Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Below is a selection of books on mathematics. Books are a good source for comprehensive information or an overview of a topic. The books include both print and e-books. For print books, a call number is included so that you can find them in the library.
The books are divided into several sections: introductory books, reference texts, handbooks and tables, and several titles for leisure reading. A brief paragraph that describes the content and recommended use is provided for each book.
To browse more titles, please visit our library catalogue, or ask a librarian for a recommendation.
Yearning for the Impossible by
Call Number: QA37.3.S857
Publication Date: 2006-05-23
This book explores the history of mathematics from the perspective of the creative tension between common sense and the "impossible" as the author follows the discovery or invention of new concepts that have marked mathematical progress: - Irrational and Imaginary Numbers - The Fourth Dimension - Curved Space - Infinity and others The author puts these creations into a broader context involving related "impossibilities" from art, literature, philosophy, and physics.
Nature of Mathematics by
Publication Date: 2017
Written for liberal arts students and based on the belief that learning to solve problems is the principal reason for studying mathematics, Karl Smith introduces students to Polya’s problem-solving techniques and shows them how to use these techniques to solve unfamiliar problems that they encounter in their own lives.
Publication Date: 2016
Explains mathematical concepts with an historical overview of the field. Explores the uses and effects of math in daily life, and provides information on different career choices in this field.
Real Mathematical Analysis by
Publication Date: 2015-07-29
Based on an honors course taught by the author at UC Berkeley, this introduction to undergraduate real analysis gives a different emphasis by stressing the importance of pictures and hard problems. Topics include: a natural construction of the real numbers, four-dimensional visualization, basic point-set topology, function spaces, multivariable calculus via differential forms (leading to a simple proof of the Brouwer Fixed Point Theorem), and a pictorial treatment of Lebesgue theory. Over 150 detailed illustrations elucidate abstract concepts and salient points in proofs.
The concise Oxford dictionary of mathematics by
Publication Date: 2014
This dictionary contains over 3,000 clear and concise entries updated in line with curriculum and degree requirements. It covers pure and applied mathematics and statistics, features entry-level web links, and includes detailed appendices.
Elsevier's Dictionary of Mathematics by
Publication Date: 2000-01-17
Elsevier's Dictionary of Mathematics contains 11,652 entries with more than 4,750 cross-references. Selection of the terms was based either on their significance or on their frequency of use according to authoritative encyclopedias, dictionaries and textbooks. Included are both modern developments and contemporary changes in terminology as well as recently established terms. The terminology covers all the major branches from elementary to advanced subjects: arithmetic, algebra, geometry, set theory, discrete mathematics, logic, Boolean algebra, linear algebra, matrix algebra, calculus, differential equations, vector algebra, field theory, probability theory and statistics, optimization, numerical methods, mathematical programming, modern algebra, algebraic structures, computer algebra, category theory, applied mathematics, theory of automata and formal languages, theory of games, theory of graphs, as well as some commonly used entries in computer architecture, hardware, communications, system and application software, microprogramming, etc. This work will provide readers, writers and translators with a guide of the most widely used terms and collections in the area, and will prove to be a useful tool for all professionals exploring the multilingual scientific terminology.
Handbooks and Tables
CRC Standard Mathematical Tables and Formulae by
Publication Date: 2011-06-22
With over 6,000 entries, CRC Standard Mathematical Tables and Formulae, 32nd Editioncontinues to provide essential formulas, tables, figures, and descriptions, including many diagrams, group tables, and integrals not available online. This new edition incorporates important topics that are unfamiliar to some readers, such as visual proofs and sequences, and illustrates how mathematical information is interpreted. Material is presented in a multisectional format, with each section containing a valuable collection of fundamental tabular and expository reference material.
Handbook of Graph Theory by
Publication Date: 2013-12-17
In the ten years since the publication of the best-selling first edition, more than 1,000 graph theory papers have been published each year. Reflecting these advances, Handbook of Graph Theory, Second Edition provides comprehensive coverage of the main topics in pure and applied graph theory. This second edition has over 400 pages longer than its predecessor & incorporates 14 new sections. Each chapter includes lists of essential definitions and facts, accompanied by examples, tables, remarks, and, in some cases, conjectures and open problems. A bibliography at the end of each chapter provides an extensive guide to the research literature and pointers to monographs. In addition, a glossary is included in each chapter as well as at the end of each section. This edition also contains notes regarding terminology and notation.
Handbook of Graph Theory, Combinatorial Optimization, and Algorithms by
Publication Date: 2016-01-05
The fusion between graph theory and combinatorial optimization has led to theoretically profound and practically useful algorithms, yet there is no book that currently covers both areas together. Handbook of Graph Theory, Combinatorial Optimization, and Algorithmsis the first to present a unified, comprehensive treatment of both graph theory and combinatorial optimization. Divided into 11 cohesive sections, the handbook's 44 chapters focus on graph theory, combinatorial optimization, and algorithmic issues.
Handbook of Linear Algebra by
Publication Date: 2013-11-26
With a substantial amount of new material, the Handbook of Linear Algebra, Second Editionprovides comprehensive coverage of linear algebra concepts, applications, and computational software packages in an easy-to-use format. It guides you from the very elementary aspects of the subject to the frontiers of current research.
Handbook of Functional Equations by
Publication Date: 2014-11-21
This handbook consists of seventeen chapters written by eminent scientists from the international mathematical community, who present important research works in the field of mathematical analysis and related subjects, particularly in the Ulam stability theory of functional equations. The book provides an insight into a large domain of research with emphasis to the discussion of several theories, methods and problems in approximation theory, analytic inequalities, functional analysis, computational algebra and applications.