Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Here are some selected English and Chinese eresources related to Chinese Studies. Besides subscribed eresources, this page contains links to digital humanities projects, websites of government departments and research centres as well as other free eresources.
To view the full listing of subscribed databases for Chinese Studies, please go to the database list and select "Chinese Studies" from the drop-down list.
Ebook Databases 电子图书数据库
China Digital Library 中华数字书苑
We have titles under these categories: international economics, international economic relations, economic of China, Deng Xiaopings works, Mao Zedongs works, history and criticism of Chinese literature. 由北大方正电子集团提供的中文电子书数字资源平台。目前我们图书馆购买了共8144 种，分属以下类目：世界经济、国际经济关系，中国经济，邓小平著作，毛泽东著作，各体文学评论和研究，中国文学评论和.
Superstar Digital Library 超星数字图书馆
E-book database of Chinese titles published in China. Subscription covers the following categories: Chinese philosophy, literature, language, history and geography. 由北京超星信息技术发展有限公司开发，内含33万册以上中国大陆出版的中文图书，是中国最早的中文电子书数字图书馆。目前我们图书馆购买了共99,565种，分属以下类目：中国哲学图书馆, 语言、文字图书馆， 文学图书馆，以及历史、地理图书馆。
ChinaMaxx Digital Libraries 中文集献
previously known as "Superstar Digital Library" or "超星数字图书馆". Contains full-text of Chinese e-books on subjects such as Literature, Philosophy, Religion, History, Geography, Language, Social Sciences, Culture, Education, Foreign Affairs as well as International Relations. 拥有中国1949年后出版的70万种中文图书，是目前世界上最大和最全的中文电子图书馆。
iRead eBooks 華藝電子書
Full-text of Chinese ebooks mainly published in Taiwan.提供台湾出版的中文书籍。目前南大图书馆共购买了1405种不同类别的书籍，包括了商管，财经，文学，小说， 设计，艺术，人文，社科，语言，学术书，政府出版品，单位自行出版品等。
Digital Humanities 数字人文研究
南洋大学历史参考资料目录 Bibliography on the history of Nanyang University
This bibliography aims to facilitate research on Nanyang University by collecting, organizing and pointing readers to written records on the University during that time. It covers materials which date back to the early 1950s before the university was built, up to 2015.
Materia Medica Across Asia
This site collects resources for digital analysis of the Daoist and Buddhist canons and the History of Chinese Medicine. It includes full databases, vocabulary lists, metadata, and links to new tools for Digital Sinology.
王赓武图书馆早期课本特藏目录 Bibliography of Early Textbook Collection in Wang Gungwu Library
This bibliography, which consists of early textbooks in Chinese used in Southeast Asia, is searchable by title, author, or subject.
斯坦福大学北美中国铁路工人研究项目 Chinese Railroad Workers in North America Project (Stanford University)
The Chinese Railroad Workers in North America Project seeks to give a voice to the Chinese migrants whose labor on the Transcontinental Railroad helped to shape the physical and social landscape of the American West. The Project coordinates research in North America and Asia in order to publish new findings in print and digital formats, support new and scholarly informed school curriculum, and participate in conferences and public events.
國際敦煌項目：絲綢之路在綫 The International Dunhuang Project: The Silk Road Online
IDP is a ground-breaking international collaboration to make information and images of all manuscripts, paintings, textiles and artefacts from Dunhuang and archaeological sites of the Eastern Silk Road freely available on the Internet and to encourage their use through educational and research programmes.
Local gazetteers (地方志) Digital Projects (Max Planck Institute for the History of Science)
This project transforms textual formats into a scholarly, enhanced database for new forms of digital historical analysis. A set of digital tools has been developed to help historians to quickly extract data from the digitized text, to store and share the produced data with peers as a new form of academic collaboration, and to apply analysis tools (including GIS maps) on the produced data in order to observe patterns on larger scales.
Institutes and Organizations 研究所
Chinese Heritage Centre 华裔馆
The CHC works to promote awareness and understanding of Chinese history, culture, and tradition among people in Singapore and the world.
Singapore Centre for Chinese Language 新加坡华文教研中心
The establishment of Singapore Centre for Chinese Language (SCCL) was announced by Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong on 6 September 2008. The objective of SCCL is to enhance the effectiveness of teaching Chinese as a second language in a bilingual environment and to meet the learning needs of students from non-Mandarin speaking homes.
