LibGuides: Communication Research: eResources

Journals

What is an academic journal?

An academic journal is a peer-reviewed periodical that contains research articles on a specific subject area. It serves as the medium for research dissemination, with content ranging from original research, review articles, and book reviews. Some renowned journals in Communication Research are listed down below.

For the complete list of e-journals in the library, please click here

Journal of Communication
The Journal of Communication is the flagship journal of the International Communication Association. It concentrates on communication research, practice, policy, and theory, bringing to its readers the latest, broadest, and most important findings in the field of communication studies.
New Media & Society
New Media & Society is an international journal that provides an interdisciplinary forum for the examination of the social dynamics of media and information change.
Communication Research
Communication Research (CR), peer-reviewed and published bi-monthly, has provided researchers and practitioners with the most up-to-date, comprehensive and important research on communication and its related fields. It publishes articles that explore the processes, antecedents, and consequences of communication in a broad range of societal systems. This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).
Human Communication Research
Human Communication Research is one of the official journals of the prestigious International Communication Association. It is a top-ranked communication studies journal and one of the top ten journals in the field of human communication. Major topic areas for the journal include language and social interaction, nonverbal communication, interpersonal communication, organizational communication and new technologies, mass communication, health communication, intercultural communication, and developmental issues in communication.
Communication Theory
A journal of the International Communication Association, Communication Theory is an international forum publishing high quality, original research into the theoretical development of communication from across a wide array of disciplines, such as communication studies, sociology, psychology, political science, cultural and gender studies, philosophy, linguistics, and literature.

Associations and Organisations

Asian Media Information and Communication Centre (AMIC)
Regional media and communication research organization which is located in Wee Kim Wee School of Communication and Information at NTU.
International Communication Association
Academic association for students and researchers interested in the study, teaching, and application of all aspects of human and mediated communication.
Asian Institute for Development Communication (Aidcom)
An independent regional, non-profit media organisation accredited to the United Nations and based in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.
Center for Communication Research
Aims to develop an internationally and regionally recognized program of research and publications at City University of Hong Kong, in the cutting-edge issues facing communication in the Asian context.
Chinese Communication Association
A non-profit organization registered in the State of Minnesota, U.S.A. and designed to serve the Chinese communication research community.
Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication
A nonprofit organization of more than 3,700 educators, students and practitioners from around the globe.
International Association for Media and Communication Research
A worldwide professional organisation in the field of media and communication research
Center for Communication
Independent media forum which aims to bridge the gap between the communications industry and schools.
Centre for Media Literacy
Organisation that is dedicated to the study of media literacy for analyzing media content.

Websites

Media Ethics Magazine
An online magazine discussing issues regarding mass communication ethics.
Media History Digital Library Project
A free online resource, featuring millions of pages of books and magazines from the histories of film, broadcasting, and recorded sound. Led by Eric Hoyt at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.
Infocomm Media Development Authority
IMDA is a statutory board in Singapore that seeks to deepen regulatory capabilities for a converged infocomm media sector, safeguarding the interests of consumers and fostering pro-enterprise regulations.
Ministry of Communications and Information
Ministry of the Singapore Government that oversees the information, communication and arts industries as well as creative economy of Singapore. IMDA is one of the agencies under this ministry.

Core Databases

Factiva This link opens in a new window
International news database produced by Dow Jones. Combines over 32,000 sources from 200 countries in 28 languages. Includes newspapers, newswires, industry publications, websites, company reports, and more. Searching requires an understanding of Boolean operators; see more info here.

NOTE: To share a direct link to an article in Factiva -- use this Factiva Persistent Link Generator. Such links cannot be accessed by anyone other than current NTU staff/students.

→ Concurrent users: 20
→ Available to current NTU staff and students | Restricted onsite access for NIE staff & students, associate members. Approach the staff at the Lee Wee Nam Library service desk for assistance.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC) is probably one of the most comprehensive information source for research related to communication and mass media. It incorporates CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals to create a research and reference resource with impressive scope and depth in the communication and mass media fields.

→ Concurrent users: Unlimited
→ Available to current NTU/NIE staff and students | Restricted onsite access for associate members -- please approach the staff at the Lee Wee Nam Library service desk for assistance

Reference Databases

SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window
Social sciences library platform providing various types of resources published by SAGE. Includes video, books, encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, debates, major works, and business cases.

→ Concurrent users: Unlimited
→ Available to current NTU staff, students, as well as alumni | Restricted onsite access for NIE staff & students, associate members -- please approach the staff at the Lee Wee Nam Library service desk for assistance.
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
A tool to help you explore methods concepts, design research projects, understand a particular method or identify a new method, and write up your findings. Content includes books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, journal articles, and instructional videos, including the classic Little Green Book (quantitative) and Little Blue Book (qualitative) series. There are also collections of case studies of real social research and sample datasets for hands-on practice.

NOTE: Our Library currently subscribes the following:
SAGE Research Methods Books & Reference
SAGE Research Methods Datasets
SAGE Research Methods Cases Part 1
SAGE Research Methods Video
SAGE Research Methods Video: Practical Research & Academic Skills Video

NOTE: The following collections are not available: SAGE Research Methods Cases Part 2, Podcasts, SAGE Research Methods Video: Data Science, Big Data Analytics, & Digital Methods

→ Concurrent users: Unlimited
→ Available to current NTU staff, students, as well as alumni | Restricted onsite access for NIE staff & students, associate members -- please approach the staff at the Lee Wee Nam Library service desk for assistance.

Related Databases

Associated Press Collections Online by Gale This link opens in a new window
Digital access to Associated Press (AP) Corporate Archives, AP Images, and AP Archive. Includes decades' worth of wire copy, correspondence, memos, internal publications, and more.

→ Concurrent users: Unlimited
→ Available to current NTU/NIE staff and students only

Communication Research: eResources

About