Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Below is a selection of books on Mechanical Engineering. Books are a good source for comprehensive information or an overview of a topic. The books included here comprises of both print and e-books. For print books, a call number is included so that you can find them in the library.
The books are divided into two sections: introductory books and handbooks, and several titles for leisure reading. A brief paragraph that describes the content and recommended use are appended on each book.
To browse more titles, please visit our Library Catalogue, or ask a librarian for a recommendation
An Introduction to Mechanical Engineering by
Publication Date: 2009-04-24
An Introduction to Mechanical Engineering is an essential text for all first-year undergraduate students as well as those studying for foundation degrees and HNDs. The text gives a thorough grounding in the following core engineering topics: thermodynamics, fluid mechanics, solid mechanics, dynamics, electricals and electronics, and materials science. As well as mechanical engineers, the text will be highly relevant to civil, automotive, aeronautical/aerospace and general engineering students. The text is written by an experienced team of first-year lecturers at the internationally renowned University of Nottingham. The material in this book has full student and lecturer support on an accompanying website at http://cw.tandf.co.uk/mechanicalengineering/, which includes: worked examples of exam-style questions multiple-choice self-assessment revision guides.
An Introduction to Mechanical Engineering, SI Edition by
Publication Date: 2012-02-24
AN INTRODUCTION TO MECHANICAL ENGINEERING introduces students to the ever-emerging field of mechanical engineering, giving an appreciation for how engineers design the hardware that builds and improves societies all around the world. Intended for students in their first or second year of a typical college or university program in mechanical engineering or a closely related field, the text balances the treatments of technical problem-solving skills, design, engineering analysis, and modern technology.
Introduction to Mechatronics and Measurement Systems by
Publication Date: 2002-07-30
This book provides comprehensive and accessible coverage of the evolving field of mechatronics for mechanical, electrical and aerospace engineering majors. The authors present a concise review of electrical circuits, solid-state devices, digital circuits, and motors- all of which are fundamental to understanding mechatronic systems.Mechatronics design considerations are presented throughout the text, and in "Design Example" features. The text's numerous illustrations, examples, class discussion items, and chapter questions & exercises provide an opportunity to understand and apply mechatronics concepts to actual problems encountered in engineering practice. This text has been tested over several years to ensure accuracy.A text web site is available at http://www.engr.colostate.edu/~dga/mechatronics/ and contains numerous supplemental resources.
Mechanical Engineering Fundamentals by
Publication Date: 2010-08-01
This book provides fundamentals of Mechanical Engineering for the undergraduate students of all branches of engineering. The various topics of Mechanical Engineering that are discussed in the book are: Machine tool and fabrication process Thermodynamics, IC engines and steam turbines Hydraulic turbines and pumps Refrigeration and air-conditioning Power transmission methods and devices Stresses, strain, shear force and bending moment diagrams Numerical control machines. (NC and CNCs) Applied mechanics. A large number of worked out problems, exercises and MCQs are provided in all the chapters.
The CRC Handbook of Thermal Engineering by
The CRC Handbook of Thermal Engineering, Second Edition, is a fully updated version of this respected reference work, with chapters written by leading experts. Its first part covers basic concepts, equations and principles of thermodynamics, heat transfer, and fluid dynamics. Following that is detailed coverage of major application areas, such as bioengineering, energy-efficient building systems, traditional and renewable energy sources, food processing, and aerospace heat transfer topics. The latest numerical and computational tools, microscale and nanoscale engineering, and new complex-structured materials are also presented. Designed for easy reference, this new edition is a must-have volume for engineers and researchers around the globe [Provided by publisher.]
Handbook of Hydraulic Fluid Technology by
Publication Date: 2011
This text aims to facilitate a broader understanding of the total hydraulic system, including hardware, fluid properties and testing, and hydraulic lubricants. It provides a comprehensive and rigorous overview of hydraulic fluid technology and evaluates the ecological benefits of water as an important alternative technology. Equations, tables and illustrations are used to clarify and reinforce essential concepts.
