Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This database helps learners of English improve their English in specific areas such as listening, speaking, reading and writing. Besides English Language learning, this resource also gives learners tips on career preparation and study skill success.
Contains 6 modules on English Language learning and one module each for career preparation and study skill success.
Access these modules: Active Reading
| Clear Pronunciation
| Practical Writing
| Road To IELTS
| Study Skills Success
| Tense Buster
NOTE: Best viewed with Chrome v51 or later, Firefox v47 or later, Safari v9.0 or later, Edge v40 or later. Road To IELTS, Study Skills Success & Tense Buster no longer supported by IE.
→ Concurrent users: 5
→ Available to current NTU staff and students only
Oxford English Dictionary
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world. You can find present-day meanings in the OED, but you can also find the history of individual words, and of the language.
Cambridge Dictionaries Online
Select any English or translation dictionary to search in that dictionary. This site from Cambridge University Press also contains dictionaries for English language learners at all levels. They're ideal for anyone preparing for Cambridge English exams and IELTS.
Access over 5000 newspapers and magazines from 100+ countries in 60+ languages in full colour, full page format. Registered library users can use the PressReader app remotely for 7 days before they have to authenticate again by connecting their device to the NTU Wi-Fi network. App set up must be completed on campus. We recommend downloading issues using your NTU network account while on campus. Note that PressReader only provides access to the last 2 months of each publication.
The Straits Times, Lianhe Zaobao, The Business Times and other SPH newspapers are not available via PressReader.
If you need to look up a term or need a quick explanation of a concept, you can use Oxford Reference to retrieve dictionary entries easily. Click Subject from the top bar and click “linguistics” for a list of ebooks related to the subject.
Example: Hinton, L.(2003). Endangered Languages. In International Encyclopedia of Linguistics. : Oxford University Press.