LibGuides: Civil Engineering: Books

Books

The core Civil Engineering book collection is located at Level 5, Lee Wee Nam Library. Most books relating to Civil Engineering are classified with call numbers beginning with TA and also TH.

Here is a list of books on specific civil engineering subjects:

E-books

Browsing by E-book Providers

Providers of e-books in the field of Civil Engineering are listed below. Click on the titles to browse Civil Engineering collections or search for specific topics. You may be asked to login with your NTU network username and password.

Elsevier Reference Works and Book Series
Access is through the database platform Science Direct. Browse the domain Physical Sciences and Engineering and sub-domain Civil and Structural Engineering.
Emerald Insight
Browse the sub-category for Transport. Other relevant sub-categories are Property Management & Built Environment.
Knovel
Browse the subject Civil Engineering & Construction Materials. Other relevant subjects are Transportation Engineering.
Springerlink
Browse the sub-discipline Civil Engineering. Other relevant sub-disciplines are Building Construction and Transportation Technology and Traffic Engineering.
Taylor & Francis
Browse the subject Civil, Environmental and Geotechnical and filter to relevant sub-sections e.g. Concrete & Cement, Foundations & Piling, Geomechanics, Pavement Engineering, Rock Mechanics, etc

Handbooks

The Civil Engineering Handbook by W.F. Chen, J.Y. Richard Liew (Eds.)
ISBN: 9781420041217
Publication Date: 2002
First published in 1995, the award-winning Civil Engineering Handbook soon became known as the field's definitive reference. To retain its standing as a complete, authoritative resource, the editors have incorporated into this edition the many changes in techniques, tools, and materials that over the last seven years have found their way into civil engineering research and practice.
Handbook of Civil Engineering Calculations, Third Edition by Tyler G. Hicks
Call Number: TA332.H236 2016
ISBN: 1259586855
Publication Date: 2016
Handbook of Civil Engineering Calculations, Third Edition, features more than 3,000 logically organized calculations that align with the latest practices, codes, and standards
Steel Designers' Handbook by Branko E. Gorenc; Ron Tinyou; Arun A. Syam
ISBN: 9781742233413
Publication Date: 2013
Fully revised and updated, this eighth edition is an invaluable tool for all practicing structural, civil, and mechanical engineers as well as engineering students.
Steel Detailers' Manual by Alan Hayward; Frank Weare; A. C. Oakhill
Call Number: TA685.H427 2011
ISBN: 1405175214
Publication Date: 2011
The third edition has been revised to take account of the new Eurocodes on structural steel work, together with their National Annexes. The new edition also takes account of developments in 3-D modelling techniques and it includes more CAD standard library details.

Professional Interest

Karl Terzaghi : the engineer as artist by Richard E. Goodman
Call Number: TA140.T36G653
ISBN: 0784403643
Publication Date: 1999
Terzhaghi (1883-1963) is one of the leading civil engineers of the 20th century and is widely known as the father of soil mechanics. His lifelong application of the principles established in his work took him throughout the world to engineering challenges in Communist Russia, Nazi Germany, America, and the entire post-war world.
Eminent Civil Engineers by David K. Doran (Editor)
Call Number: TA139.E53
ISBN: 1870325923
Publication Date: 1999
A collection of contributions from 30 UK and overseas engineers who have influenced civil engineering in recent times. They write about their careers and what encouraged them to be engineers, who inspired them, what they found of interest and the principles that guide them.
Engineering Legends by Richard G. Weingardt
Call Number: TA139.W423
ISBN: 0784408017
Publication Date: 2005
Engineering Legends provides a unique view into the history and progress of 32 of … great American civil engineers, from the 1700s to the present. It explores the personal lives and professional accomplishments of these outstanding engineers, providing an in-depth look at the people behind these achievements.
Who's who in engineering Singapore by Institution of Engineers (Singapore)
Call Number: TA139.H628
ISBN: 9810590970
Publication Date: 2007
Civil Engineer's Handbook of Professional Practice by Karen Hansen; Kent Zenobia
Call Number: TA151.H249
ISBN: 047043841X
Publication Date: 2011
From the challenge of sustainability to the rigors of problem recognition and solving, this book is an essential tool for those practicing civil engineering.

Civil Engineering: Books

About

Books

E-books

Handbooks

Professional Interest