Below is a selection of electronic resources (eResources) related to Mechanical Engineering. These e-resources may include full-text journal articles, abstracts index of citations, e-books, references material, etc. The section below is divided into journals, core databases, reference databases, freely-available databases, and websites.
The Journals section features some of the renowned journals in the discipline; this is determined by the journal ranking, and for this particular guide, journal ranking by Journal Citation Report was used as a reference. Core Databases section lists down popular databases in the discipline. Related Databases mostly feature databases that also cover mechanical engineering along with other disciplines. Institutions &Societies mostly feature notable institutions that focus their research efforts on various aspects. Discussion Forums can be used to connect with others in mechanical engineering and/or to keep up to date in the discipline. Directories of Sources provides links to online resources related to mechanical engineering.
For each of the eResources listed, simply click on the title to go to the eResource immediately. A brief description of each eResource and its access information is also included to give you an idea of the data or time coverage.
To browse more eResources, please visit our A-Z collections listing, or ask a librarian for a recommendation.
What is an academic journal?
An academic journal is a peer-reviewed periodical that contains research articles on a specific subject area. It serves as the medium for research dissemination, with content ranging from original research, review articles, and book reviews.
Journal Citation Reports (JCR) is a resource that provides the data to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 11,000 scholarly and technical journals from more than 3,300 publishers. It provides a ranking of journals based on the measure called Impact factor.
The Journal Impact Factor is defined as all citations to the journal in the current JCR year to items published in the previous two years, divided by the total number of scholarly items (these comprise articles, reviews, and proceedings papers) published in the journal in the previous two years.
For example, in the 2017 JCR, each Journal Impact Factor will measure the citations earned by a publication where the citing year is 2017, and the cited year is either 2016 or 2015.
The top 10 journals in the Web of Science category Mechanical Engineering based on 2017 JCR is given below.
To obtain the above list, access JCR database, select "Browse by Category", click the tab 'Journals by Rank', then Select Categories on the left hand side, select Engineering, Mechanical and click Submit.
You may also view Google Scholar Top publications list for Mechanical Engineering.
Collection of scholarly content published by Springer Nature. Includes books, journals, and reference works covering various disciplines such as science, technology, medicine, humanities, and social sciences. Access the list of eBooks and eJournals.
Click on More below for new subject areas of eBooks available.
A scientific and technical database which offers a collection of engineering handbooks, reference books, and technical standards. Topics covered includes materials science, engineering design, and process engineering.
An online bibliographic and full text database service, it offers more than 80 multi-disciplinary databases targeted at academic users. Databases subscribed include the Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier and Computer Source. Full text documents are available in various formats such as PDF, html and XML and color embedded images. Sign up for a personal account to save searches, create search or journal alerts and create web pages with persistent links to articles in Ebscohost.
→ Concurrent users: Unlimited
→ Available to current NTU/NIE staff and students | Restricted onsite access for associate members -- please approach the staff at the Lee Wee Nam Library service desk for assistance
Offers a collection of peer-reviewed journals and eBooks in business, management, social sciences, education, and healthcare. Also includes case studies offering practical insights for researchers and professionals.
Multi-disciplinary collections of journals and other publications covering life sciences, health sciences, physical sciences and engineering as well as social sciences, humanities and business.
See the list of eBooks and eJournals available.
Note: Click More to see the subject area of eBooks available with Evidence Based Selection eBooks Model.
Citation database covering journal articles, books, book chapters, and conference proceedings across the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Enables citation analysis to explore publication influence and track research trends.
