Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is an academic journal?
An academic journal is a peer-reviewed periodical that contains research articles on a specific subject area. It serves as the medium for research dissemination, with content ranging from original research, review articles, and book reviews. Some renowned journals in Art & Design are listed down below.
Psychology of Aesthetics, Creativity, and the Arts
Psychology of Aesthetics, Creativity, and the Arts is devoted to promoting scholarship on the psychology of the production and appreciation of the arts and all aspects of creative endeavor. The journal publishes manuscripts presenting original empirical research and papers that synthesize and evaluate extant research that relate to the psychology of aesthetics, creativity, and the arts.
The Design Journal: An International Journal for All Aspects of Design
The journal contains timely research from across the globe and is the prime source of information for practitioners and academics in design, branding and marketing communications
The Journal of Aesthetics and Art Criticism
The journal publishes current research articles, symposia, special issues, and timely reviews of books in aesthetics and the philosophy of art. The philosophy of art includes scholarship examining the nature, meaning and value of the arts, considered generally or individually, where the arts are taken in the broadest possible sense. Aesthetics includes work on aesthetic experiences and values wherever they are found both in and beyond the arts.
Design Week is a UK-based magazine, reporting on various aspects of the design industry, such as news, commentaries and design jobs, and showcasing the best new international work.
Leonardo is the leading international peer-reviewed journal on the use of contemporary science and technology in the arts and music and, increasingly, the application and influence of the arts and humanities on science and technology.
PAJ: A Journal of Performance and Art
PAJ explores innovative work in theatre, performance art, dance, video, writing, technology, sound, and music, bringing together all live arts in thoughtful cultural dialogue. Issues include critical essays, artists’ writings, interviews, plays, drawings, and notations, with extended coverage of performance, festivals, and books.
The first American academic journal to examine design history, theory, and criticism, Design Issues provokes inquiry into the cultural and intellectual issues surrounding design. Regular features include theoretical and critical articles by professional and scholarly contributors, extensive book and exhibition reviews, and visual sequences.
Associations & Organisations
Associations in Singapore
UK Design Council
Search or browse current or back issues for current events, lead stories, case studies from this UK non-departmental public body, as well as easy access to a directory of Web resources pertaining to all aspects of design.
Browse these museum websites to view their exhibition items, virtual exhibitions, and hi-res images of several prominent artworks.
Searchable database of more than 2.4 million digital images and associated catalog data. Covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture. Users can search, view, and download images.
→ Concurrent users: Unlimited
→ Available to current NTU staff and students | Restricted onsite access for NIE staff & students, associate members -- please approach the staff at the Lee Wee Nam Library service desk for assistance
Full-text versions of scholarly journals and books from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies.
NOTE: Subscription covers access to journals only.
→ Concurrent users: Unlimited
→ Available to current NTU staff, students, as well as alumni
The first Art Newspaper on the Internet.
The Art NewsPaper
Provides a news service about the art world, fed by its network of sister editions, which together have more than 50 correspondents working in more than 30 countries.
Produced by R.BIRD, a New York identity and design consulting firm.
Features competitions, interviews, works on art, architecture & design and also offers online courses.
Other Online Resources
Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
SSRN is an online pre-print (manuscripts prior to peer-review) database, specializing primarily in papers on social sciences.
Google Arts & Culture
An online platform through which the public can access high-resolution images of artworks housed in the initiative's partner museums.
We Love Typography
A curated gallery of type-related content, developed in collaboration between John Boardley (I love Typography) and Kari Pätilä. It contains a search engine, which allows users to search for type examples.
Canva's Font Combinations
An online tool to help you find font combinations