Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Below is a selection of books on Psychology. Books are a good source for comprehensive information or an overview of a topic. The books included here comprises of both print and e-books. For print books, a call number is included so that you can find them in the library.
The books are divided into several sections: introductory books, research method books, handbooks, and several titles for leisure reading. These leisure readings may sometimes include fiction and non-fiction titles. A brief paragraph that describes the content and recommended use are appended on each book.
To browse more titles, please visit our library catalog, or ask a librarian for a recommendation.
Psychology: an introduction by
Call Number: BF121.L183 2012
Publication Date: 2011-05-25
The text's student-friendly writing, clear chapter openers, and fresh applications make the material more relevant to students than ever before, and the proven learning system ensures that all students will grasp the concepts presented in the book. Lahey's hallmark emphasis on diversity and culture remains integrated throughout the text, making this the text for a well-rounded introduction to all areas of psychology
Introduction to Psychology by
Call Number: BF121.K14 2008
Publication Date: 2007-04-12
In this student-praised text, Kalat challenges your preconceptions about psychology to help you become a more informed consumer of information not only during your college experience but, also as you venture into your post-college life.
Introduction to Social Psychology by
Call Number: HM1033.I61n 2012
Publication Date: 2012-05-14
A good introductory text to social psychology that is still suitable for students at all levels.
An Introduction to Developmental Psychology by
Call Number: BF713.I61 2011
Publication Date: 2011-08-29
An Introduction to Developmental Psychology is a representative and authoritative 'state of the art' account of human development from conception to adolescence. The book also contains account of theories, findings and issues in human development.
An Introduction to Experimental Psychology by
Call Number: BF191.M996
Publication Date: 2012-03-08
A concise introduction and discussions of the typical research themes and methods of observation in experimental psychology.
Introduction to Computational Cultural Psychology by
Publication Date: 2014-02-06
Written by a leading interdisciplinary researcher this book is a 'tour-de-force' which will be of interest to a variety of researchers, students and practitioners in psychology as well as an interdisciplinary audience with an interest in the intricate web weaved between the human psyche and its cultural context.
Research Methods Guide Books
The books below are recommended for leisure readings.
The Righteous Mind: Why Good People Are Divided by Politics and Religion by
Call Number: BJ45.H149 (Print copy available at HSS Library)
Publication Date: 2013-02-12
Social psychologist Jonathan Haidt challenges conventional thinking about morality, politics, and religion in a way that speaks to conservatives and liberals alike. Drawing on his twenty five years of groundbreaking research on moral psychology, Haidt shows how moral judgments arise not from reason but from gut feelings. He shows why liberals, conservatives, and libertarians have such different intuitions about right and wrong, and he shows why each side is actually right about many of its central concerns.
Thinking, Fast and Slow by
Call Number: BF441.K12 2012
Publication Date: 2013-04-02
Engaging the reader in a lively conversation about how we think, Kahneman reveals where we can and cannot trust our intuitions and how we can tap into the benefits of slow thinking. He offers practical and enlightening insights into how choices are made in both our business and our personal lives--and how we can use different techniques to guard against the mental glitches that often get us into trouble. Winner of the National Academy of Sciences Best Book Award and the Los Angeles Times Book Prize and selected by The New York Times Book Review as one of the ten best books of 2011, Thinking, Fast and Slow is destined to be a classic.
Presence: bringing your boldest self to your biggest challenges by
Call Number: BF575.S39C964
Publication Date: 2015-12-22
In this book, Harvard professor Amy Cuddy introduces the concept of "presence," the state in which we stop worrying about the impression we're making on others and instead adjust the impression we've been making on ourselves. Amy Cuddy has also galvanized tens of millions of viewers around the world with her TED talk about "power poses." In this book, she presents the enthralling science underlying these and many other fascinating body-mind effects, and teaches the reader how to use simple techniques to liberate ourselves from fear in high-pressure moments, perform at our best, and connect with and empower others to do the same.
APA Educational Psychology Handbook by
Call Number: LB1051.A639
Publication Date: 2011-11-15
The 3-volume handbook covers the following major areas in educational psychology: definitions, critical theories and practices in the field, elucidation on range of individual differences, cultural factors, and contextual factors affecting student achievement, motivation, and beliefs, and details on specific applications of research in educational psychology for assessment and decision making, teaching skills and content, promoting learning, and teacher preparation as well as across the life span and with special populations.
APA Handbook of Behavior Analysis by
Call Number: BF199.A639 V1
Publication Date: 2012-08-13
This handbook guides the reader to the science of behaviour analysis by providing overview and in-depth chapters spanning the breadth of behaviour analysis.
APA Handbook of Counseling Psychology by
Call Number: BF636.6.A639
Publication Date: 2012-06-15
This 2-volume handbook will highlight the practices in counselling psychology's traditional areas as well as in new and emerging areas.
APA Handbook of Ethics in Psychology by
Call Number: BF76.4.A639p
Publication Date: 2011-09-15
By comparison with many ethics textbooks, this two-volume handbook covers a wider range of subjects and pursues them in greater detail. For instance, it reflects important recent advances in research and technology that present new opportunities and challenges for practice and scholarship. Also, it takes a serious look into some burgeoning new areas such as life coaching and providing services over the Internet.
APA Handbook of Industrial and Organizational Psychology by
Call Number: HF5548.8.A639
Publication Date: 2010-07-15
The 3-volume handbook aims to provide the reader with a well-rounded understanding of the complexities and intricacies of trying to study and affect behavior within and between organizations. It covers 3 large areas: building the organization, selecting members for the organization and maintaining, expanding, and contracting the organization.
APA Handbook of Personality and Social Psychology by
Call Number: BF698.A639
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
This four-volume handbook summarizes the current state of knowledge on major topics within the fields of personality and social psychology. Coverage is contemporary, is provocative, and sets an agenda for future work in the area.