Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Here's a selection of titles on Linguistics. E-books may be found on the library catalogue just like print titles and are accessible via links in the catalogue record. Electronic reference works such as dictionaries, encyclopedia and handbooks are also available through selected databases.
Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics by
Call Number: P29.E56 V1 to P29.E56 V14
Publication Date: c2006 (2nd ed.)
This is the second edition of a scholarly reference work in linguistics and language studies.
While it treats the core areas of linguistics (e.g., syntax, phonetics, phonology) quite thoroughly, it also covers related topics in other fields such as anthropology, psychology, religion, medicine, and law.
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the Language Sciences by
Call Number: P29.C178
Publication Date: 2010-11-15
The volume is aimed at readers who have an interest in some aspect of language science but wish to learn more about the broad range of ideas, findings, practices, and prospects that constitute this rapidly expanding field, a field arguably at the center of current research on the human mind and human society.
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics (2nd edition) by
Publication Date: 2004
The Encyclopedia encompasses the full range of topics in linguistics, including such areas as historical, comparative, formal, mathematical, functional, philosophical, and sociolinguistics. Special attention is given to interrelations within these branches of the field and to relations of linguistics with other disciplines
Multiple Globalizations: Linguistic Landscapes in World-Cities by
Publication Date: 2018-12-06
This work studies aspects of the symbolic construction of public spaces by means of linguistic resources (i.e. linguistic landscapes or LLs) in a number of world-cities. The authors study the configurations of these influences, which they conceptualize as multiple globalization, in the LLs of downtowns, residential quarters, and marginal neighborhoods of a number of world-cities. They ask how far worldwide codes of communication gain preeminence and how national languages are marginalized.
The Oxford Handbook of Linguistic Fieldwork by
Publication Date: 2012-02-20
This book is about dying languages and vanishing dialects and it introduces the methods and approaches needed to understand a language in its full cultural context and how to document it.
Key Ideas in Linguistics and the Philosophy of Language by
Call Number: P107.K44e
Publication Date: 2009-01-19
This book offers introductory entries on 80 ideas that have shaped the study of language up to the present day. Entries are written by experts in the fields of linguistics and the philosophy of language to reflect the full range of approaches and modes of thought.
The World Atlas of Language Structures by
Call Number: G1046.E3W927 + 1 CD
Publication Date: 2005-10-06
The World Atlas of Language Structures is a book and CD combination displaying the structural properties of the world's languages. World maps display the geographical distribution of features of pronunciation and grammar, such as number of vowels, tone systems, gender, plurals, tense, word order, and body part terminology.
Dictionaries & Encyclopedia
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Linguistics by
Publication Date: 2014
The third edition of The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Linguistics is an authoritative and invaluable reference source covering every aspect of its wide-ranging field. In 3,250 entries the Dictionary spans grammar, phonetics, semantics, languages (spoken and written), dialects, andsociolinguistics.
Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics by
Publication Date: 2009-02-24
David Crystal's A Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics has long been the standard single-volume reference for its field. Now available in its sixth edition, it has been revised and updated to reflect the latest terms in the field. It also provides a unique insight into the historical development of linguistics.
Oxford English Dictionary by
Publication Date: [Oxford, England] : Oxford University Press, c2000-
You can find present-day meanings in the OED, but you can also find the history of individual words, and of the language—traced through 3 million quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.
Compendium of the World's Languages by
Call Number: P371.C187 V1 & P371.C187 V2
Publication Date: 2000-09-05
This is a general survey covering a wide spectrum of the world's languages - from all language families. The articles in the Compendium are arranged to encourage and allow comparative study - showing how each language has its own characteristic profile, and illustrating how it actually works.