LibGuides: Civil Engineering: Searching for Eurocodes

The Eurocodes suite of codes

The Structural Eurocodes consist of 10 standards in 58 parts. They are:

Eurocode	Title	No of parts
EN 1990	Eurocode 0: Basis of structural design	the head code
EN 1991	Eurocode 1: Actions on structures	10
EN 1992	Eurocode 2: Actions on structures	4
EN 1993	Eurocode 3: Design of steel structures	20
EN 1994	Eurocode 4: Design of composite structures	3
EN 1995	Eurocode 5: Design of timber structures	3
EN 1996	Eurocode 6: Design of masonry structures	4
EN 1997	Eurocode 7: Geotechnical design	2
EN 1998	Eurocode 8: Design for earthquake resistance	6
EN 1999	Eurocode 9: Design of aluminium structures	5

An example of the three parts for Eurocode 4:

Eurocode 4	Title
EN 1994-1-1	General rules and rules for building
EN 1994-1-2	Structural fire design
EN 1994-2	Composite bridges

Searching for Eurocodes @ BSOL

Database List
From the Database List, browse under B or search for British Standards Online (BSOL)

At the search box, for e.g., to access Eurocode 7, you can either do a phrase search with keyword, “eurocode 7” or with the standard number, “en 1997″

Please note Eurocode 7 has 2 parts, i.e., Part 1 and Part 2 and the NAs are related to UK.

Click“Download PDF” to either open or download the document.

Note: Only 3 concurrent users. Please remember to log-out after you have finished your searching.

Searching for Eurocodes adopted by Singapore

Eurocodes adopted and implemented by Spring Singapore (our national standards body) are also available in print format in our library collection. They are published with the prefix “SS”, e.g. Eurocode 4 is published as “SS EN 1994”. Both adopted Eurocodes and related Singapore NAs can be found in our collections by searching at our Library Catalogue by keying in "singapore eurocodes".

Selected Book Titles on Eurocodes

Structural Elements Design Manual by Trevor Draycott; Peter Bullman
ISBN: 9780750686686
Publication Date: 2009-07-02
This book is the structural engineer’s ‘companion volume’ to the four Eurocodes on the structural use of timber, concrete, masonry and steelwork. For the student at higher technician or first degree level it provides a single source of information on the behaviour and practical design of the main elements of the building structure. With plenty of worked examples and diagrams, it is a useful textbook not only for students of structural and civil engineering but also for those on courses in related subjects such as architecture, building and surveying whose studies include the design of structural elements. [As taken from book cover]
Design of composite steel and concrete structures : with worked examples to Eurocode 4 by Chiew, Sing-Ping.
Call Number: TA664.C533d
ISBN: 9789810769475
Publication Date: 2014
The aim of this book is to introduce the European Standards – Eurocodes for structural steel design. The basic principles for design of steel structures according to EN 1993-1-1 General rules and rules for buildings and EN 1993-1-18 Design of joints are summarized. The design procedures and application of freely available tools are demonstrated through worked examples in this book.
Decoding Eurocode 7 by Andrew Bond; Andrew Harris
ISBN: 9780415409483
Publication Date: 2008-10-20
“Decoding Eurocode 7″ provides a detailed examination of Eurocode 7 Parts 1 and 2 and an overview of the associated European and International standards. Information scattered around the Eurocodes is collected into summary tables and diagrams. Extensive, fully annotated worked examples demonstrate how to apply Eurocode 7 to practical design situations. Flow diagrams explain how reliability is introduced into design and mind maps gather related information in a coherent framework.The coverage includes: the Structural Eurocodes; Basis of structural design and general rules for geotechnical design; Ground investigation, testing, and characterization; Verification of strength, stability, and serviceability; Design of slopes and embankments, footings, gravity walls, embedded walls, piles, and anchorages; Execution of geotechnical works; and, Geotechnical reports.
Fatigue Design of Steel and Composite Structures by ECCS - European Convention; Associacao Portuguesa de (Editor); Luis Borges; Laurence Davaine; Alain Nussbaumer
ISBN: 9783433029817
Publication Date: 2011-11-30
This volume addresses the specific subject of fatigue, a subject not familiar to many engineers, but still relevant for proper and good design of numerous steel structures. It explains all issues related to the subject: Basis of fatigue design, reliability and various verification formats, determination of stresses and stress ranges, fatigue strength, application range and limitations. It contains detailed examples of applications of the concepts, computation methods and verifications.
Economic concrete frame elements to Eurocode 2 : a pre-scheme handbook for the rapid sizing and selection of reinforced concrete frame elements in multi-storey buildings designed to Eurocode 2 by Goodchild, C. H.
ISBN: 9781904818540
Publication Date: 2009
The book, which is an update of the BS 8110 version published by the Reinforced Concrete Council in 1997, acts as pre-scheme design handbook for rapid sizing and selection of reinforced concrete elements in multi-storey buildings.
The essential guide to Eurocodes transition by Roberts, John.
ISBN: 9780580694516
Publication Date: 2010
Designers' guide to Eurocode 1 : actions on buildings : EN1991-1-1 and -1-3 to -1-7 by Gulvanessian, H.
ISBN: 9780727731562
Publication Date: 2009
The part of Eurocode 1 covered by this guide, EN 1991-1, addresses the general actions on building and civil engineering structures. This Designers’ Guide looks specifically at actions on buildings, including full explanation, commentary, examples and direction to the National Annex documents on ... sub-parts of the code.
Manual for the geotechnical design of structures to Eurocode 7 : May 2013 by Institution of Structural Engineers (Great Britain)
ISBN: 9781906335236
Publication Date: 2013
The Manual presents a unified design approach to geotechnical engineering and provides guidance across a range of activities, from traditional foundation design to slope stability, retaining wall design, investigation and reporting. The Manual aims to help engineers move from a permissible stress approach to that of the limit state design philosophy, as well as promoting interaction and understanding between structural and geotechnical engineers.
Modern Geotechnical Design Codes of Practice by P. Arnold (Editor); G. A. Fenton (Editor)
ISBN: 9781614991625
Publication Date: 2012
The ground is one of the most highly variable of engineering materials. It is therefore not surprising that geotechnical designs depend on local site conditions and local engineering experience. Engineering practices, relating to investigation and design methods site understanding and to safety levels acceptable to society, will therefore vary between different regions.The challenge in geotechnical engineering is to make use of worldwide geotechnical experience, established over many years, to aid in the development and harmonization of geotechnical design codes. Given the significant uncertainties involved, empiricism and engineering. Implementation and evolution of Eurocode 7 are also covered.

Designers' Guide to Eurocodes ebooks by ICE (Institution of Civil Engineers, UK)
The Designers’ Guides to Eurocodes series provides comprehensive guidance in the form of design aids, indications for the most convenient design procedures and extensive worked examples. The books within the series also include background information to aid the designer in understanding the reasoning behind and the objectives of the codes. All of the individual guides work in conjunction with the Designers’ Guide to EN 1990 Eurocode: Basis of Structural Design.

Civil Engineering: Searching for Eurocodes

Introduction

The Eurocodes suite of codes

Searching for Eurocodes @ BSOL

Searching for Eurocodes adopted by Singapore

Selected Book Titles on Eurocodes