Singapore Chinese Cultural Centre 新加坡华族文化中心
The Singapore Chinese Cultural Centre (SCCC) aims to nurture and promote Singapore Chinese culture, and to foster mutual understanding among all ethnic communities of our multicultural heritage.
Confucius Institute Headquarters (Hanban) 孔子学院总部/国家汉办
Hanban/Confucius Institute Headquarters is a public institution affiliated with China's Ministry of Education. It provides Chinese language and cultural teaching resources and services worldwide to meet the needs of Chinese learners worldwide. 国家汉办是中国教育部直属事业单位，致力于为世界各国提供汉语言文化的教学资源和服务，最大限度地满足海外汉语学习者的需求，为携手发展多元文化，共同建设和谐世界做贡献。
Confucius Institute NTU Singapore
Confucius Institute, Nanyang Technological University (CI-NTU) is the first Chinese language and culture centre in Singapore co-sponsored by the Chinese central government.
南洋理工大学中华语言文化中心 Centre for Chinese Language and Culture, NTU
中华语言文化中心主要研究方向：中华传统与文化; 华族语言与方言; 华文文学; 华人移民与网络：本土与全球问题; 东南亚华人教育
国家语言运动 National Language Campaigns
National Language Campaigns (National Heritage Board)
The Language Council Secretariat's mission is to ensure that Singapore's National Languages and culture continues to be one of the key uniting elements in our multi-language, multi-racial and multi-religious society.
Speak Mandarin Campaign 推广华语运动
The Speak Mandarin Campaign is a year-round campaign, focused on creating awareness through publicity and engaging the community. Each year, the campaign has a different theme and approach to reach out to Singaporeans. The Speak Mandarin Campaign (SMC) was launched by then Prime Minister Mr Lee Kuan Yew in 1979. The task was to transform a deeply entrenched social-linguistic habit of Chinese Singaporeans who were long used to the speaking of dialects.
Ejournal databases 期刊全文数据库
Our Library subscribes to 4 main components: China Academic Journals Full-text Database, China Doctor Dissertation Full-text Database, China Masters Dissertation Full-text Database and China Proceedings of Conferences Full-text Database.
万方数据 Wanfang Data
Chinese-language database with full-text of multi-disciplinary online journals. Subscription covers four series: (1) Philosophy/Politics/Law, (2) Social Sciences, (3) Economics/Finance and (4) Health/Medicine.
晚清期刊全文数据库 (1833-1911) Late Qing Dynasty Periodical Full-text Database (1833-1911)
Covers 304 journals published during the late Qing dynasty, from 1833-1911. 这个数据库收录了从1833年至1911年间中国出版的304种期刊.
大成老旧刊数据库 Dacheng Old Journal Full-text Database
Contains journals published before1949, covering a wide range of subjects such as Philosophy, Literature, History, Geography, Politics, Economy, Law, Arts, Language & Characters, Education & Sports, Natural Sciences, Health & Medicine, Agriculture, Environmental Science, Multidisciplinary, etc.
Journal of Chinese Overseas (JCO)
Journal of Chinese Overseas (JCO) is an internationally refereed journal published in English twice a year in May and November. It carries academic articles on Chinese overseas worldwide. Topics on places in mainland China , Hong Kong , Macau and Taiwan where the emigrant communities originate, and articles on people of non-Han origins in diaspora who can trace their ancestry to China will also be considered. In addition to well-researched articles, the journal also publishes research reports and book reviews.
Free access online resources 网络资源
Singapore Biographical Database 新加坡历代人物传记数据库
The Singapore Biographical Database is a collaborative project by NUS, NLB and the Singapore Federation of Chinese Clan Associations. It presents an interface that allows users to search individual prominent Singapore Chinese personalities and displays a social network of interpersonal connections and affiliations between them. 新加坡历代人物传记数据库是新加坡国立大学、新加坡国家图书馆和新加坡宗乡会馆联合总会的合作项目。它提供网页界面便于用户搜索新加坡华人先贤的相关资料及社交网络。此外，本网站还提供数据外链，将本数据库与新加坡国家图书馆、新加坡国家档案馆和新加坡国立大学中文系图像档案库的资料联系起来。
Singapore & Malaysian Chinese Literature 新华文学和马华文学相关网站
Malaysian Chinese Literature Digital Library 马华文学电子图书馆
An open access ebook platform for Malaysia Chinese Literature and other materials. 除了马华文学创作之外，也将收录文学评论与文学研究的著作，包括期刊杂志、研讨会、硕士与博士论文等。
Singapore Chinese Literature 《新華文學》（新加坡作家協會出版）
Publication by Singapore Association of Writers
新加坡文艺协会 (Singapore Literature Society)
The vision of Singapore Literature Society is to introduce, promote and support the development of Singapore Chinese Literature in Singapore, ASEAN and internationally through age and culturally appropriate events, research and publications that motivate and inspire creativity in Chinese Literature.
