Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Below is a selection of books on Media Art. Some of the titles listed here provide an overview of the subject, whereas others offer in-depth analysis on specific topics. The books included here comprises of both print and e-books. For print books, a call number is included so that you can find them in the library.
The books are divided into several sections: general books, encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionary, and guides.
To browse more titles, please visit our library catalog, or ask a librarian for a recommendation.
You can find more advanced, or specific topics by searching the library's catalogue using some of the below keywords as the subject matter:
- Production & Direction
- Animated Films
- Women in Motion Pictures
- Asians in Motion Pictures
- Motion Picture Industry
- Motion Picture Producers and Directors
- Director’s name as subject (example: Scorsese, Martin)
- Film star as subject (example: Chaplin, Charlie)
Cambridge Core This link opens in a new window Full-text of journal articles and books from Cambridge University Press.
→ Concurrent users: Unlimited
→ Available to current NTU staff and students | Restricted onsite access for NIE staff & students, associate members -- please approach the staff at the Lee Wee Nam Library service desk for assistance
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window E-book platform providing access to thousands of books published by Oxford University Press (OUP). Includes subjects across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law.
NOTE: Excludes bibliographies, handbook and reference titles.
→ Concurrent users: Unlimited
→ Available to current NTU staff and students | Restricted onsite access for NIE staff & students, associate members -- please approach the staff at the Lee Wee Nam Library service desk for assistance.
The Practical Zone System by The Practical Zone System: for Film and Digital Photography 4th edition is an updated version of what has become the classic book on the technique developed by Ansel Adams in the 1940's. The zone system was designed to provide photographers with a precise and intuitive way to control the dynamic range of their negatives to produce printable results regardless of the contrast of the subjects they are shooting. What Chris Johnson has done in this new edition is completely update his approach to teaching the zone system with new film/developer testing data and new illustrations and examples. Most importantly, he has added an extensive new chapter that provides a detailed explanation for how the zone system's conceptual approach and terminology can help digital photographers achieve the highest possible quality from digital image processes. The emphasis is on subjects that include: optimizing digital camera exposure, color management and a fine printing workflow. Other important updates include: * Workflow for fine digital printing * Contemporary images * Updated film/developer test data * New film/developer tests * Updated Appendixes
Call Number: TR591.J66p
Publication Date: 2006-09-15
How Video Works by Most used book by professionals in broadcast and post production video departments in the entertainment industry! HOW VIDEO WORKS (formerly Videotape Theory & Operations) offers to the working video professional or student a complete and thorough guide to understanding how the analog and digital broadcast video signal is captured, recorded, transmitted, and broadcast, and the equipment that supports that process. Written in an easy to understand style, this book has been a bible for professionals in the video world since 1985. Update your library with this new version of an industry standard. HOW VIDEO WORKS will give you: * New digital technologies including hi-definition, compression and encoding. * A hands-on approach to learning about video recording, transmission, and playback. * Complete glossary of terms covering both analog and digital video. * Clear and easy to understand explanations-perfect for the new technician or non-tech creative professional. Contents: * Overview/Introduction * Electronic Photography * Scanning * Synchronizing the Signal * Transmitting the Signal * Color Video * Color Monitor Setup * Analog Waveform Monitors * Analog Vectorscopes * The Encoded Signal * Digital Theory * Digital Television Standards * High Definition Video * Digital Scopes * Compression * Magnetic Media * Optical Media * TimeCode * Audio For Video * Operations Overview * Test Signals & Media Problems Diana Weynand is an award-winning producer, director, editor, and co-founder of Weynand Training International (www.weynand.com), who has led the way in training on emerging technologies for the entertainment industry since 1981. She spent time as a videotape operator and online editor for ABC, and as Supervising Editor for the Barbara Walters Specials. She has been a columnist for numerous trade magazines and written several books on Final Cut Pro. She currently writes a monthly column on Hi-Definition for the entertainment news magazine, "Below The Line." Marcus Weise has over thirty-five years experience in the television industry. As an expert in the new digital technology, he has operated in both production and post production as an Associate Director, Online Editor and a Technical Consultant. He designed and oversaw the construction and eventually the operation of worldwide cable television facilities for TV Guide in Hollywood. Among his many credits as a Hi-Definition online editor are CSI and CSI Miami.
