LibGuides: Career Resources for PG: Career Exploration

About

Below is a selection of library resources on career research. The page contains books, databases, career exploration tools and videos that are useful starting points to delve into career research. Books and databases are a good source for comprehensive information or an overview of a topic. The books include both print and e-books. For print books, a call number is included so that you can find them in the library. Some of the database sites may require you to sign up as member before downloading the report you requested. For career exploration tools, most of the assessment tools available are fee based. The YouTube videos are curated, and if there is any broken link, contact us to update or replace new ones.

To browse more titles, please visit our library OneSearch, or ask a librarian for a recommendation.

Books

ReSearch by Teresa M. Evans; Natalie Lundsteen; Nathan L. Vanderford
ISBN: 0128042974
Publication Date: 2017-05-31
ReSearch: A Career Guide for Scientists is a career planning guide and practical tool for graduate students and postdocs. This book provides step-by-step processes for the assessment of career goals and the actions that can be taken in order to achieve them.
A PhD Is Not Enough! by Peter J. Feibelman
ISBN: 9780465022229
Publication Date: 2011-01-11
In A Ph.D. Is Not Enough!, physicist Peter J. Feibelman lays out a rational path to a fulfilling long-term research career. He offers sound advice on selecting a thesis or postdoctoral adviser; choosing among research jobs in academia, government laboratories, and industry; preparing for an employment interview; and defining a research program.
The Academic Job Search Handbook by Julia Miller Vick; Jennifer S. Furlong
ISBN: 9780812220162
Publication Date: 2008-06-30
The guide includes information on aspects of the search that are common to all levels, with invaluable tips for those seeking their first or second faculty position.
Next Gen PhD by Melanie V. Sinche
ISBN: 0674504658
Publication Date: 2016-08-22
Next Gen PhD provides a frank and up-to-date assessment of the current career landscape facing science PhDs. A certified career counselor with extensive experience working with graduate students and postdocs, Sinche offers step-by-step guidance through the career development process.
From Student to Scholar by Steven M. Cahn (Foreword by); Catharine R. Stimpson (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9780231145336
Publication Date: 2008-08-11
Steven M. Cahn's advice on the professorial life covers an extensive range of critical issues: how to plan, complete, and defend a dissertation; how to navigate a job interview; how to improve teaching performance; how to prepare and publish research; how to develop a professional network; and how to garner support for tenure.
Behind the Academic Curtain by Frank F. Furstenberg
ISBN: 022606610X
Publication Date: 2013-09-23
In Behind the Academic Curtain, Frank F. Furstenberg offers a clear and user-friendly map to this maze. Drawing on decades of experience in academia, he provides a comprehensive, empirically grounded, and, most important of all, practical guide to academic life.
Resumes by Laura DeCarlo
ISBN: 9781119539285
Publication Date: 2019-03-19
In this trusted guide, Laura DeCarlo decodes the modern culture of resume writing and offers you insider tips on all the best practices that'll make your skills shine and your resume pop. Let's start writing!
What to Say in Every Job Interview by Carole Martin
ISBN: 9780071818001
Publication Date: 2013-12-31
What to Say in Every Job Interview shows you where to find the critical factor interviewers seek with each question and how to present yourself in the best possible way on the spot and under pressure.
Job Interview Success for Introverts by Bob McIntosh
ISBN: 9781783000722
Publication Date: 2014-09-04
Taking an introvert through the entire interview process: from the initial job searching and networking to the interview itself, you will see how your working style preferences can be utilized – and indeed, optimized - to prepare you for success.

Databases of Interest

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals. Covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
International news database produced by Dow Jones. Combines over 32,000 sources from 200 countries in 28 languages. Includes newspapers, newswires, industry publications, websites, company reports, and more. Searching requires an understanding of Boolean operators; see more info here.

NOTE: To share a direct link to an article in Factiva -- use this Factiva Persistent Link Generator. Such links cannot be accessed by anyone other than current NTU staff/students.
To share a direct link to an article in Factiva, use this Factiva Persistent Link Generator (accessible by current NTU staff/students). Get Help on Building a Search.
Concurrent users: 20
Available to current NTU staff and students.
Restricted onsite access for NIE staff & students, associate members -- please approach the staff at the Lee Wee Nam Library service desk for assistance.
Passport (by Euromonitor International) This link opens in a new window
formerly known as "Global Market Information Database" or "GMID"
Provides business intelligence on Countries, Consumers and Industries. Includes integrated access to statistics, reports, topical comment and business information sources. Also includes analytical tools such as Brexit scenario tools, consumer spending by income brands, cities income distribution model, marco model, economic barometer, future demographics model and Passport Connector.
Available to current NTU staff and students.
Restricted onsite access for NIE staff & students, associate members -- please approach the staff at the Lee Wee Nam Library service desk for assistance.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering research topics across all scientific and technical disciplines, ranging from medicine and social sciences to arts and humanities.

Career Resources for PG

About

Books

Databases of Interest

YouTube Videos