LibGuides: English Literature: eResources

About

Below is a selection of electronic resources (eResources) related to English literature. These e-resources may include full-text journal articles, bibliographies, reference materials and others, and you can access them either from their journal pages, or from expansive databases that aggregate resources from multiple journals or sources.

This page is divided into two major sections - on the left are Journals, and on the right are Databases and Websites.

The Journals section are organized into the different focuses of literary journals, with the sections corresponding to aspects of the undergraduate programme for English literature in NTU. Please refer to the topic guides for more detailed resources for each aspect, or for more specialized aspects.

Core Databases section lists down popular academic databases in the discipline - your research should start from one of these. Specialist Sites feature websites that are made freely available online by expert groups or societies to share resources on specific literary topics. Full Text Archives lists resources of mostly literary texts that are no longer copyrighted and can be made available online for free for everyone.

For each of the eResources listed, simply click on the title to access it directly. A brief description of each eResource and its access information is also included to give you an idea of the data or time coverage.

To browse more eResources, please visit our A-Z collections listing, or ask a librarian for a recommendation.

Journals - Literary and Cultural Theory

Journals - Asian and World Literature

Asian Literature

The Atlantic Literary Review
This is a journal with a special interest with regards to Indian writing in English
Harvard Journal of Asiatic Studies

Irish Literature

Canadian Journal of Irish Studies
Etudes Irlandaises (Irish Studies)
In French and English; includes a section on literary studies pertaining to Irish literature.
Irish University Review
The Irish Review

International Literature

Journals - Film and Poetry

Film

Cinema Journal
Film Criticism
Screen
Screen is the leading international journal of academic film and television studies. From video art to popular television, from Hollywood to Hong Kong, from art cinema to British film finance, Screen authors cover a wide range of issues, both contemporary and historical, from a variety of disciplinary perspectives. Each quarterly issue combines substantial scholarly essays with reports and debates on conferences and current research, along with book reviews.

Poetry

Journals - Period Studies

Medieval Literature

Renaissance Literature

Eighteenth, Nineteenth, and Twentieth Century Literature

Contemporary Literature

Core Databases

Literature Online This link opens in a new window
Online resource for the study and teaching of literature in English. Combines the texts of over 355,000 literary works with a vast library of key criticism and reference resources.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Database of backfiles (archives) of core scholarly journals in many disciplines. There is usually a gap of 2 to 5 years between the most recently published issue of any journal and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR. This gap is called a "moving wall" in JSTOR.

NOTE: Subscription only includes the following collections: Arts & Sciences I V Collections; Arts & Sciences VII XI Collections; Business II; Health & General Sciences; Ireland Collection; Life Sciences.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full-text versions of scholarly journals and books from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies.

NOTE: Subscription covers access to journals only.
Gale Databases This link opens in a new window
View and search all the Gale research databases subscribed by NTU Libraries. These databases cover a wide range of multi-disciplinary subjects (eg. literature, history and culture) and provide full-text, digital images of books, primary sources, state papers, encyclopedias and specialized reference sources. Some of the databases are cross searchable.

Specialist Sites

There are a large number of academic and authoritative websites that curate, gather and provide links and directories to sources of academic information and grey literature.

The selection below lists a couple of the more relevant ones for English Literature in general. These sites also tend to have resources for other humanities and social sciences, due to their generalist nature.

The British Academy
This site covers not just literature, but also other Humanities and Social Sciences, curating writings, publications, videos, blogs, events, and also contact lists of prominent academics in the field.
A Celebration of Women Writers
This website allows access to the bibliographical and biographical information about women writers from all over the world.
Contemporary Postcolonial and Post-Imperial Literature in English
This site includes biographical and bibliographical information about authors in various former colonies including Singapore.
Shakespeare Resource Center
This is an annotated guide to Shakespeare resources available on the Internet. It includes primary documents, reviews of web sites, books and DVDs, as well as the texts of significant introductions to editions of the bard’s works.
Romantic Circles
An academic peer-reviewed website dedicated to Romantic literature and culture, published by the University of Maryland
Introduction to Modern Literary Theory
This website offers concise explanations of literary theories.
Darkness Visible
This website dedicated to Milton’s Paradise Lost, was set up by students at Christ Church college Cambridge, UK, the college where Milton studied in 1625-1632, to celebrate the poet’s 400th birthday in 2008. The website is intended for students reading Paradise Lost for the first time and provides a host of resources including guides to the poem’s plot, characters and language, the critical reception of the poem over the years and the cultural and historical milieu in which Milton wrote.
The Oxford Text Archives
The OTA collects, catalogues, preserves and distributes high-quality digital resources for research and teaching. They currently hold thousands of texts in more than 25 different languages, and are actively working to extend the catalogue of holdings. The OTA relies upon deposits from the wider community as the primary source of high-quality materials.

Full Text Archives

Project Gutenberg
This site was established by volunteers to provide free access to ebooks of cultural works. Currently there are 42,000 ebooks from leading publishers available for free download.
Jane Austen's Fiction Manuscripts Digital Edition
A project of the University of Oxford and Kings College London, this site is an archive of images of original manuscripts. The material includes excerpts from Austen’s novels as well as other material written by Austen from the age of 12.
Poetry Magazines
Full text digital library of twentieth and twenty-first century UK poetry magazines.
BBC Archives: In Their Own Words
This site is an archive of BBC interviews with some of the twentieth century’s most-read authors.
The Poetry Archive
This site provides brings poetry alive with an A-Z of English language poets reading their own works. It includes historic recordings and interviews.
The Complete Works of William Shakespeare