Call Number: TK9961.W427
Publication Date: 2004-03-22
Computer Graphics for Artists by Computer Graphics for Artists: an introduction is an application-independent, reader-friendly primer for anyone with a serious desire to understand 3D Computer Graphics. Opening with the first and most basic elements of computer graphics, the book rapidly advances into progressively more complex concepts. Each of the elements, however simple, are important to understand because each is an essential link in a chain that allows an artist to master any computer graphics application. With this accomplished, the artist can use technology to satisfy his goals, instead of the technology being master of the artist. All students wanting to learn more about computer graphics from an artistic viewpoint, particularly those intending to pursue a career in computer game design or film animation, will find this book invaluable.
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Computer Graphics for Artists II by In this second volume of Computer Graphics for Artists the author, Andrew Paquette, guides the reader through the creation of realistic computer-generated backgrounds and characters. Rather than teach using a specific program, the author focuses on the theory required to ensure that the artist can create a convincing landscape, building, person or whatever they turn their attention to. Part One covers the core areas of background generation, such as CG terrain, plant life and architecture, but also deals with specific concepts such as photo-texturing and lighting, explaining all the advantages and pitfalls involved. Part Two introduces the reader to the study of the body-shape and movement and their consequent effects upon successful digital-recreation, as well as addressing some of the fundamental elements of appearance; hair, skin and fat. It is assumed that readers will be familiar with the terms and concepts described in the first volume of this work.
Publication Date: 2009-05-22
Clay Animation by "This expanded, updated version of a book that has become a standard reference in film studies defines clearly and concisely the essential terms of film analysis, appreciation, and production. The Dictionary of Film Terms is unique among handbooks of its kind for focusing on the aesthetic values of filmmaking; technique (the wipe, the crosscut, the process shot) - is consistently explained in light of how it functions in the service of artistic expression." "New to this edition are descriptions of the latest developments in such areas as animation techniques, special effects, and sound aesthetics and a number of stills from films released since the publication of the first edition; more than 100 stills from classic and contemporary films are included. Extensive cross-referencing among individual definitions ensures easy access to specific terms, and a comprehensive topical index relates terms to larger concepts of film art by grouping them under such wide-ranging categories as editing, cinematography, composition, and lighting." "The Dictionary of Film Terms is a valuable compendium of definitions of aesthetic techniques (the use of ambient sound, camera angle), theoretical concepts (auteur criticism, film acting), styles (Hitchcockian, naturalist, neorealist), and genres (film noir, screwball comedy) that together comprise the language of motion-picture expression. Students of film and weekend movie buffs will find it a useful companion for better understanding the art of film."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Call Number: TR847.B386d
Publication Date: 1994-03-01
International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers by Part of a four-volume set, documenting significant films from the earliest days of cinema to the present day. The entries contain comprehensive credits, an extensive, fully updated bibliography, and a critical essay by a leading writer on film.
