LibGuides: Computer Science & Engineering: eResources

Journals

What is an academic journal?

An academic journal is a peer-reviewed periodical that contains research articles on a specific subject area. It serves as the medium for research dissemination, with content ranging from original research, review articles, and book reviews.

For the complete list of e-journals in the library, please click here

Journal Citation Reports (JCR) is a resource that provides the data to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 11,000 scholarly and technical journals from more than 3,300 publishers. It provides a ranking of journals based on the measure called Impact factor.

The Journal Impact Factor is defined as all citations to the journal in the current JCR year to items published in the previous two years, divided by the total number of scholarly items (these comprise articles, reviews, and proceedings papers) published in the journal in the previous two years.

For example, in the 2017 JCR, each Journal Impact Factor will measure the citations earned by a publication where the citing year is 2017, and the cited year is either 2016 or 2015.

The top 10 journals in the Web of Science category Computer Science based on 2017 JCR is given below.

Journal of Statistical Software
Impact Factor: 22.737
IEEE Communications Surveys & Tutorials
Impact Factor: 20.230
International Journal of Computer Vision
Impact factor: 11.541
IEEE Transactions on Pattern Analysis and Machine Intelligence
Impact factor: 9.455
IEEE Wireless Communications
Impact factor: 9.455
IEEE Transactions on Cybernetics
Impact factor: 8.803
IEEE Transactions on Fuzzy Systems
Impact factor: 8.415
IEEE Transactions on Evolutionary Computation
Impact factor: 8.124
IEEE Transactions on Neural Networks and Learning Systems
Impact factor: 7.982
IEEE Transactions on Cloud Computing
Impact factor: 7.928

To obtain the above list, access JCR database, select "Browse by Category", click the tab 'Journals by Rank', then Select Categories on the left hand side, select the different categories Computer Scienceand click Submit.

You may also view Google Scholar Top publications list for:

Government Agencies in Singapore

Infocomm Development Authority of Singapore (IDA)
Develops policies, standards, codes of practices and advisory guidelines for the infocomm industry in Singapore.
Professional Engineers Board, Singapore (PEB)
Responsible for registering professional engineers, and regulating the practice of professional engineering
Infocomm Media Development Authority - ICT Standards and Quality of Service
IMDA regulates the use of telecommunication equipment in Singapore based on standards that specify the minimum technical requirements for the equipment. They also set and monitor Quality of Service (QoS) to regulate the performance of key services offered by operators, ranging from basic telecom to mobile and Internet access services.
Singapore Network Information Centre (SGNICs)
Provides Internet registry and information services in Singapore

Association & Organization Websites

Institute for Infocomm Research (I2R)
A member of the Agency for Science, Technology and Research (A*STAR) family, researching in the fields of information technology, wireless and optical communication networks, interactive and digital media, signal processing and computing
GS1 Singapore
Responsible for issuing the GS1 Bar Code Numbers in Singapore
Institute of High Performance Computing (IHPC)
Promotes and spearheads scientific advances and technological innovations through computational modeling, simulation and visualization methodologies and tools
Singapore Microcomputer Society (SMS)
A non-profit voluntary organization which aims to foster a link between the Info-Comm Technology industry and end users by providing a forum for members to keep up-to-date with fast changing technology
Singapore Computer Society (SCS)
The largest IT professional body in Singapore, providing a wide range of events such as seminars & conferences, publications and access to a network of specialists.
The Singapore Engineer (Institution of Engineers Singapore IES)

Online Courses & Tutorials

ACM Learning Center
Elsevier Researcher Academy
Researcher Academy provides free access to countless e-learning resources designed to support researchers on every step of their research journey. Browse our extensive module catalogue to uncover a world of knowledge, and earn certificates and rewards as you progress.
ICCP Online Courses
ICCP provides 12 week online courses for those seeking a rich learning experience, developed by expert subject matter professionals and tutored by experienced practitioners.
IEEE eLearning Library
The IEEE eLearning Library offers advanced technology content only IEEE can provide. The convenient learning system delivers hundreds of course hours in core and emerging technologies, providing professionals, faculty, and students across academic institutions, corporations, and government agencies a better way to learn.
MIT OpenCourseWare - Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

Core Databases

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
A focused body of computing literature, searchable with ACMs specialized computing search terms.

→ Concurrent users: Unlimited
→ Available to current NTU staff and students | Restricted onsite access for NIE staff & students, associate members -- please approach the staff at the Lee Wee Nam Library service desk for assistance
Computer Source This link opens in a new window
Computer Source provides researchers with the latest information and current trends in high technology. This database offers full text for more than 300 publications, covering topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software. In addition, this database offers indexes and abstracts for nearly 450 publications. Many full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color.

