What is an academic journal?
An academic journal is a peer-reviewed periodical that contains research articles on a specific subject area. It serves as the medium for research dissemination, with content ranging from original research, review articles, and book reviews. Some renowned journals in Art & Design are listed down below.
What are Databases?
To refresh your memory, databases are basically websites or platforms with information, sometimes thematically collected. These websites normally require you to pay a fee to access the information within. To assist in research and coursework, the Library pays the subscription fees to provide access to these resources for all users of the NTU community.
What Databases are useful for you?
As students of DD2007, there are two major types of resources that will be of use to you. The first would be primary source databases that provide you access to images or descriptions of the original artwork or commentary of the artwork from the long century. The second would be secondary source databases and e-journals that provide contemporary academic discussion and analyses on the above topics or pieces of art.
This page will list several of these that can serve as research starters for the purpose of your course. Do remember to refer to the books section for more resources!
There are two parts to this resource:
Part I New Readerships: Womens, Childrens, Humour and Leisure/Sport.
This collection marks the advent of commercial lifestyle publishing in Britain and charts the rapid rise of modern magazine culture.
Part II Empire: Travel and Anthropology, Economics, Missionary & Colonial.
This collection focuses on the role Britain played beyond its own borders as an imperial power throughout the nineteenth century.
A searchable database for millions of digital images. Its images collection features painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts and design from various publishers, photographic archives, slide collections, museums and individual scholars.
→ Concurrent users: Unlimited
→ Available to current NTU staff and students | Restricted onsite access for NIE staff & students, associate members -- please approach the staff at the Lee Wee Nam Library service desk for assistance
International news database produced by Dow Jones. Combines over 32,000 sources from 200 countries in 28 languages. Includes newspapers, newswires, industry publications, websites, company reports, and more. Searching requires an understanding of Boolean operators; see more info here.
NOTE: To share a direct link to an article in Factiva -- use this Factiva Persistent Link Generator. Such links cannot be accessed by anyone other than current NTU staff/students.
→ Concurrent users: 20
→ Available to current NTU staff and students | Restricted onsite access for NIE staff & students, associate members. Approach the staff at the Lee Wee Nam Library service desk for assistance.
You are expected to comply with University policies and guidelines namely, Appropriate Use of Information Resources Policy, IT Usage Policy and Social Media Policy. Users will be personally liable for any infringement of Copyright and Licensing laws. Unless otherwise stated, all guide content is licensed by CC BY-NC 4.0.