LibGuides: Open Educational Resources: Finding OERs

Finding OERs

MERLOT
Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching (MERLOT) is a free online collection of Open Educational Resources (OERs) that can be used for teaching and learning. It has a big active community of contributors sharing more than 107,000 resources!
OER Commons
This site has a large collection of over 60,000 OERs contributed by museums, research centres, universities and other organisations. It provides a user-friendly search engine to help users find OERs by subject, education level, and format.

Besides Merlot and OER Commons, other tools for finding OERs include -

OASIS OER Search Tool
Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 80 different sources and over 331,461 records. OASIS is being developed at SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library.
Mason OER Metafinder
Hosted by George Mason University Libraries, the OER Metafinder performs a simultaneous search across 18 different sources of open educational materials. A distinct feature of the Mason OER Metafinder is the scope of the discovery service which searches well-known OER repositories like OpenStax, OER Commons, MERLOT but also sites like HathiTrust, DPLA, Internet Archive and NYPL Digital Collections where valuable but often overlooked open educational materials may be found. See OER World Map for more info.
OpenStax
OpenStax is the world’s largest publisher of open education resources (OER) and a provider of interactive learning technologies and education research for high school and college. It is a non-profit initiative of Rice University.

Open Textbooks

Directory of Open Access Books
The Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) is an online discovery service that provides access to peer-reviewed and openly licensed academic books. It is a non-profit initiative that supports the discoverability of open-access books from publishers worldwide.
Key Features of DOAB

Over 75,000 open-access books from 600+ publishers.
Search and filter by subject, language, publisher, or license.
Books are peer-reviewed to ensure scholarly quality.
Covers a wide range of disciplines, including humanities, social sciences, STEM, and law.
All books are free to read and download, often under Creative Commons (CC) licenses.

Below is a list useful links -

Open Textbooks Library
This site is supported by the Open Education Network and contains open textbooks that can be freely used and adapted. The Open Textbook Library is a collection of over 1,500 freely available electronic textbooks licensed under one of six Creative Commons licenses. Some books include faculty peer reviews. All can be read online and are downloadable for offline reading.
BC Campus Open Textbooks
BCcampus supports the work of the British Columbia post-secondary system in the areas of teaching, learning, educational technology. Most content is offered under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International licence so that it can be adapted and shared. The prerequisite for this is that the authorship is named, the CC licence is linked and it is stated whether changes have been made.
Open Oregon Educational Resources
Lists course materials that Oregon community college and university instructors are using to reduce textbook costs in their courses. This initiative is primarily focused on educational institutions within the state of Oregon. The platform may include open textbooks, lesson plans, videos, quizzes, and other teaching materials.
Open Educational Resources (University of Hawaii)
Includes curated OER Collections at The University of Hawaii. The OERs are free instructional materials anyone can customize for their own learning or teaching and come in the form of textbooks, full courseware, and more.

OER World Map
The OER World Map is an online platform that visually represents and collects data on Open Educational Resource (OER) initiatives worldwide, allowing users to explore and discover projects, organizations, people, and policies related to open education across the globe, with the aim of facilitating knowledge sharing and collaboration within the OER community.
MIT OpenCourseWare (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
MIT OpenCourseWare is a web based publication of virtually all MIT course content. Includes materials from MIT departments and degree program, from introductory to graduate level. Many courses include video lectures, textbooks, and faculty teaching insights
Open Education Global
Open Education Global is a non-profit organization focused on supporting the development and use of open education practices worldwide via collaborative sharing and creation of educational materials.
Open Education Network
Based in the Center for Open Education in the University of Minnesota’s College of Education and Human Development.
Galileo Open Learning Materials
This is a repository that collects and provides access to open educational resources (OERs) from the University System of Georgia, including open textbooks and related materials, managed by the "Affordable Learning Georgia" initiative within the Galileo platform; essentially offering free, openly licensed learning materials to students within the system to reduce textbook costs and improve access to education.
OpenMichigan (University of Michigan)
This is a collection of open educational resources (OER) from University of Michigan. Access a range of course materials, videos, lectures, student work and more. Nearly all of the content here is openly licensed for reuse under Creative Commons.
OER initiatives at CUNY and NY State
Reports on OER initiatives from The City University of New York and The State University of New York