→ Concurrent users: Unlimited
→ Available to current NTU/NIE staff and students | Restricted onsite access for associate members -- please approach the staff at the Lee Wee Nam Library service desk for assistance
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to the entire IEEE and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) collection of journals, magazines, and conference proceedings, plus all active and historical IEEE standards. NOTE: Inactive standards are not available for this subscription.

Available to current NTU staff and students | Restricted onsite access for NIE staff & students, associate members -- please approach the staff at the Lee Wee Nam Library service desk for assistance.
ScienceDirect (with Evidence Based Selection eBooks Model) This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary collections of journals and other publications covering life sciences, health sciences, physical sciences and engineering as well as social sciences, humanities and business.

Note: New subscription of eBooks published between 2021 and 2023 for the following subjects (01 Mar 2024 to 28 Feb 2025):
Agricultural, Biological, and Food Sciences
Biochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology
Chemical Engineering
Chemistry
Computing
Earth and Planetary Sciences
Energy
Engineering
Environmental Science
Materials Science
Mathematics
Neuroscience
Psychology
Social Sciences
→ Concurrent users: Unlimited
→ Available to current NTU staff and students | Restricted onsite access for NIE staff & students, associate members -- please approach the staff at the Lee Wee Nam Library service desk for assistance.

Related Databases

Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Consists of multiple databases that cover 190+ subject areas and multiple content types that reflect the depth and breadth of engineering.

NOTE: Our Library only subscribes 2 databases: Compendex and Inspec.

→ Concurrent users: Unlimited
→ Available to current NTU staff and students | Restricted onsite access for NIE staff & students, associate members -- please approach the staff at the Lee Wee Nam Library service desk for assistance.
InCites Essential Science Indicators (ESI) This link opens in a new window
ESI is a citation analysis tool designed for quantitative analyses of research performance. It provides info on the citation ranking data of scientists, institutions, countries, and journals; the average citation rates by field and also lists the highly cited papers by discipline.

→ Concurrent users: Unlimited
→ Available to current NTU/NIE staff and students | Restricted onsite access for associate members -- please approach the staff at the Lee Wee Nam Library service desk for assistance.
Journal Citation Reports (JCR) This link opens in a new window
Evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from approximately 12,000 scholarly and technical journals and conference proceedings from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries/territories.

→ Concurrent users: Unlimited
→ Available to current NTU/NIE staff and students | Restricted onsite access for associate members -- please approach the staff at the Lee Wee Nam Library service desk for assistance.
MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
Database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. Items added are classified according to the Mathematics Subject Classification.

→ Concurrent users: Unlimited
→ Available to current NTU/NIE staff and students
→ Subscription by NIE
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.

→ Concurrent users: Unlimited
→ Available to current NTU staff and students | Restricted onsite access for NIE staff & students, associate members -- please approach the staff at the Lee Wee Nam Library service desk for assistance.
SPIE Digital Library Journals This link opens in a new window
Journals from SPIE, an international not-for-profit professional society for optics and photonics technology.

→ Concurrent users: Unlimited
→ Available to current NTU staff and students | Restricted onsite access for NIE staff & students, associate members -- please approach the staff at the Lee Wee Nam Library service desk for assistance.
SpringerLink (with Evidence Based Acquisition eBooks Model) This link opens in a new window
Full-text of journals, books and other publications in the scientific, technical, and medical disciplines.

NOTE: One year subscription (15 Apr 2024 – 14 Apr 2025) of over 9,000 eBooks published between 2022 and 2024 for the following subjects
Computer Science
Engineering
Robotics
→ Concurrent users: Unlimited
→ Available to current NTU staff and students | Restricted onsite access for NIE staff & students, associate members -- please approach the staff at the Lee Wee Nam Library service desk for assistance.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Formerly known as Web of Knowledge, Web of Science is an online scientific citation indexing service that provides a comprehensive citation search. It gives access to multiple databases that reference cross-disciplinary research, which allows for in-depth exploration of specialized sub-fields within an academic or scientific discipline.

Our Library has access to the following index:

1. Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) --1975-present
2. Book Citation Index– Science (BKCI-S) --2005-2018
3. Book Citation Index– Social Sciences & Humanities (BKCI-SSH) --2005-2018
4. Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI) --2005-present
5. Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (CPCI-S) --1991-present
6. Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH) --1991-present
7. Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED) --1900-present
8. Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) --1900-present

→ Concurrent users: Unlimited
→ Available to current NTU/NIE staff and students | Restricted onsite access for associate members-- please approach the staff at the Lee Wee Nam Library service desk for assistance.
zbMATH This link opens in a new window
aka "Zentralblatt MATH"
Provides abstracting and reviewing service in pure and applied mathematics. Covers the period from 1868 to present by the integration of the Jahrbuch ber die Fortschritte der Mathematik (JFM) database.

Note: Starting 1st January 2021, zbMATH is becoming an open access database.

→ Freely available on the Internet

Computer Science & Engineering: eResources

About