Call Number: PN1997.8.I61
Publication Date: 1996-09-01
Historical Dictionary of French Cinema by As controversial and explosive as it is elegant and learned, The Long Affair is Conor Cruise O'Brien's examination of Thomas Jefferson, as man and icon, through the critical lens of the French Revolution. O'Brien offers a provocative analysis of the supreme symbol of American history and political culture and challenges the traditional perceptions of both Jeffersonian history and the Jeffersonian legacy. "The book is an attack on America's long affair with Jeffersonian ideology of radical individualism: an ideology that, by confusing Jefferson with a secular prophet, will destroy the United States from within."—David C. Ward, Boston Book Review "With his background as a politician and a diplomat, O'Brien brings a broad perspective to his effort to define Jefferson's beliefs through the prism of his attitudes toward France. . . . This is an important work that makes an essential contribution to the overall picture of Jefferson."—Booklist "O'Brien traces the roots of Jefferson's admiration for the revolution in France but notes that Jefferson's enthusiasm for France cooled in the 1790s, when French egalitarian ideals came to threaten the slave-based Southern economy that Jefferson supported."—Library Journal "In O'Brien's opinion, it's time that Americans face the fact that Jefferson, long seen as a champion of the 'wronged masses,' was a racist who should not be placed on a pedestal in an increasingly multicultural United States."—Boston Phoenix "O'Brien makes a well-argued revisionist contribution to the literature on Jefferson."—Kirkus Reviews "O'Brien is right on target . . . determined not to let the evasions and cover-ups continue."—Forrest McDonald, National Review "The Long Affair should be read by anyone interested in Jefferson—or in a good fight."—Richard Brookhiser, New York Times Book Review
Call Number: PN1993.5.F7S81
Publication Date: 2007-03-27
Complete Film Dictionary by Defines technical terms used in the production of motion pictures and discusses techniques, genres, and topics in film criticism.
Call Number: PN1993.45.K82
Publication Date: 1998-11-01
Photography and Digital Imaging
Illustrated Dictionary of Photography by Cataloging everything from historic photographic processes to the latest advances in digital technology, this reference contains nearly 5,000 entries explaining the terms and techniques of photography. An ideal sourcebook for anyone with an interest in photography, entries include words associated with shooting techniques, digital imaging terms, specialized photographic subgenres, the science of photography, and notable photographers. Each entry blends ample cross-references with detailed explanations to provide both professional photographers and amateur photo enthusiasts with an essential resource.
Call Number: TR9.P449
Publication Date: 2008-03-01
Dictionary of Photography and Digital Imaging by Here is the most up-to-date, comprehensive, and authoritative reference guide available in the rapidly developing and constantly expanding area of digital imaging. Easily accessible for the amateur, yet technical and detailed enough for a professional photographer, this reference features over 2,100 in-depth entries and is packed with cross-references, multiple levels of word entry, and dozens of sidebars offering additional explanations and useful information. For aspiring photographers, graphic artists, professional photographers, and anyone else concerned with capturing images and using digital technology to scan, manipulate, and publish them, this dictionary is an essential addition to the bookshelf.
Call Number: TR9.A581
Publication Date: 2002-03-01
The Disney A to Z by Every aspect of Disney history covered in over 6,500 entries. The encyclopedia lists all Disney theatrical shortys and features; all Disney television shows, series and specials; all Disney educational and nontheatrical films; all Disney park attractions, along with major park resorts, restaurants and shops; key Disney company cast members; primary actors in Disney film and TV productions; important songs; and many other elements that make up the world of Disney.
Call Number: PN1999.W27S645
Publication Date: 2006-10-01
Encyclopedia of Film Noir by When viewers think of film noir, they often picture actors like Humphrey Bogart playing characters like Sam Spade in The Maltese Falcon, the film based on the book by Dashiell Hammett. Yet film noir is a genre much richer. The authors first examine the debate surrounding the parameters of the genre and the many different ways it is defined. They discuss the Noir City, its setting and backdrop, and also the cultural (WWII) and institutional (the House UnAmerican Activities Committee, and the Production Code Administration) influences on the subgenres. An analysis of the low budget and series film noirs provides information on those cult classics. With over 200 entries on films, directors, and actors, the Encyclopedia of Film Noir is the most complete resource for film fans, students, and scholars.
