Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History: eResources

This is a guide to provide information to students of the History programme in NTU's School of Humanities.

About

Below is a selection of electronic resources (eResources) related to History. These e-resources may include full-text journal articles, bibliographies, reference materials and others, and you can access them either from their journal pages, or from expansive databases that aggregate resources from multiple journals or sources.

This page is divided into three major sections - on the left are Journals, in the middle are Databases and on the right are Government Websites and other general sites.

The Journals section list a few journals that are well known in History research. Full Text Archives lists resources of mostly literary texts that are no longer copyrighted and can be made available online for free for everyone.

General Databases section lists down popular academic databases in the discipline - your research should start from one of these. Primary Source Databases are databases specializing in providing primary source materials like manuscripts, books and texts from historical periods, or historical news articles.

Government Sites are self explanatory, leading to sites where primary source data is provided by government agencies. General Sites lists resources and websites of resources curated by societies or academic groups that can provide more information than what is in the Library's databases.

For each of the eResources listed, simply click on the title to access it directly. A brief description of each eResource and its access information is also included to give you an idea of the data or time coverage. 

To browse more eResources, please visit our A-Z collections listing, or ask a librarian for a recommendation.

Full Text or Image Archives

General Databases

Primary Source Databases

Singapore Government Websites

General Sites