Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Listed below are a selection of newspaper resources. For local newspapers, print is kept for two weeks; older issues can be found online or in microform.
Chinese & English full text Databases 中英文数据库
An online resource for historic Singapore and Malaya newspapers provided by National Library of Singapore. Includes digitised newspapers published since 1831 and the National Library's microfilm catalogue.
International news database produced by Dow Jones. Combines over 32,000 sources from 200 countries in 28 languages. Includes newspapers, newswires, industry publications, websites, company reports, and more.
Chinese news database aggregating 742 Chinese newspapers from Mainland China, Hong Kong, Macau, Taiwan, and other Asia Pacific countries.
Current issues of newspapers and magazines as displayed in their original format and layout. Publications from over 100 countries in 60 languages.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832 - 1953)
A historical source in English language for the study of the society and politics of China within the latter half of the nineteenth century and the first half of the twentieth century.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: South China Morning Post (1903 - 2000)
Digitised access to the South China Morning Post (an English language newspaper published in Hong Kong) which reports on Hong Kong, China, and other countries in Asia. Archives start from 1903.
Gale NewsVault delivers the definitive cross-searching experience for exploring Gales range of historical newspapers. Users can simultaneously search or browse over 10 million digitized facsimile pages. Resources in English language.
You may search Factiva for Chinese newspapers published in Singapore. Examples include 联合早报, 联合晚报 and 新明日报. You can use hanyu pinyin in your search. Do remember to select Mandarin and Singapore in the search option fields.