Call Number: PN1995.9.F54M468
Publication Date: 2007-06-30
Encyclopedia of French Film Directors by Cinema has been long associated with France, dating back to 1895, when Louis and Auguste Lumiere screened their works, the first public viewing of films anywhere. Early silent pioneers Georges Melies, Alice Guy Blache and others followed in the footsteps of the Lumiere brothers and the tradition of important filmmaking continued throughout the 20th century and beyond. In Encyclopedia of French Film Directors, Philippe Rege identifies every French director who has made at least one feature film since 1895. From undisputed masters to obscure one-timers, nearly 3,000 directors are cited here, including at least 200 filmmakers not mentioned in similar books published in France. Each director's entry contains a brief biographical summary, including dates and places of birth and death; information on the individual's education and professional training; and other pertinent details, such as real names (when the filmmaker uses a pseudonym). The entries also provide complete filmographies, including credits for feature films, shorts, documentaries, and television work.Some of the most important names in the history of film can be found in this encyclopedia, from masters of the Golden Age-Jean Renoir and Rene Clair-to French New Wave artists such as Francois Truffaut and Jean-Luc Godard.
Call Number: PN1998.2.R333
Publication Date: 2009-12-11
Encyclopedia of Visual Effects by This is the ultimate recipe book for visual effects artists working in Apple Shake, Adobe After Effects, and Apple Motion. An impressive lineup of Hollywood and independent effects pros have pulled together this compendium of the coolest and most useful effects from A to Z ("Adding Clouds" to "Z-Depth Effects"). The book includes everything from practical everyday commercial techniques to breakdowns of well-known shots from blockbuster films. Readers learn to create light sabers from the artists who created them for Star Wars Episode 3; learn to freeze time from the wizard who invented the effect for The Matrix; and learn to create matte paintings from the pros who did them for Lord of the Rings. Coverage includes rotoscoping, painting, warping and distortion effects, dramatic lighting, adding lightening and fire, matchmoves, 3D CG integration techniques, advanced blue- and greenscreen techniques, and much more. DVD-ROM included. Foreword by Ron Brinkmann.
Call Number: TR858.A425
Publication Date: 2006-11-02
Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Photography by The Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Photographyexplores the vast international scope of twentieth-century photography and explains that history with a wide-ranging, interdisciplinary manner. This unique approach covers the aesthetic history of photography as an evolving art and documentary form, while also recognizing it as a developing technology and cultural force. This Encyclopediapresents the important developments, movements, photographers, photographic institutions, and theoretical aspects of the field along with information about equipment, techniques, and practical applications of photography. To bring this history alive for the reader, the set is illustrated in black and white throughout, and each volume contains a color plate section. A useful glossary of terms is also included.
Call Number: TR642.E56
Publication Date: 2005-11-15
The Concise Focal Encyclopedia of Photography by Defining photography is impossible. Revealing it is another matter, and that's what The Concise Focal Encyclopedia of Photography does, with each turn of the page. History: The technical origins and evolution of photography are half of the story. The other half consists of the ways that cultural forces have transformed photography into a constellation of practices more diverse than any other mode of representation. Photographers can tell a more in-depth story through a photo like Dorothea Lange's "Migrant Mother" than a journalist ever could with the written word alone. Major themes and practitioners: Over 25 entries, many with supporting illustrations, examine the figures, trends, and ideas that have contributed most heavily to the history and current state of photography. Contemporary issues: The issues influencing photography today are more complex than at any other time in its history. Questions of ethics, desire, perception, digitization, and commercialization all vie for attention. Hear what the experts have to say about crucial issues such as whether or not the images we take today will last the test of time, and if so, how? When material is covered this skillfully, "concise" is no compromise. The Concise Focal Encyclopedia of Photography is packed with useful information, compelling ideas, and - best of all - pure pleasure.
Call Number: TR9.C744
Publication Date: 2007-09-10
The Movie Guide by
Call Number: PN1998.2.M734
Publication Date: 1992-10-22
Bloomsbury Good Movie Guide by The aim of this book is to offer suggestions for a better understanding of world cinema. It provides details and concise summaries of almost 5000 films, each rated according to the quality of direction, acting, script, cinematography, score or special effects.
