Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is Corpus Linguistics?
This guide contains some recommended resources on Corpus linguistics. Corpus linguistics is the empirical study of language as it occurs naturally, and not as is prescribed by theoretical rules and structures. Corpus linguistics uses corpora, or empirical collections of written and/or spoken text, to discern naturally occurring patterns and features of language use. [Details]
Source: Stoica, I. (2013). Corpus Linguistics. Research Starters: Education (Online Edition).
The corpus architecture and web interface on this site were created by Mark Davies, Professor of Linguistics at Brigham Young University. You can find corpora like BNC, COCA and others here. There is a search limit on the corpora unless you register for an account. NTU users may register at https://www.english-corpora.org/profile_new.asp before logging in via the library link above.
British National Corpus (BYU-BNC)
The corpora contains samples of written and spoken language that is meant to represent a wide cross-section of current British English, both spoken and written. There is a search limit on the corpora unless you register for an account. NTU users may register at https://www.english-corpora.org/profile_new.asp before logging in via the library link above.
American National Corpus
The Open American National Corpus (OANC) is a massive electronic collection of American English, including texts of all genres and transcripts of spoken data produced from 1990 onward. All data and annotations are fully open and unrestricted for any use.
International Corpus of English (ICE)
Contains electronic corpora of national or regional variety of English from various international research teams from Singapore, Hong Kong, India, Canada and other countries.
Books on corpora
The Routledge Handbook of Corpus Linguistics by
Publication Date: 2010-04-05
This handbook is structured around six themes which take the reader through building and designing a corpus to using a corpus to study literature and translation.
Corpus Linguistics by
Publication Date: 2011-10-06
This book outlines the basic methods of corpus linguistics, explains how the discipline of corpus linguistics developed and surveys the major approaches to the use of corpus data. It uses a broad range of examples to show how corpus data has led to methodological and theoretical innovation in linguistics in general.
Practical Corpus Linguistics by
Publication Date: 2016-02-16
This book provides a practical and student-friendly guide to corpus linguistics that explains the nature of electronic data and how it can be collected and analyzed. Designed to equip readers with the technical skills necessary to analyze and interpret language data, both written and (orthographically) transcribed Introduces a number of easy-to-use, yet powerful, free analysis resources consisting of standalone programs and web interfaces
Corpus Linguistics by
Call Number: P98.M141
Publication Date: 2001-03-15
This book introduces readers to what a corpus is, how corpora are constructed, and what can be done with them. Each chapter ends with a section of study questions that contain practical corpus-based exercises.Designed for student use, with all technical terms explained in the text and referenced further in a Glossary. Examples are taken from existing corpora; detailed case study chapter included.
Corpus Linguistics and the Description of English by
Call Number: PE1422.L747
Publication Date: 2009-12-07
A lively hands-on introduction to the use of electronic corpora in the description and analysis of English, this book provides an ideal introduction for university students of English at the intermediate level. After introducing corpora and the rationale and basic methodology of corpus linguistics, the author presents a number of case studies providing new insights into vocabulary, collocations, phraseology, metaphor and metonymy, syntactic structures, male and female language, and languagechange.