Skip to main content

Electrical & Electronic Engineering: Home

This guide provides an overview of the key resources in EEE

Need help?

Ask-a-Librarian

  • Enquiries about Library Resources
  • Requests for New Resources
  • Library Orientation & Tours
  • Instructional Classes
  • Research Assistance

Get Expert Advice
Contact information experts for advice and consultation on your papers and research needs

Contact Us
Email: library@ntu.edu.sg
Tel: (65) 6790 5776
WhatsApp: (65) 8395 0629

Consult Library FAQ

Get Easy Access to Full Text
Install this bookmarklet to get easy access to articles or e-books subscribed by NTU Library

Visit NTU Library Homepage

About this guide

This guide is created to serve as a general and introductory guide for those who are interested, or are currently studying or researching in Electrical and Electronic Engineering. It contains selected resources curated by the librarians to get you started on the different topics in the discipline,

This LibGuide is structured as such: the selected resources are divided into separate sections of Books (including print and e-book) and eResources (includes e-Journals, online archives, and other online databases). A link directly to the resources is included, and in the case of print materials, a link to our Library Catalogue is included instead. Quick links to our library services and our contact details are featured here as well. 

Other than the resources mentioned above, this guide also includes the page Student Works and Faculty Publications, which will show you how to browse and search our institutional repository to find past student works and our faculty publications.

Please bear in mind that this is not intended as a comprehensive guide

Introduction to EEE

The word electroniks is derived from the Greek word Elektron, which means the study of behavior of an electron under different conditions of an externally applied field. The Institution of Radio Engineers gave the standard definition of electronics in the proceedings of IRE Volume 38 (1950) as “that field of science and engineering which deals with the study, design and use of devices which deals with the conduction of electricity through a gas, vacuum or semiconductor.”

The development of Integrated Circuits (IC) in 1961 was a great achievement in the field of electronics and after that rapid developments were made in the IC technology[1].

Read these interesting articles on EEE:

1. Comparison of electrical “engineering” of Heaviside’s times and software “engineering” of our times [available in IEEE Explore database]

2. From large technical systems to technological complexes [available in IEEE Explore database]

Reference 1. R.S. Sedha, A textbook of applied electronics, rev. ed., New Delhi: S Chand & Company, 2006 Available in Lee Wee Nam Engineering and Science Library; Call no: TK7816.S445