Call Number: PN1993.45.P247
Publication Date: 1992-07-01
Looking at Photographs by This reference guide contains an informative history of photography, with explanations of the technical terms often encountered by gallery patrons and those taking an interest in the background to photographic excellence for the first time.
Call Number: TR9.B181
Publication Date: 1991-10-10
The Animator's Survival Kit by Animation is one of the hottest and most creative areas of film-making today . During his more than 40 years in the business, Richard Williams has been one of the true innovators, and serves as the link between the golden age of animation by hand and the new computer animation successes.In this book, based on his sold-out Animation Masterclass in the United States and across Europe, Williams provides the underlying principles of animation that very animator - from beginner to expert,classic animator to computer animation whiz - needs.Using hundreds of drawings, Williams distills the secrets of the masters into a working system in order to create a book that has become the standard work on all forms of animation for professionals, students and fans.This new expanded edition includes more on animal action, invention and realism with sophisticated animation examples
Call Number: NC1765.W726 2009
Publication Date: 2009-11-05
Stop Motion: Passion, Process and Performance by Be inspired by award-winning animator Barry Purves' honest insight into the creative process of making stop motion animations, using his own classic films to illustrate every step along the way. With Barry's enthusiasm for puppets in all their many guises and in-depth interviews from some of the world's other leading practitioners, there is advice, inspiration and entertainment galore in Stop Motion: Passion, Process and Performance. And there's more! Many of the artists and craftsmen interviewed have contributed their own specially drawn illustrations - showing their inspirations, heroes and passion for their craft. These beautiful images help make the book a truly personal journey into the heart of the animation industry with broad appeal for anyone with a love of animation.
Call Number: TR897.5.P986
Publication Date: 2007-12-04
The Advanced Art of Stop-Motion Animation by Take an in-depth look at the art and techniques of stop-motion animation. The Advanced Art of Stop-Motion Animation helps experienced stop-motion artists enhance their craft by exploring the professional methods and advanced technology used by top film studios today. This book features expanded coverage of the basic principles of animation, including specific applications for character performance and visual effect compositing techniques. All the newest technology is touched on, including detailed information on camera rigs, effects, and shooting stop-motion in stereoscopic 3D. Discover new puppet building techniques, including the technology behind the rapid prototyping of computer models for stop-motion production. You'll even find a thorough history of early feature-length stop-motion films. The practical techniques and skills presented are enhanced by interviews with many of the most celebrated stop-motion artists as well as coverage of the work of several artists working in the online stop-motion community. Whether your focus is low-budget indie filmmaking or big studio productions, The Advanced Art of Stop-Motion Animation provides a comprehensive look at both the latest methods and the artists who are driving the revival of stop-motion animation.
Call Number: TR897.5.P948
Publication Date: 2010-06-17
Animation in Process by From Hollywood blockbuster to striving independent filmmaker, from mobile phone games to characters advertising products on television, from pseudo live action through to virtual environments, animation is able to transcend boundaries to new audiences. This book shows how artists, designers, filmmakers, programmers, directors, writers, and producers have seized the chance to entertain using a versatile and compelling medium. Animation in Process is not only a creative showcase exposing the best talent in the field today, but an in-depth exploration of working methods and processes behind the highly polished features they create, with previously unseen material such as sketches, working drawings, storyboards, and other work-in-progress that documents the animators' craft.
Call Number: TR897.5.S464
Publication Date: 2009-07-29
Cinema by Cinema: A Visual Anthropology provides a clear and concise summary of the key ideas, debates, and texts of the most important approaches to the study of fiction film from around the world. The book examines ways to address film and film experience beyond the study of the audience. Cross-disciplinary in scope, Cinema uses ideas and approaches both from within and outside of anthropology to further students' knowledge of and interest in fiction film. Including selected, globally based case studies to highlight and exemplify important issues, the book also contains suggested Further Reading for each chapter, for students to expand their learning independently. Exploring fundamental methods and approaches to engage this most interesting and vibrant of media, Cinema will be essential reading for students of anthropology and film.
