Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Here are some selected titles on Journalism. Books are a good source for comprehensive information or an overview of a topic. The books introduced here include both print and e-books. To browse more titles, please check our library catalogue,
The Data Journalism Handbook by
Call Number: PN4731.D232
Publication Date: 2012-08-04
Through a collection of tips and techniques from leading journalists, professors, software developers, and data analysts collected in this book, you'll learn how data can be either the source of data journalism or a tool with which the story is told--or both.
The Broadcast Journalism Handbook by
Call Number: PN4784.B75H885 + 1 CD
Publication Date: 2007-04-01
'The Broadcast Journalism Handbook' is an essential guide to students and practitioners in broadcast journalism, general journalism and media studies.
The Handbook of Global Online Journalism by
Call Number: PN4784.O62H236
Publication Date: 2012-09-25
The Handbook to Global Online Journalism features a collection of readings from international practitioners and scholars that represent a comprehensive and state-of-the-art overview of the relationship between the internet and journalism around the world. Provides a state-of-the-art overview of current research and future directions of online journalism Traces the evolution of journalistic practices, business models, and shifting patterns of journalistic cultures that have emerged around the world with the migration of news online
Handbook of Social Media Management by
Publication Date: 2013-05-28
In this handbook, international experts present a comprehensive account of the latest developments in social media research and management, consistently linking classical media management with social media. The book’s main sections address forms and content of social media; impact and users; management with social media; and a new value chain with social media.
The Routledge Companion to Digital Journalism Studies by
Call Number: PN4784.O62R869
Publication Date: 2016-11-02
This companion explores a developing scholarly agenda committed to understanding digital journalism and brings together the work of key scholars seeking to address key theoretical concerns and solve unique methodological riddles.
Journalism Ethics for the Digital Age by
Call Number: PN4756.M958
Publication Date: 2014-06-30
Journalism Ethics for the Digital Age traces the ethics of journalism from their origins in philosophy to the new challenges brought about by digital technology, with practical examples to show how ethical values and principles can play out in the real world. An invaluable tool for ethical decision-making, this is a book for professional journalists and citizen journalists, for students in the disciplines of journalism, media, communications, and applied ethics, and for the engaged reader everywhere.
Fake News by
Publication Date: 2017-11-08
Fake News: Falsehood, fabrication and fantasy in journalismexamines the causes and consequences of the 'fake news' phenomenon now sweeping the world's media and political debates. Drawing on three decades of research and writing on journalism and news media, leading scholar Brian McNair engages with the fake news phenomenon in accessible, insightful language designed to bring clarity and context to a complex and fast-moving debate.
The Survival Guide to Journalism by
Call Number: PN4797.S993
Publication Date: 2010-08-01
This essential survival manual to print and online media journalism explores the personal qualities and skills needed to break into this exciting but often uncertain field. It considers the current state of expanding media, routes into the industry, and the pros and cons of being a staff journalist or freelance.
Broadcast News by
Call Number: PN4784.B75S834 2005
Publication Date: 2004-07-16
Broadcast News has been by far the most widely used radio and television journalism textbook in America, according to a study conducted at Syracuse University. Broadcast News uses many, many more examples -- including its well known "weak" vs. "better" examples -- than any other journalism textbook. Almost all its examples are actual, real-world examples taken from television and radio stations -- small and large -- throughout the United States.
Encyclopedia of Social Networks by
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Provides a thorough introduction to the wide-ranging, fast-developing field of social networking, a much-needed resource at a time when new social networks or "communities" seem to spring up on the internet every day. This reference resource offers comprehensive coverage of the theory and research within the social sciences that has sprung from the analysis of such groupings, with accompanying definitions, measures, and research.
Encyclopedia of Journalism by
Publication Date: 2009-09-25
The Encyclopedia of Journalism covers all significant dimensions of journalism including: print, broadcast, and Internet journalism; U.S. and international perspectives; and history, technology, legal issues and court cases, ownership, and economics.
The International Encyclopedia of Political Communication by
Publication Date: 2015-12-14
The International Encyclopedia of Political Communication is the definitive single-source reference work on the subject, with state-of-the-art and in-depth scholarly reflection on the key issues within political communication from leading international experts. It is available both online and in print. Explores pertinent/salient topics within political science, sociology, psychology, communication and many other disciplines Theory, empirical research and academic as well as professional debate are widely covered in this truly international and comparative work