Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Below is a selection of books on Communication Research. Books are a good source for comprehensive information or an overview of a topic. The books included here comprises of both print and e-books. For print books, a call number is included so that you can find them in the library.
To browse more titles, please visit our library catalogue, or ask a librarian for a recommendation.
Introducing Communication Research: Paths of Inquiry by
Call Number: P91.3.T784 2017
Publication Date: 2016-01-05
Introducing Communication Research: Paths of Inquiry helps students understand the communication research process from start to finish. The Third Edition has been updated throughout to explain the Internet and social media as tools and topics for communication research. Streamlined, accessible, and with campus-based research examples that students can relate to, this text guides students through the fundamentals of conducting research and presenting research findings for scholarly, professional, news/media, and web audiences.
The Basics of Communication: A Relational Perspective by
Call Number: P90.D834 2012
Publication Date: 2011-01-11
Relational Perspective. Offers an engaging look at the inseparable connection between relationships and communication. The authors, Steve Duck and David T. McMahan, combine theory and application to introduce students to fundamental communication concepts. This book also provides practical instruction on communicating interpersonally, in groups, in interviews and on making effective presentations.
Reaching Audiences: a guide to media writing by
Call Number: P96.A86Y59 2010
Publication Date: 2009-03-24
Reaching Audiences: A Guide to Media Writing is a writing handbook for any student who want a brief yet thorough guide to correct, clear writing for the media. This text stresses the importance of clear, concise, accurate writing in a media world that is increasingly online. The book sets up the writing process and the essential art of editing while reinforcing the importance of the audience in considering the structure of media messages. Illustrative and specific real life examples provide guidance for students in improving their writing. Specific skills related to spelling, grammar, accuracy, word usage, bias, research, interviewing, and other important topics are covered. By recognizing today's ever-changing media environment, this text is grounded in the basics of good writing essential to communicators in print, online, broadcast, and strategic communication.
Copywriting for the Electronic Media: A Practical Guide by
Call Number: HF5825.M495 2009
Publication Date: 2008-01-03
This title provides advice that helps to prepare you to write effective copy for all types of electronic media, with an emphasis on commercial writing and valuable real-world orientation to this exciting field. A brief grammar review illustrates grammar principles as they apply to broadcast writing, helping you refresh these essential skills. Numerous scripts, storyboards, PSAs, and promotional spots present key examples as you learn to write short, persuasive messages for radio, television, and new media. A chapter on "Getting the First Job" reveals what you should expect in entry-level copywriting positions.
Research Methods and Publishing
How to Publish Your Communication Research: An Insider's Guide by
Call Number: PN146.H847H
Publication Date: 2001-09-11
In this title, authors Alison Alexander and W James Potter provide an insider's to getting published in scholarly communication journals. In nine chapters, they and seven other distinguished journal editors explain what editors and reviewers look for when deciding which articles should be published and which should not.
Researching Communications: a practical guide to methods in media and cultural analysis by
Call Number: PR90.R432 2007
Publication Date: 2007-07-27
This book provides a practical, authoritative, step-by-step guide to media and communications studies students taking courses in communications research. The authors also examine the complementary nature of qualitative and quantitative research methods, and aim to show how these techniques hold up in practice. It also incorporates new information on using archives and computers as well as the use of the internet as a resource for research.
The International Encyclopedia of Communication Research Methods by
Publication Date: 2017-11-10
The International Encyclopedia of Communication Research Methods covers all communication research methods, from data collection to data analysis, from qualitative to quantitative, and from classical to modern approaches (such as psychophysiological measures, implicit association tests, and the analysis of big data). It introduces new and advanced methods and measurement tools that have been developed in other fields but which may be useful to communication scholars. This work features content from authors all over the world. Although there is some overlap to methods used in other social sciences (i.e., sociology, anthropology, linguistics, business, and philosophy), there are specific research settings and challenges that communication scholars have to deal with in their day-to-day work. To reflect this, the encyclopedia deals specifically with methods of communication research. It presents all of its information in three comprehensive parts: Foundations of Empirical Research, Methods of Data Collection, and Methods of Data Analysis.