Call Number: GN347.G779
Publication Date: 2010-02-01
What Is Film Theory? by "... authoritative, always engaged, and grounded in the detailed study of well chosen films. This is an exceptionally useful introduction, and good to read." Professor James Donald, The University of New South Wales, Australia This engaging and accessible book explores major debates in contemporary film theory, providing a detailed introduction to the central arguments advanced by film theorists since the 1960s. What is Film Theory? outlines the discipline's key theoretical concepts, perspectives, and traditions, and critically examines the assertions posited by exemplary film theorists and philosophers of film. A step-by-step approach to these issues guides the reader through the central topics of film theory. Beginning with a discussion of structuralism and semiotics, and moving through debates on psychoanalysis, feminism, Screen theory, and cultural studies, the authors then examine the perspectives of 'post-theory', cognitivism, and historical poetics, as well as recent developments such as audience research and the 'cinema of attractions'. Analysis of the major theories is supported with detailed and wide-ranging case studies of particular films, including Singin' in the Rain, The Searchers, Tout va bien, Jaws, Do the Right Thing, Brokeback Mountain, and Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street. These case studies are accompanied by a series of illustrative film and production stills. What is Film Theory? is indispensable reading for all students of Film and Media Studies, as well as for general readers interested in the debates which have defined film theory.
Call Number: PN1995.R954
Publication Date: 2010-02-01
The Guerilla Film Makers Movie Blueprint by Central to The Guerilla Film Makers Movie Blueprint are flow charts: crystal-clear diagrams detailing every single thing, no matter how small, that needs to be done to make your film. This visual approach to the filmmaking process ensures that new (and established!) filmmakers get an instant overview of each and every discipline. Backing up the diagrams are copious notes - humorous in tone, yet broad and deep in content. Wherever possible, the text is broken apart into box outs, hot tips and sub-diagrams. This book is entertaining, irreverent, and never less than painfully practical. The Guerilla Film Makers Movie Blueprint will have its own dedicated website where readers can download the tools, forms, software, and artwork detailed in the book. Jones's latest endeavor is packed with over a decade's worth of experience, know-how, and insider tips. A must-read for every budding filmmaker.
Call Number: PN1995.9.P7J76g
Publication Date: 2003-06-20
Story by Robert McKee's screenwriting workshops have earned him an international reputation for inspiring novices, refining works in progress and putting major screenwriting careers back on track. Quincy Jones, Diane Keaton, Gloria Steinem, Julia Roberts, John Cleese and David Bowie are just a few of his celebrity alumni. Writers, producers, development executives and agents all flock to his lecture series, praising it as a mesmerizing and intense learning experience. In Story, McKee expands on the concepts he teaches in his $450 seminars (considered a must by industry insiders), providing readers with the most comprehensive, integrated explanation of the craft of writing for the screen. No one better understands how all the elements of a screenplay fit together, and no one is better qualified to explain the "magic" of story construction and the relationship between structure and character than Robert McKee.
Call Number: PN1996.M154
Publication Date: 1997-11-25
Film and Television by The popularity and pervasiveness of film and television in 21st-century life is inescapable. Whether viewed as entertainment, educational, or cultural forms, the effect of these media on our lifestyles and attitudes is unmistakable. No wonder an increasing number of academics, students, and laypeople are drawn to study their particular appeal. Mark Emmons's magnum opus is a true labor of love. International in scope, it offers 1,244 substantially annotated entries, organized by topic. Its focus is movies and television shows: how they are produced; the people who make and appear in them; their content, their distribution and exhibition; and their reception by audiences, reviewers, critics, and scholars. Beginning with general guides, dictionaries and encyclopedias, the book then turns to filmographies, filmmakers, and filmmaking respectively. Filmographies lists films and television shows in the categories of national cinema and genre, made by studios or filmmakers, or featuring various groups of people. Filmmakers includes biographies and credits for filmmakers and actors. Filmmaking includes reference sources on making film and television shows. An indispensable guide for librarians, faculty, students, neophyte filmmakers, and fans everywhere.