Open Access Ejournals 开放获取电子期刊
Open Access Ebooks 开放获取电子书
Chinese Rare Book Digital Collection (Library of Congress)
The Chinese Rare Book Digital Collection draws from the titles of Chinese rare books housed at the Asian Division of the Library of Congress.This digital collection brings together printed books, manuscripts, Buddhist sutras, works with hand-painted pictures, local gazetteers, and ancient maps. These materials encompass a wide array of disciplines and subjects in classics, history, geography, philosophy, and literature. The majority are editions from the Ming dynasty (1368-1644) and early Qing dynasty (1644-1795), while nearly 30 titles are Song dynasty (960-1279) and Yuan dynasty (1279-1368) editions.
Taiwan eBook 臺灣華文電子書庫
An open access platform for e-books from libraries in Taiwan published between 1911-1949. Titles include government publications, and scholarly materials. 台湾图书馆电子图书的开放式访问平台。 书籍是1911年至1949年的出版品，内容包括政府出版物和学术资料。
Chinese Text Project (Ctext) 中國哲學書電子化計劃(Donald Sturgeon)
The Chinese Text Project is an online open-access digital library that makes pre-modern Chinese texts available to readers and researchers all around the world. The site attempts to make use of the digital medium to explore new ways of interacting with these texts that are not possible in print. With over thirty thousand titles and more than five billion characters, the Chinese Text Project is also the largest database of pre-modern Chinese texts in existence.
ChinaKnowledge.de - An Encyclopaedia on Chinese History, Literature and Art
Founded in 2000, this online encyclopaedia provides information on a wide range of topics in Chinese history, literature, art, religions, and philosophy.
Linguistics Institutes and Organizations 语言研究所
语言学研究所 Institute of Linguistics, Academia Sinica
This research institutes conducts linguistic as well as interdisciplinary research focusing on languages of Taiwan and genetically and areally-related languages. Take a look at this site if you are interested in linguistic structure analyses, language archiving, text, speech and physiology corpora as well as linguistic computation and simulation.
This research centre comes under the Ministry of Education in China. It focuses on applied linguistics research examining the practical and theoretical considerations in linguistics studies. Areas of interest include general linguistics, language teaching, sociolinguistics, phonology and computational linguistics.
The Linguistic Society of Hong Kong
An academic linguistic association based in Hong Kong, it contains news and resources on the teachings and developments of linguistic studies in Hong Kong. Their studies on the Cantonese language is especially interesting.
This Institute of Linguistics in China was led by several renowned scholars, including Luo Changpei (罗常培) and Lu Shuxiang (吕叔湘). The research centre examines a wide range of issues about linguistics, and is also very active in publishing their research results, producing several highly acclaimed titles over the years.
This is the official website for the governmental department responsible for deciding and implementing the policies and directions for the Chinese language and other dialects in China. This website also includes the standardisation and regulations of using the language and dialects. You can find historical information and the latest developments or changes in the Chinese language and dialects here.
中国逻辑学会语用学专业委员会 China Pragmatics Association
China Pragmatics Association, originally known as 国语用学研究会, is an association formed by Chinese linguistic researchers and scholars from all over the world. Find updates on conferences, publications and scholars on this website.
The Institute of History and Philology in Taiwan is known for their research output and quality publications. It has rich collections of artefacts and resources in their museum and library.
Linguistics and Language-Related Websites in Japan
This is a bibliography list of language related websites in Japanese maintained by Gotoo Hitosi, Professor of the Department of Linguistics at the Graduate School of Arts and Letters, Tohoku University, Sendai, Japan.
China Related Materials
This website is maintained by David K. Jordan, Professor Emeritus of Anthropology, UCSD. Professor Jordan had written background essays on the pronunciation, simplification, romanization, and an extensive overview of the Chinese language.
Pinyin.com: a guide to the writing of Mandarin Chinese in Romanization
This is a website that contains information on both the print and online resources that are related to the romanization of the Mandarin Chinese.