Handbook of Mechanical Engineering Calculations by
Publication Date: 2006-03-10
Solve any mechanical engineering problem quickly and easily This trusted compendium of calculation methods delivers fast, accurate solutions to the toughest day-to-day mechanical engineering problems. You will find numbered, step-by-step procedures for solving specific problems together with worked-out examples that give numerical results for the calculation. Covers: Power Generation; Plant and Facilities Engineering; Environmental Control; Design Engineering New Edition features methods for automatic and digital control; alternative and renewable energy sources; plastics in engineering design
Illustrated Sourcebook of Mechanical Components by
User-friendly compendium of mechanical devices.A treasure chest of ideas and data, Robert O. Parmley'sIllustrated Sourcebook of Mechanical Components istestimony to centuries of engineering genius that produced the components that make modern mechanical wonders possible. Designed to stimulate new ideas, thisunique, lavishly illustrated and conveniently indexedreference shows you many designs and unique contributions hidden from technical literature for decades.
Mechanical Engineers' Handbook by
Publication Date: 2015-02-20
More and more engineers increasingly find themselves in a diverse set of industries covering a wide range of functions. No one engineer can be a specialist in every discipline. The Kutz Mechanical Engineer's Handbook: 4th Edition offers engineers a thorough, detailed, ready reference on topics that may fall outside their scope of expertise. The four volume set provides a quick guide to specialized areas in the engineering field. The accessible information offers discussions, examples and analyses of each of the topics covered. The handbook gives access to the basics of each and points you toward trusted resources for further reading. Everything a mechanical engineering student, researcher or practitioner needs to know Provides quick guidance to all the specialized areas in the mechanical engineering discipline, giving students, researchers and practitioners access to the information they need to quickly and confidently complete any task. The accessible information offers discussions, examples, and analyses of the topics covered.
Mechanisms and Mechanical Devices Sourcebook by
From the technically curious to machinery, mechanisms, and device designers, this book provides topics from control systems to robotics and nanotechnology. For engineers and technicians to inventors in design shops to the classrooms, designers and students alike will find design detail for use in a range of applications.
Rules of Thumb for Mechanical Engineers - A Manual of Quick, Accurate Solutions to Everyday Mechanical Engineering Problems by
Save time with this collection of straightforward, common-sense techniques that provide quick, accurate solutions to your engineering problems. Rules of Thumb for Mechanical Engineers assembles hundreds of shortcuts, calculations, practical "how-to" methods, and concise background reviews into one convenient volume. Whether you're concerned with design, selection, or performance, you'll find fast, accurate answers here - all without wading through pages of theory. Experts from all engineering disciplines have packed this book's sixteen chapters with design criteria and practical tips. You'll find easy-to-read descriptions on fluids, heat transfer, thermodynamics, seals, pumps, and compressors, drivers, gears, and bearings, as well as piping and pressure vessels. Also covers tribology, vibrations, materials, stress and fatigue, instrumentation, and engineering economics.
Mechanical Design Engineering Handbook by
Publication Date: 2013-09-24
Mechanical Design Engineering Handbook is a straight-talking and forward-thinking reference covering the design, specification, selection, use and integration of machine elements fundamental to a wide range of engineering applications. Develop or refresh your mechanical design skills in the areas of bearings, shafts, gears, seals, belts and chains, clutches and brakes, springs, fasteners, pneumatics and hydraulics, amongst other core mechanical elements, and dip in for principles, data and calculations as needed to inform and evaluate your on-the-job decisions. Covering the full spectrum of common mechanical and machine components that act as building blocks in the design of mechanical devices, Mechanical Design Engineering Handbook also includes worked design scenarios and essential background on design methodology to help you get started with a problem and repeat selection processes with successful results time and time again. This practical handbook will make an ideal shelf reference for those working in mechanical design across a variety of industries and a valuable learning resource for advanced students undertaking engineering design modules and projects as part of broader mechanical, aerospace, automotive and manufacturing programs.