Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The books listed here are divided into two sections: writing guides and course reserves. It is highly recommended that you read and browse the titles featured in writing guides to get you started on your assignment.
Do feel free to visit ADM Library to find these books, and explore the other books that are relevant on the shelves!
Your lecturer has placed several books in the course reserves for you. You can refer to "How to access Course Reserves" tab to see what are the reserved titles, or you can click on the link provided on the section on the right. Remember, these titles have a shorter loan period; only 2 hours.
Three of the reserved titles are on writing in Art History and are particularly important for this course:
A Short Guide to Writing about Art by
Call Number: N7476.B261 2015
Publication Date: 2014-01-15
A Short Guide to Writing About Art guides students through every aspect of writing about art. Readers are shown how to analyze pictures (drawings, paintings, photographs), sculptures and architecture, and are prepared with the tools they need to present their ideas through effective writing. Coverage of essential writing assignments includes formal analysis, comparison, research paper, review of an exhibition, and essay examination.
Look! Art History Fundamentals by
Call Number: N345.D146 2010
Publication Date: 2010-06-22
This handbook is designed to accompany the major textbooks used in the art history survey, presenting various methods for analysis of art as well as extensive tips on writing about art. It also discusses basic art historical practices, such as visual and contextual analysis, and provides guidelines for writing papers and taking examinations in art history. It provides a short history of the discipline and provides links to related academic disciplines to provide students with a sense of intellectual context for their work.
The Asian Civilisations Museum A-Z Guide by
Call Number: DS11.A832
Publication Date: 2013-10-31
This guide contains highlights of the collection of the Asian Civilisations Museum, Singapore, from some 5,000 years of history in Asia. Categories include fine art, ethnography, archaeology, and living traditions such as the performing arts.
Islands and Ancestors: Indigenous Styles of Southeast Asia by
Call Number: N7311.I82
Publication Date: 1988-10-01
This book is among the few rare titles that talks about the tribal arts of Southeast Asia. Contains sections on Central Vietnam, Sumatra, Sulawesi, etc. accompanied with concise yet informative description.
Art of Southeast Asia by
Call Number: N7311.A784
Publication Date: 1998-03-01
Stretching from India to the Far East, the region of South-East Asia encompasses Indo-China, Malaysia, Indonesia and the Philippines. This volume presents a detailed survey of the region's art, which blends a variety of cultural and artistic traditions.
Asian Art by
Call Number: N7260.A832a
Publication Date: 2006-05-12
Asian Art is a comprehensive anthology of important primary documents and key contemporary scholarship on Asian art history. It traces the rich artistic traditions in China, Japan, Korea, India, and Southeast Asia across time periods, media, cultural contexts, and geography - from the terracotta armies of the First Emperor of Qin to late 20th-century installation art.