Predatory Publishing

1. Open Access Journal Quality Indicators

• Description: Guidelines created by Grand Valley State University to help evaluate open access publishing options.

• Use: Assess journal quality and transparency before submission.

2. Be iNFORMed

• Description: A checklist from Duke University designed to assess the quality and credibility of journals or publishers.

• Use: Ideal for researchers seeking a step-by-step guide to evaluating publishing outlets.

3. Journal Evaluation Tool

• Description: A rubric and scoring sheet developed by Loyola Marymount University to assess the quality of journals.

• Use: Provides a structured way to score journals based on specific criteria.

4. Predatory Journals Algorithm

• Description: A resource by the World Association of Medical Editors (WAME) offering guidance to distinguish predatory journals from legitimate ones.

• Use: A critical tool for avoiding predatory publishing traps.

5. Sherpa/RoMEO

• Description: A searchable database providing information on journals’ open access policies and copyright practices.

• Use: Check if the journal aligns with your needs for open access and copyright.

1. DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals)

   • A curated directory of high-quality, peer-reviewed open-access journals.

2. Journal Citation Reports (Clarivate)

   • Provides data on journal impact factors and citation performance.

3. Scopus

   • A widely used abstract and citation database for legitimate journals and scholarly tracking.

4. SCImago Journal Rank (SJR)

   • Measures journal impact based on Scopus data.

5. Ulrichsweb

   • Comprehensive information on active and ceased publications worldwide.

6. Sherpa/ROMEO

   • Provides copyright and open-access policy information for journals.

1. Principles of Transparency and Best Practice in Scholarly Publishing

   • A set of 16 principles covering aspects of scholarly publishing.

2. Open Access Journal Quality Indicators

   • Guidelines from Grand Valley State University for evaluating open-access journals.

3. Journal Evaluation Tool

   • A rubric and scoring sheet developed by Loyola Marymount University.

4. Predatory Journals Algorithm

   • Guidance by the World Association of Medical Editors to distinguish predatory from legitimate journals.

1. Open Access Scholarly Publishers Association (OASPA)

   • Identifies credible open-access publishers and ensures ethical standards.

2. Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE)

   • Offers guidance on ethical publishing practices.

Instructions:
Use the following template to request the withdrawal of your manuscript from a predatory journal. Adapt the content as needed to fit your situation. Ensure you and your co-authors save copies of all correspondence for record-keeping.

Template Letter

Subject: Request for Manuscript Withdrawal

Dear [EDITOR’S NAME],

I am the [first/corresponding] author of the manuscript titled "[MANUSCRIPT TITLE]" (Reference Number: [REFERENCE NUMBER]) submitted to [JOURNAL NAME].

I am writing to formally request that you:

1. Withdraw my manuscript from your system.
2. Remove it from your server immediately.
3. Cease any plans to publish it in the future.

I and my co-authors hold the copyright to this work. None of us have transferred our copyright to [PUBLISHER NAME], nor have we signed any publication agreement granting you a license to publish our work. Consequently, publishing our manuscript would constitute a violation of our copyright.

Additionally, I will not pay any withdrawal or publication fees, nor do I have any means or obligation to do so. You do not have the legal authority to post or publish my manuscript.

Once again, I request that you:

• Remove my manuscript from your servers immediately.
• Confirm via email that you have acknowledged and acted on this request.

Failure to comply with this request may necessitate further action to enforce my rights.

Sincerely,
[YOUR NAME]
[YOUR CONTACT INFORMATION]

Source:
University of Arkansas Libraries Guide on Predatory Publishing

Investigative Articles

1. Bohannon, J. (2013).
   Who’s afraid of peer review.
   Science, 342(6154).

   A critical investigation into the shortcomings of peer review processes, particularly in predatory journals.

2. Shen, C., & Björk, B. C. (2015).
   ‘Predatory’ open access: a longitudinal study of article volumes and market characteristics.
   BMC Medicine, 13(1), 230.

   A detailed analysis of predatory journal growth and their business models.
    

3. Xia, J., et al. (2015).
   Who publishes in “predatory” journals?
   Journal of the Association for Information Science and Technology, 66(7), 1406-1417.

   Investigates the demographic and professional profiles of authors publishing in predatory journals.

Expert Insights

5. Beall, J. (2013).
   Predatory publishing is just one of the consequences of gold open access.
   Learned Publishing, 26(2), 79-84.

   Discusses the link between the open-access model and predatory publishing practices.
    

6. Beall, J. (2017).
   What I learned from predatory publishers.
   Biochemia Medica, 27(2), 273-278.

   Personal reflections on monitoring and identifying predatory publishers.
    

7. Beall, J. (2016).
   Best practices for scholarly authors in the age of predatory journals.
   The Annals of The Royal College of Surgeons of England, 98(2), 77-79.

   Practical tips for avoiding predatory journals.
    

8. Beall, J. (2016).
   Dangerous predatory publishers threaten medical research.
   Journal of Korean Medical Science, 31(10), 1511-1513.

   Highlights the risks predatory journals pose to medical research integrity.
    

Practical Advice and Calls to Action

9. Moher, D., & Srivastava, A. (2015).
   You are invited to submit….
   BMC Medicine, 13(1), 180.

   Examines the phenomenon of unsolicited invitations from questionable journals.
    
10. Clark, J., & Smith, R. (2015).
    Firm action needed on predatory journals.
    BMJ, 350:h210.

Advocates for stronger collective measures against predatory publishing practices.

How to Use These Resources

• For New Researchers: Gain insights into predatory publishing trends and how to avoid pitfalls.
• For Policymakers and Institutions: Develop awareness to protect academic integrity and research quality.
• For Experienced Authors: Stay informed about evolving predatory practices and ethical publishing standards.

• Verify if the journal is indexed in Clarivate’s Journal Citation Reports or Scopus.
• Look for affiliation with recognised organisations such as DOAJ, OASPA, or COPE.
• Check the editorial board and publisher’s reputation for legitimacy.
• Use tools like "Think. Check. Submit." or "Be iNFORMed" for evaluating journals.

These resources will help ensure you choose reputable and high-quality journals for your research.