Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Below is a selection of books on Sociology. Books are a good source for comprehensive information or an overview of a topic. The books included here comprises of both print and e-books. For print books, a call number is included so that you can find them in the library.
The books are divided into several sections: introductory books, research method books, reference works, and several titles on leisure readings. These leisure readings may sometimes include fiction and non-fiction titles. A brief paragraph that describes the content and recommended use are appended on each book.
To browse more titles, please visit our library catalog, or ask a librarian for a recommendation.
Call Number: HM51.G453 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Research Methods Guide Books
Basic Research Methods: An Entry to Social Science Research by
Publication Date: 2010-07-14
This book is meant for students who are undertaking their first research course or project. The techniques, while basic in nature, are used in many masters and doctoral research studies. It includes a building block approach to writing, as well as the author's thoughts on application of research in the real world.
Making Sense of Statistical Methods in Social Research by
Publication Date: 2010-05-05
This is a critical introduction to the use of statistical methods in social research. It provides a unique approach to statistics that concentrates on helping social researchers think about the conceptual basis for the statistical methods they're using.
Critical Ethnography: Method, Ethics, and Performance by
Call Number: GN345.M182
Publication Date: 2011-07-13
The revised Second Edition of Critical Ethnography guides readers through theories, methods, and ethics of ethnographic research creating a confidence to complete fieldwork while demonstrating analytical and theoretical depth. This text highlights the productive links between theory and method and how both become more valuable as they interact through fieldwork. Theoretical concepts range from queer theory, feminist theory, and critical race theory to Marxism and phenomenology. The methodological techniques range from designing and asking in-depth interview questions and developing rapport to coding and interpreting data. The various theories and methods culminate in three fictional ethnographic case studies that guide readers on how to incorporate theoretical concepts with their interpretations and data analysis.
The books below are recommended for leisure readings.
The Tipping Point: How Little Things Can Make a Big Difference by
Call Number: HM1033.G543 2002
Publication Date: 2002-01-07
In this title, Malcolm Gladwell explores and explains the tipping point phenomenon, which is a moment when an idea, trend, or social behavior crosses a threshold, tips, and spreads like wildfire. Just as a single sick person can start an epidemic of the flu, so too can a small but precisely targeted push cause a fashion trend, the popularity of a new product, or a drop in the crime rate.
Guns, Germs, and Steel: The Fates of Human Societies by
Call Number: HM206.D537 2005
Publication Date: 2005-07-17
Winner of the Pulitzer Prize, Guns, Germs, and Steel attempts to answer the question of why the peoples of certain continents succeeded in invading other continents and conquering or displacing their peoples. In its sweep, Guns, Germs and Steel encompasses the rise of agriculture, technology, writing, government, and religion, providing a unifying theory of human history as intriguing as the histories of dinosaurs and glaciers.
SAGE Dictionary of Sociology by
Publication Date: 2006-02-15
With over 1000 entries on key concepts and theorists, The SAGE Dictionary of Sociology provides full coverage of the field, clarifying the technical use of apparently common words, explaining the fundamental concepts and introducing new and unfamiliar terms. This dictionary provides authoritative, reliable definitions, accessible ‘digests’ of key arguments.
A Dictionary of Sociology by
Call Number: HM425.D554 2005
Publication Date: 2009-02-15
This authoritative dictionary is packed with over 2,500 entries, with terms taken from sociology and the related fields of psychology, economics, anthropology, philosophy, and political science. It provides widespread coverage of all aspects of sociology, from adaptation to zero tolerance. It also contains biographies covering key figures, such as Gilles Deleuze and Erich Fromm. An invaluable introduction to sociology for beginners, and a key reference work for more advanced students, faculty, and professionals working with sociology and related fields.