LibGuides: Patents: eResources

About

This selection of electronic resources is related to patents and includes databases, some full text journals and videos. The section below is divided into journals, databases, websites and news.

To browse more eResources, please visit our A-Z collections listing, or ask a librarian for a recommendation.

E-journals

Core Databases

These databases are freely available online. Some features may require creating an account.

Esp@cenet
With its worldwide coverage and simple search features, Espacenet offers free access to information about inventions and technical developments from 1782 to today.
Google Patents
Google Patents includes over 120 million patent publications from 100+ patent offices around the world, as well as many more technical documents and books indexed in Google Scholar and Google Books, and documents from the Prior Art Archive.
USPTO Patent Full-Text and Image Database (PatFT)
The United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) Web Patent Full-Text Database includes the full text of all patents granted since 1976, and the patent number, issue date, and current US classification for all patents granted from 1790 through 1975.
WIPO Patentscope
The PATENTSCOPE database provides access to international Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT) applications in full text format on the day of publication, as well as patent documents of participating national and regional patent offices
Prior Art Archive
Prior Art Search for the IT industry. MIT and Cisco collaborated to create this free open archiving platform.

Websites - Patent Searching

Online Webinars, online tutorials and patent searching help pages

How to use Espacenet (2:21 min. Youtube video)
Google Patents Help
Search for patents (USPTO)
USPTO information page for those who are new to Patent Searching. Includes "How to Conduct a Preliminary U.S. Patent Search: A Step by Step Strategy" - Web Based Tutorial (38 minutes)
Clarke, N. S. (2018). The basics of patent searching. World Patent Information, vol. 54, Supplement, Sep 2018, p. S4-S10.
e-Tutorial on Using and Exploiting Patent Information (WIPO)
The e-tutorial comprises three sections on 1. Patent Basics, 2. Patent Search and Retrieval, and 3. Patent Analysis.
Patentscope Webinars (WIPO)
Free online seminars for information, training and updates on the PATENTSCOPE Search System e.g. chemical structure search, translation tools, etc

Websites - IP Offices, Directories & Associations

ASPA (Association of Singapore Patent Attorneys)
The Association of Singapore Patent Attorneys (ASPA) is the only organisation dedicated solely to the representation of the patent profession in Singapore.
Directory of Intellectual Property Offices
Alphabetical List of Intellectual Property Offices on WIPO website
EPO (European Patent Office)
The European Patent Office (EPO) was set up in 1973. EPO examines European patent applications, enabling inventors, researchers and companies from around the world to obtain protection for their inventions in up to 44 countries
IPOS (Intellectual Property Office of Singapore) Resources
IPOS is a government agency under the Ministry of Law that supports innovative enterprises IP and intangible assets growth. IPOS is one of the selected group of IP offices in the world appointed by the World Intellectual Patent Organization (WIPO)
USPTO (United States Patent and Trademarks Office)
The United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) is the federal agency for granting U.S. patents and registering trademarks
WIPO (World Intellectual Property Organisation)
WIPO is the global forum for intellectual property (IP) services, policy, information and cooperation.

Related Databases

Patent information may also be available when you are using the following library subscribed databases. Login is required.

Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Full text is included for patent documents in the US and EP (European) patents databases
Reaxys This link opens in a new window
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
This database requires creating a personal account
Existing SciFinder users username and password can be used to log in to SciFinder-n.

First time users need to create a personal SciFinder username and password using your NTU email address. After submission of the form, you will receive an email message with instructions for completing the registration process.

FAQs on SciFinder-n
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Patents tab is displayed on search results page
LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
This online learning video database requires login. Search using keyword patents and browse video titles like the following:
- Understanding Intellectual Property (1h 31 m)
- Understanding Patents: a deeper dive (53m 32s)
- Dealing with patents (1m 24s)
------------------------------
Access via Mobile App:
(1) Download the LinkedIn Learning app from your App Store (Apple, Google Play or Windows)
(2) Open the app, and select "Sign in with your organization portal"
(3) Select the "Organization" login tab, and in the input field under "Web Portal", enter ntu.edu.sg and select "Log in". This will redirect to a login page. Enter your NTU network username and password, and select "Login". Follow the on-screen instructions to get successfully authenticated.
-----------------------------
For access problems or content-related issues, contact Service Desk - NSS (ServiceDesk@ntu.edu.sg).

Websites - NTU

NTUitive
NTUitive is responsible for managing the intellectual property assets of the University and to help take technology from the lab to the marketplace. Contact them for advice on technology commercialization/ startup related to your project
MAE EID Engineering Innovation & Design
School of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering EID Engineering Innovation & Design website
MAE EID Innovation Gallery
MAE-EID Innovation GALLERY is a digital project developed by NTU Libraries in collaboration with NTU School of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering (MAE). The gallery is a collection of past Engineering Innovation and Design (EID) projects done by MAE students since 2013

Patent News

News databases can provide current information related to patents and inventions

Factiva This link opens in a new window

Free Patents Online (FPO) IP Office updates
Major IP Office updates from Free Patents Online database
Free Patents Online (FPO) News
News feeds on patents from Free Patents Online database