LibGuides: Sociology: eResources

About

Below is a selection of electronic resources (eResources) related to sociology. These e-resources may include full-text journal articles, abstracts index of citations, e-books, references material, etc. The section below is divided into journals, core databases, reference databases, freely-available databases, and websites.

The Journals section features some of the renowned journals in the discipline; this is mostly determined by the journal ranking, and for this particular guide, journal ranking by ScimagoJR was used as a reference. Core Databases section lists down popular databases in the discipline. Reference Databases mostly feature databases that contain references for conducting research. Freely Accessible Databases section lists eResources that are available online for free for everyone.

For each of the eResources listed, simply click on the title to go to the eResources immediately. A brief description of each eResources and its access information is also included to give you an idea of the data or time coverage.

To browse more eResources, please visit our A-Z collections listing, or ask a librarian for a recommendation.

Journals

What is an academic journal?

An academic journal is a peer-reviewed periodical that contains research articles on a specific subject area. It serves as the medium for research dissemination, with content ranging from original research, review articles, and book reviews. Some renowned journals in Sociology are listed down below.

For the complete list of e-journals in the library, please click here

American Sociological Review
This flagship journal of American Sociological Association (ASA) publishes original works of interest to the discipline of sociology in general, new theoretical developments, results of research that advance understanding of fundamental social processes, and important methodological innovations.
Annual Review of Sociology
The Annual Review of Sociology, in publication since 1975, covers the significant developments in the field of sociology. Topics covered in the journal include major theoretical and methodological developments as well as current research in the major subfields.
Annual Review of Anthropology
The Annual Review of Anthropology, in publication since 1972, covers significant developments in the subfields of anthropology, including archaeology, biological anthropology, linguistics and communicative practices, regional studies and international anthropology, and sociocultural anthropology.
Progress in Human Geography
Progress in Human Geography is a peer-review journal covering various areas of human geography research - philosophical, theoretical, thematic, methodological or empirical.

Reference Databases

SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window
Social sciences library platform providing various types of resources published by SAGE. Includes video, books, encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, debates, major works, and business cases.

→ Concurrent users: Unlimited
→ Available to current NTU staff, students, as well as alumni | Restricted onsite access for NIE staff & students, associate members -- please approach the staff at the Lee Wee Nam Library service desk for assistance.
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
A tool to help you explore methods concepts, design research projects, understand a particular method or identify a new method, and write up your findings. Content includes books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, journal articles, and instructional videos, including the classic Little Green Book (quantitative) and Little Blue Book (qualitative) series. There are also collections of case studies of real social research and sample datasets for hands-on practice.

NOTE: Our Library currently subscribes the following:
SAGE Research Methods Books & Reference
SAGE Research Methods Datasets
SAGE Research Methods Cases Part 1
SAGE Research Methods Video
SAGE Research Methods Video: Practical Research & Academic Skills Video

NOTE: The following collections are not available: SAGE Research Methods Cases Part 2, Podcasts, SAGE Research Methods Video: Data Science, Big Data Analytics, & Digital Methods

→ Concurrent users: Unlimited
→ Available to current NTU staff, students, as well as alumni | Restricted onsite access for NIE staff & students, associate members -- please approach the staff at the Lee Wee Nam Library service desk for assistance.

Freely Accessible Databases

Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
SSRN is an online pre-print (manuscripts prior to peer-review) database, specializing primarily in papers on social sciences.

Core Databases

Anthropology This link opens in a new window
(Access via Alexander Street Press)

Streaming video collection for the visual study of human behaviour and culture. Contains classic and contemporary documentaries produced by leading video producers in the discipline, previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field, and select feature films.
The collection is global in scope, includes footage from every continent and hundreds of unique cultures. Some videos include accompanying field notes, liner notes, filmmaker biographies, related articles, study guides, and other context-enhancing, full-text materials.

→ Concurrent users: Unlimited
→ Available to current NTU staff and students | Restricted onsite access for NIE staff & students, associate members -- please approach the staff at the Lee Wee Nam Library service desk for assistance
Anthrosource This link opens in a new window
Full-text of journals, newsletters, bulletins, and monographs from the American Anthropological Assocation (AAA). Includes text, sound, video and interactive services to foster communities of interest and practice throughout the discipline.

→ Concurrent users: Unlimited
→ Available to current NTU staff and students | Restricted onsite access for NIE staff & students, associate members -- please approach the staff at the Lee Wee Nam Library service desk for assistance
ProQuest Search This link opens in a new window
Single search platform that covers all databases and collections under ProQuest.

→ Concurrent users: Unlimited
→ Available to current NTU staff and students | Restricted onsite access for NIE staff & students, associate members -- please approach the staff at the Lee Wee Nam Library service desk for assistance.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Formerly known as Web of Knowledge, Web of Science is an online scientific citation indexing service that provides a comprehensive citation search. It gives access to multiple databases that reference cross-disciplinary research, which allows for in-depth exploration of specialized sub-fields within an academic or scientific discipline.

Our Library has access to the following index:

1. Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) --1975-present
2. Book Citation Index– Science (BKCI-S) --2005-2018
3. Book Citation Index– Social Sciences & Humanities (BKCI-SSH) --2005-2018
4. Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI) --2005-present
5. Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (CPCI-S) --1991-present
6. Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH) --1991-present
7. Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED) --1900-present
8. Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) --1900-present

→ Concurrent users: Unlimited
→ Available to current NTU/NIE staff and students | Restricted onsite access for associate members-- please approach the staff at the Lee Wee Nam Library service desk for assistance.