It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Language Documentation: eResources
A brief overview of resources for language documentation
DIHA is a research and development cluster at NTU College of Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences (CoHASS), NTU Singapore. The focus of this site is to highlight the role of languages in intangible heritage and to capture the vibrant cultural and linguistic fusion of the Asia-Pacific region through interdisciplinary lenses.
This site contains materials for the field elicitation of semantics and and the field collection of verbal behaviour. It is compiled by the Language and Cognition department at the Max Planck Institute for Psycholinguistics.
This resource provides information for over 7000 of the world’s known living languages. It covers mainly language statistics as well as maps and bibliographic references. Our subscription includes Country Digests and Premium Maps.
- Premium Maps is an interactive feature that allow you to see where a language is spoken. You can see these from the Map tab on any language page. Do not be confused with the high-resolution, watermark-free map that needs to be purchased separately. Click here to see more info about Premium Maps
Streaming video collection for the visual study of human behaviour and culture. Contains classic and contemporary documentaries produced by leading video producers in the discipline, previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field, and select feature films.
If you need to look up a linguistic term or need a quick explanation of a concept, you can use Oxford Reference to retrieve dictionary entries easily. Click Subject from the top bar and click "linguistics" for a list of ebooks related to the subject.
Oxford Handbooks Online provides over 500 handbook titles in the subject areas of Philosophy, Political Science, Linguistics and more. Simply type in your keywords in the search box to search for scholarly articles on your topic.
In the age of mobile phones, the remaining "speakers" of a dying whistling language try to preserve a vital means of communication over vast distances. (Published by Time Magazine on May 21, 2013)
This video is targeted at researchers doing linguistic anthropology and it covers the diverse linguistic and cultural practices around the world. The narrative text transcript provided within the film database in Alexander Street Press's Ethnographic Video Online is a useful addition. Whistle language and drum language are some of the interesting language varieties covered in this short film. Highly recommended for students interested in endangered languages as well as language change and language documentation.
The online edition of the Atlas is complementary to the print edition "Atlas of the world's languages in danger" (call no.: P40.5.L33A881) published by UNESCO.
This site lists endangered languages via an interactive Atlas.
The mandate of this programme by SOAS, University of London, is to document and preserve endangered languages by funding scholars worldwide to conduct field work and to archive their documentary collections and make them freely available.
The Endangered Language Archive (ELAR) is a digital repository preserving and publishing endangered language documentation materials from around the world. The materials held are digital, and are freely available (after free registration).
A non-profit research institute focused on documenting endangered languages. They conduct linguistic fieldwork, publish scientific papers, run digital training workshops to empower language activists, and collaborate with speakers to release online tools.