concepts. The author, Dasgupta, describes the lives of two children who live very different lives in different parts of the world: in the Mid-West USA and in Ethiopia. He compares the obstacles facing them, and the processes that shape their lives, their families, and their futures. He shows how economics uncovers these processes, finds explanations for them, and how it forms policies and solutions.
Adam Smith's The Wealth of Nations: A modern-day interpretation of an economic classic by Karen McCreadie
ISBN: 9781906821036
Publication Date: 2009-08-01
Published in 1776, Adam Smith's The Wealth of Nations was the first comprehensive treatment of the political economy. Here, Karen McCreadie interprets this inspiring book for the modern day world of finance, business, and economics, illustrating the timeless nature of Smith's insights by bringing them to life with twenty-first-century examples.
The Worldly Philosophers: the lives, times, and ideas of the great economic thinkers by Robert L. Heilbroner
Call Number: HB76.H466 1999
ISBN: 9780684862149
Publication Date: 1999-08-10
This title provides an overview of the history of economic thought in a way that's easy for layperson to understand without compromising on the scholarly quality. The author discussed the lives of great economists in order to uncover how ideas that serve as the foundation of today's economic thoughts came forth.

Leisure Readings

The books below are recommended for leisure readings

Freakonomics: A Rogue Economist Explores the Hidden Side of Everything by Steven D. Levitt; Stephen J. Dubner
Call Number: HB74.P8L665
ISBN: 9780060731335
Publication Date: 2009-08-25
In this title, the authors show that economics is, at root, the study of incentives--how people get what they want, or need, especially when other people want or need the same thing. They set out to explore the hidden side of everything. If morality represents how we would like the world to work, then economics represents how it actually does work.
The Art of Strategy: A Game Theorist's Guide to Success in Business and Life by Avinash K. Dixit; Barry J. Nalebuff
Call Number: HD30.28.D619a
ISBN: 9780393062434
Publication Date: 2008-09-17
Game theory essentially means rigorous strategic thinking: it is all about the art of anticipating your opponent's next moves, knowing full well that your rival is trying to do the same thing to you. Using a diverse array of rich case studies--from pop culture, TV, movies, sports, politics, and history--the authors show how nearly every business and personal interaction has a game-theory component to it. Are the winners of reality-TV contests instinctive game theorists? Do big-time investors see things that most people miss?

Reference Works

21st Century Economics: A Reference Handbook by Rhona C. Free (Editor)
ISBN: 9781412961424
Publication Date: 2010-05-14
This handbook provides readable summaries of theory and models in key areas of micro and macroeconomics. It also provides an economic analysis of key issues and cutting-edge topics. To make the book accessible to undergraduate students, models have been presented only in graphical format (minimal calculus) and empirical evidence has been summarized in ways that do not require backgrounds in statistics or econometrics.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Economics and Society by Frederick F. Wherry (Editor); Juliet B. Schor (Editor)
ISBN: 9781452226439
Publication Date: 2016-01-06
The encyclopedia provides a brief authoritative summary and overview of key terms in economics. This reference work will serve as a general, non-technical resource for students and researchers who seek to better understand economics.
A Dictionary of Economics by John Black (Editor); Nigar Hashimzade (Editor); Gareth Myles (Editor)
ISBN: 9780199696321
Publication Date: 2012-05-04
An authoritative and comprehensive dictionary containing clear, concise definitions of over 3,400 key economic terms, this A to Z covers all aspects of economics including economic theory, applied microeconomics and macroeconomics, labour economics, public economics and public finance,monetary economics, and environmental economics.
Guide to Economic Indicators by The Economist Staff (Editor)
ISBN: 9781847650207
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
Provides the keys to understanding the major economic indicators: what they are, the areas they cover, their reliability, and how and why to interpret them. This book contains chapters covering: GDP (Gross Domestic Product), GNP (Gross National Product) and GNI (Gross National Income); growth, trends and cycles; and more.

[Sunset by Guide Admin 07092023] Economics: Books

About

Introductory Readings

Leisure Readings

Reference Works