Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Below is a selection of books on the discipline of History. Some of the titles listed here provide an overview of the subject, whereas others offer in-depth analysis on specific topics. As a student, you will mostly be using books on historical and critical analyses. This page will focus and list titles in the Library's collection that fall under the areas of handbooks, dictionaries, and encyclopedias. This is a selection aims to provide you with a starting place for research.
The books included here comprises of both print and e-books. For print books, a call number is included so that you can find them in the library.
To browse more titles, please visit our library catalog, or ask a librarian for a recommendation.
Short on time? Quick links to books in the Library's collections are listed here:
Full-text of journal articles and books from Cambridge University Press.
Oxford Scholarship Online
E-book platform providing access to thousands of books published by Oxford University Press (OUP). Includes subjects across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law.
NOTE: Excludes bibliographies, handbook and reference titles.
Oxford English Dictionary Widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language, the Oxford English Dictionary is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words past and presentfrom across the English-speaking world. As a historical dictionary, you can find the history of individual words, and of the languagetraced through 3 million quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.
Why are dictionaries useful?
The definitions of specific literary jargon can be confusing, and are sometimes used in other humanities or social sciences (like in Mass Communication, or Linguistics) but with a different meaning.
Dictionaries provide you with proper context of how a term is used in History, and saves you the embarrassment of submitting an essay based on a mistaken definition. There are many dictionaries specific for literary criticism beyond those listed below in our collection.
The Palgrave Dictionary of Transnational History by
Publication Date: 2016-04-30
Written and edited by many of the world's foremost scholars of transnational history, this Dictionary challenges readers to look at the contemporary world in a new light. Contains over 400 entries on transnational subjects such as food, migration and religion, as well as traditional topics such as nationalism and war.
A Dictionary of World History by
Publication Date: 2007-03-09
This wide-ranging dictionary contains a wealth of information on all aspects of history, from prehistory right up to the present day. Over 4,000 clear, concise entries include biographies of key figures in world history, separate entries for every country in the world (summarising key historical events), and subject entries on religious and political movements, international organizations, and key battles and places. The book also contains twenty-five detailed maps linked to key historical events and topics.
Historical Dictionary of Ancient Southeast Asia by
Call Number: DS524.M636
Publication Date: 2006-12-21
Covering the countries of Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam during the period from the first to the fifteenth century, the Historical Dictionary of Ancient Southeast Asia helps us comprehend the vast and complex history of the region through a chronology, a glossary, a bibliography, an introduction, appendixes, maps, photographs, diagrams, and hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries.
Dictionary of the Modern Politics of Southeast Asia by
Call Number: DS526.7.L527 2001
Publication Date: 2001-01-29
This comprehensive Dictionary provides descriptive and analytical coverage of the turbulent political history and striking changes which have occurred both regionally and in key countries since the end of the Second World War. Including new entries, updated country profiles on Indonesia, Malaysia and Cambodia and a revised reading list, leading authority and commentator on this rapidly developing region Michael Leifer has brought this Dictionary fully up-to-date. Individual entries provide detailed information and authoritative commentary on the central figures, political parties and organizations, political systems and structures, major events and key documents.
Why not Wikipedia?
Wikipedia is actually just an online, general encyclopedia. So should you use Wikipedia in your academic work?
The answer is no. Encyclopedias published by academic publishers are curated and vetted by authorised academics and experts, and aim to provide detailed examinations and analyses on very specific topics. Wikipedia, on the other hand, is curated by anonymous contributors or unverified experts, and aims to provide general knowledge for the public.
Do use the encyclopedias in the Library's collection instead of Wikipedia to get access to well-rounded and detailed examinations of core concepts and theories that can help you develop your arguments and essays, to lend more weight and authority to your arguments.
Southeast Asia by
Call Number: DS524.S727
Publication Date: 2004-10-13
An in-depth, historical encyclopedia of Southeast Asia, with coverage from prehistoric times to the end of the 20th century for each country in the region, and has over 800 A-Z entries covering a wide range of diverse historical topics from the Bataan Death March to the Ramayana.