The International Encyclopedia of Communication by
Publication Date: 2008-03-28
The International Encyclopedia of Communication represents the definitive reference work in this interdisciplinary and dynamic field. The entries are divided into 29 editorial areas representing major fields of inquiry within communication, each of which is headed by a leading expert in their respective field Editorial areas include: communication theory and philosophy, interpersonal communication, journalism, intercultural and intergroup communication, media effects, strategic communication/PR, communication and media law and policy, media systems in the world, and communication and technology.
The MIT Encyclopedia of Communication Disorders by
Publication Date: 2003-09-26
A major new reference work with entries covering the entire field of communication and speech disorders. It offers almost 200 detailed entries, covering the entire range of communication and speech disorders in children and adults, from basic science to clinical diagnosis.MITECD is divided into four sections that reflect the standard categories within the field (also known as speech-language pathology and audiology): Voice, Speech, Language, and Hearing. Within each category, entries are organized into three subsections: Basic Science, Disorders, and Clinical Management. Basic Science includes relevant information on normal anatomy and physiology, physics, psychology and psychophysics, and linguistics; this provides a scientific foundation for entries in the other subsections. The entries that appear under Disorders offer information on the definition and characterization of specific disorders, and tools for their identification and assessment. The Clinical Management subsection describes appropriate interventions, including behavioral, pharmacological, surgical, and prosthetic.
Encyclopedia of Communication Theory by
Call Number: P87.5.E56E
Publication Date: 2009-08-18
These two volumes provide a one-stop source for a comprehensive overview of communication theory, offering current descriptions of theories as well as the background issues and concepts that comprise these theories.
Dictionary of Media and Communications by
Call Number: P87.5.D179
Publication Date: 2009-02-15
This authoritative reference provides a complete listing of media concepts, figures, and techniques with illustrations and historical commentaries. Each entry includes a definition in simple, clear language; an illustration where applicable; and, historical commentary (who coined a term for example, why, who uses it, etc.).
Dictionary of Media and Communication studies by
Publication Date: 2006-07-20
The Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies focuses on the exciting world of new media and its social representation. It provides students with a gateway into the study of intercultural communication, public relations and marketing communications. This volume seeks to make its twenty-first century readers more media literate, and how to be critical consumers of modern news.
Quite Literally: problem words and how to use them by
Call Number: PE1464.H631
Publication Date: 2004-07-06
This is a guide to English usage for readers and writers, professional and amateur, established and aspiring, formal trainees and those trying to break in; students of English, both language and literature, and their teachers. It answers questions like: What's an alibi, a bete noire, a celibate, a dilemma? Should underway be two words? Is the word 'meretricious' worth using at all? How do you spell realise - with an s or a z - and should bete be bête?, etc. The advice given can be applied to both formal speech - what is carefully considered, broadcast, presented, scripted or prepared for delivery to a public audience.
The Media and Communication Dictionary: a guide for students, educators, and professionals by
Call Number: P87.5.K64
Publication Date: 2011-06-29
This user-friendly dictionary is a must-have reference for students, educators, and professionals in the field of media and communication. From Wikileaks to the telegraph, this dictionary is designed to help readers understand the latest developments in our media-rich environment as well as fundamental and historically significant terms and concepts. The evolving language, theories, and technologies of the field are explained with extraordinary clarity in an engaging format. Detailed cross-references are provided throughout, along with a helpful index.
A/V A-Z: an encyclopedic dictionary of media, entertainment and other audiovisual terms by
Call Number: P87.5.K93
Publication Date: 2010-04-02
Defining more than 10,000 words and phrases from everyday slang to technical terms and concepts, this dictionary of the audiovisual language embraces more than 50 subject areas within film, television, and home entertainment. It includes terms from the complete lifecycle of an audiovisual work from initial concept through a commercial presentation in all the major distribution channels including theatrical exhibition, television broadcast, home entertainment, and mobile media. The dictionary definitions are augmented by more than 700 illustrations, 1,600 etymologies, and nearly 2,000 encyclopedic entries that provide illuminating anecdotes, historical perspective, and clarifying details that might be missed by a more traditional dictionary. Usage notes provide further guidance where terms might be confused or are commonly misused.