Call Number: Z5784.M9E54
Publication Date: 2006-03-30
Writing, Directing, and Producing Documentary Films and Videos by As Alan Rosenthal states in the preface to this new edition of his acclaimed resource for filmmakers, Writing, Directing, and Producing Documentary Films and Videos is “a book about storytelling—how to tell great and moving stories about fascinating people, whether they be villains or heroes.” In response to technological advances and the growth of the documentary hybrid in the past five years, Rosenthal reconsiders how one approaches documentary filmmaking in the twenty-first century. Simply and clearly, he explains how to tackle day-to-day problems, from initial concept through distribution. He demonstrates his ideas throughout the book with examples from key filmmakers’ work. New aspects of this fourth edition include a vital new chapter titled "Making Your First Film," and a considerable enlargement of the section for producers, "Staying Alive," which includes an extensive discussion of financing, marketing, festivals, and distribution. This new edition offers a revised chapter on nonlinear editing, more examples of precise and exacting proposals, and the addition of a complex budget example with explanation of the budgeting process. Discussion of documentary hybrids, with suggestions for mastering changes and challenges, has also been expanded, while the “Family Films” chapter includes updated information that addresses rapid expansion in this genre.
Call Number: PN1995.9.D6R815 2007
Publication Date: 2007-06-26
In the Darkroom by Since the announcement of photography's invention in 1839, various methods of making photographs have been practiced. Until the advent of digital photography at the end of the twentieth century, all of these methods required three elements: light-sensitive materials that behave predictably in response to light; chemicals that control and fix the action of light to create an image; and a support upon which the image rests. Photographers and others have continually explored and refined these basic requirements in their quest to expand the artistic and technological possibilities of photography.This book describes in a clear, accessible manner the main photographic and photomechanical processes (some still in practice) from the origins of the medium up to the time when the use of chemicals and a darkened room in which to process photographs was gradually superseded by the advent of digital photography.This elegant guide will prove invaluable to students, photographers, museum visitors, collectors, and anyone interested in the rich and fascinating history of photography.The book includes work by Euge`ne Atget, Robert Frank, Laura Gilpin, Andre´ Kerte´sz, Helen Levitt, Robert Mapplethorpe, Eadweard Muybridge, Edward Steichen, Alfred Stieglitz, William Henry Fox Talbot, Andy Warhol, Edward Weston.
Call Number: TR350.K36
Publication Date: 2010-04-01
An Advanced Guide to Digital Photography by This title will provide the reader with the advanced techniques to truly master the new photographic media. Structured around the three main areas of shooting the image, enhancing the image and enjoying the image, the Digital Photography series makes the world of digital imaging simple while concentrating on the photographic aspect. With the aid of inspirational images we are shown in easy steps how the image was taken, manipulated on the computer and output in the desired form.
Call Number: TR267.L45
Publication Date: 2005-03-01
Complete Guide to High Dynamic Range Digital Photography by It’s the latest and hottest technique, made possible only through digital. High Dynamic Range photography is the process of taking several pictures of a scene at various exposures, then merging them into one file. So the entire photo can look crisp and detailed, from highlights to midtones to shadows--and photographers needn’t sacrifice any part of their image. And the best way to master this exciting technology is with this thorough, easy-to-follow, and visually spectacular guide. No other title does justice to these cutting-edge techniques, which actually take the viewer into worlds far beyond normal photography--sometimes even beyond normal human perception. Ferrell McCollough, a widely respected photographer, pushes the boundaries and inspires others to pursue their artistic vision, too. The amazing results simply can’t be achieved any other way.
Call Number: TR267.M129
Publication Date: 2008-05-06
The Digital Photography Book by This text tackles the most important side of digital photography - how to take professional-quality shots using the same tricks today's top digital pros use.
Call Number: TR267.K29d
Publication Date: 2006-08-23