Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Below is a selection of books on physics. Books are a good source for comprehensive information or an overview of a topic. The books include both print and e-books. For print books, a call number is included so that you can find them in the library.
The books are a selection of introductory books, reference texts, handbooks, and several titles for leisure reading. A brief paragraph that describes the content and recommended use is provided for each book.
To browse more titles, please visit our library catalogue, or ask a librarian for a recommendation.
Astrophysics for People in a Hurry by
Call Number: QB461.T994
Publication Date: 2017-05-02
What is the nature of space and time? How do we fit within the universe? How does the universe fit within us? There's no better guide through these mind-expanding questions than acclaimed astrophysicist and best-selling author Neil deGrasse Tyson.
Essential College Physics by
Publication Date: 2009-11-01
The goal of Essential College Physics is to provide a text focused on essential principles—a shorter, more focused text that better addresses the learning needs of today’s students while more effectively guiding them through the mastery of physics.
The 2014 edition of this title is available as an e-RBR here. For a guide on how to use this e-book platform, refer to this.
Call Number: QC7.H466
Publication Date: 2016-01-04
John Heilbron's fascinating history of physics introduces us to Islamic astronomers and mathematicians, calculating the size of the earth whilst their caliphs conquered much of it; to medieval scholar-theologians investigating light; to Galileo, Copernicus, Kepler, and Newton, measuring, and trying to explain, the universe. Heilbron explores the changing place and purpose of physics in the cultures and societies that have nurtured it over the centuries.
Physics for Scientists and Engineers with Modern Physics, Technology Update by
Call Number: QC23.2.S492p
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
From a host of in-text features to a range of outstanding technology resources, you'll have everything you need to understand the natural forces and principles of physics. Throughout every chapter, the authors have built in a wide range of examples, exercises, and illustrations that will help you to understand the laws of physics AND succeed in your course!
Publication Date: 2016
Written with the goal of giving students a thorough understanding of the basic concepts of physics in all its aspects, the text uses interesting applications to biology, medicine, architecture, and digital technology to show students how useful physics is in their own everyday lives and in their future professions.
Physics for Scientists and Engineers with Modern Physics by
Publication Date: 2014
Physics is a description of reality, and thus each topic begins with concrete observations and experiences that students can directly relate to. We then move on to the generalizations and more formal treatment of the topic. Not only does this make the material more interesting and easier to understand, but it is closer to the way physics is actually practiced.
University Physics with Modern Physics by
Publication Date: 2013-01-03
University Physics with Modern Physics weaves exciting, contemporary physics throughout the text with coverage of the most recent research by the authors and others in areas such as energy, medicine, and the environment. These contemporary topics are explained in a way that your students will find real, interesting, and motivating.
Handbooks and Tables
The Cambridge Handbook of Physics Formulas by
Publication Date: 2000-06-19
The Cambridge Handbook of Physics Formulas is a quick-reference aid for students and professionals in the physical sciences and engineering. It contains more than 2000 of the most useful formulas and equations found in undergraduate physics courses, covering mathematics, dynamics and mechanics, quantum physics, thermodynamics, solid state physics, electromagnetism, optics and astrophysics.
Handbook of Physics by
Call Number: QC61.H236
Publication Date: 2006-01-13
Handbook of Physics is a veritable toolbox for rapid access to a wealth of physics information for everyday use in problem solving, homework, and examinations. This complete reference includes not only the fundamental formulas of physics but also experimental methods used in practice.