Encyclopedia of Islamic Civilisation and Religion by
Publication Date: 2013-12-19
The Encyclopedia of Islamic Civilization and Religion provides scholarly coverage of the religion, culture and history of the Islamic world, at a time when that world is undergoing considerable change and is a focus of international study and debate. The Encyclopedia of Islamic Civilization and Religion provides an extremely rich resource for students and researchers in religious studies and Middle Eastern studies. Entries are cross-referenced and bibliographies are provided.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History by
Call Number: HQ1121
Publication Date: 2008-01-23
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History captures the experiences of women throughout world history in a comprehensive, 4-volume work. Although there has been extensive research on women in history by region, no text or reference work has comprehensively covered the role women haveplayed throughout world history. The past thirty years have seen an explosion of research and effort to present the experiences and contributions of women not only in the Western world but across the globe. Historians have investigated womens daily lives in virtually every region and have researched the leadership roles women havefilled across time and region. They have found and demonstrated that there is virtually no historical, social, or demographic change in which women have not been involved and by which their lives have not been affected. The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History benefits greatly from theseefforts and experiences, and illuminates how women worldwide have influenced and been influenced by these historical, social, and demographic changes. The Encyclopedia contains over 1,300 signed articles arranged in an A-Z format for ease of use. The entries cover six main areas: biographies; geography and history; comparative culture and society, including adoption, abortion, performing arts; organizations and movements, such as the EgyptianUprising, and the Paris Commune; womens and gender studies; and topics in world history that include slave trade, globalization, and disease. With its rich and insightful entries by leading scholars and experts, this reference work is sure to be a valued, go-to resource for scholars, college andhigh school students, and general readers alike.
Encyclopedia of Social History by
Call Number: HN28.E56
Publication Date: 1993-12-01
A reference surveying the major concerns, findings, and terms of social history. The coverage includes major categories within social history (family, demographic transition, multiculturalism, industrialization, nationalism)
Colonial America by
Call Number: E162.C719
Publication Date: 2006-05-15
"Colonial America: An Encyclopedia of Social, Political, Cultural, and Economic History" includes content on the people, institutions, ideas, and events of the first three hundred years of American history. Entries also cover Canada, the American Southwest and Mexico, and the Caribbean and Atlantic world directly impacting the history of the thirteen colonies. It includes: thematic essays on major issues and topics; detailed A-Z entries on hundreds of people, institutions, events, and ideas; thematic and regional chronologies; hundreds of illustrations; primary documents; and a glossary and multiple indexes.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History by
Publication Date: 2003-10-16
The encyclopedia contain the following types of articles:- Country and regional essays. DT Major essays on abstract concepts. DT Major essays on institutions, phenomena, and historical processes. DT Shorter essays on abstract concepts. DT Shorter essays on concrete facts, institutions, events, and phenomena. DT Important names from both technology and business, along with economic historians of note. The encyclopedia is divided not only by chronological and geographic boundaries, but by related subfields such as agricultural history, demographic history, business history, and the history of technology.
History and Singapore
Beyond Description by
Publication Date: 2004-08-02
This book addresses issues of space, historicity, architecture and textuality by focusing on Singapore's singular position in the region and as a global city. The articles consider how various experiences of Singapore, both from within and from outside, help to complicate existing assumptions about global urbanism, postcolonialism, and architectural theory while producing challenging new ideas from a variety of disciplines concerned with how space, historicity, architecture and textuality inform one another.
Publication Date: 2007-02-12
Taking ideas and frameworks from philosophy, psychology, political science, cultural studies and anthropology, this book tells the larger 'truth' about the Singapore state. This book argues that this strong hegemonic state achieves effective rule not just from repressive policies but also through a combination of efficient government, good standard of living, tough official measures and popular compliance. Souchou Yao looks at the reasons behind the hegemonic ruling, examining key events such as the caning of American teenager Michael Fay, the judicial ruling on fellatio and unnatural sex, and Singapore's 'war on terror' to show the ways in which the State manages these events to ensure the continuance of its power and ideological ethos. Lively, and well-written, this book discusses key subject areas such as: leftist radicalism and communist insurgency nation-building as trauma Western 'yellow culture' and Asian Values judicial caning and the meaning of pain the law and oral sex food and the art of lying cinema as catharsis Singapore after September 11.
Communitarian Ideol Singapore by
Publication Date: 2002-03-11
The economic success of Singapore has established the country as a model for other nations. Yet until now the ideas behind this accomplishment have not been critically examined. Communitarian Ideology and Democracy in Singaporefills this gap. The book outlines the policies the ruling party has adopted over the past three decades. It charts the government's move away from Western concepts towards the evolution of 'Asian democracy'. The author analyses this anti-liberal democracy and the government's motives for repackaging cultural heritage into a national ideology of Asian communitarianism. This book avoids the polarization that has tended to characterise texts on Asian governments. It neither concentrates on a history of authoritarian repression nor unequivocally praises the regime but critically examines its political success. As such it provides a new and balanced account to the student of Singapore politics.
The Politics of Multiculturalism by
Publication Date: 2001-01-01
This timely volume brings together fifteen leading specialists of the region to consider the impact of two generations of nation-building and market-making on pluralism and citizenship in these deeply divided Asian societies. Examining the new face of pluralism from the perspective of markets, politics, gender, and religion, the studies show that each country has developed a strikingly different response to the challenges of citizenship and diversity.