Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Below is a selection of books related to chemistry. Books are a good source for comprehensive information or an overview of a topic. The books include both print and e-books. For print books, a call number is included so that you can find them in the library.
The books are divided into several sections: academic e-books, handbooks & encyclopedias, dictionaries. A brief paragraph that describes the content and recommended use ir provided for each book.
To browse more titles, please visit our library home page, or ask a librarian for a recommendation.
Call Number: QD31.2.C456 2016
This best-selling general chemistry textbook takes a traditional approach and is often considered a student and teacher favorite. The book features a straightforward, clear writing style and proven problem-solving strategies. It continues the tradition of providing a firm foundation in chemical concepts and principles while presenting a broad range of topics in a clear, concise manner. The tradition of Chemistry has a new addition with co-author, Kenneth Goldsby from Florida State University, adding variations to the 12th edition. The organization of the chapter order has changed with nuclear chemistry moving up in the chapter order.
Call Number: QD33.2.M168 2015
This book aims to help students understand the connections between topics in general chemistry and why they matter. This edition provides a concise and streamlined narrative that blends the quantitative and visual aspects of chemistry, demonstrates the connections between topics, and illustrates the application of chemistry to their lives and careers.
Call Number: QD31.3.Z94 2018
Learn the skills you need to succeed in your chemistry course with CHEMISTRY, Tenth Edition. This trusted text has helped generations of students learn to "think like chemists" and develop problem-solving skills needed to master even the most challenging problems. Clear explanations and interactive examples help you build confidence for the exams, so that you can study to understand rather than simply memorize. Combined with the online resources and instant feedback in OWLv2, you'll be on your way to developing a deeper understanding of chemistry concepts and solving complex problems in all aspects of your life.
Inorganic Chemistry by
Inorganic Chemistry, Second Edition, provides essential information for students of inorganic chemistry or for chemists pursuing self-study. The presentation of topics is made with an effort to be clear and concise so that the book is portable and user friendly. The text emphasizes fundamental principles--including molecular structure, acid-base chemistry, coordination chemistry, ligand field theory, and solid state chemistry. It is organized into five major themes (structure, condensed phases, solution chemistry, main group and coordination compounds) with several chapters in each.
Organic Chemistry by
Call Number: QD253.2.S651 2017
Smith's Organic Chemistry continues to breathe new life into the organic chemistry world. This edition retains its popular delivery of organic chemistry content in a student-friendly format. Janice Smith draws on her extensive teaching background to deliver organic chemistry in a way in which students learn: with limited use of text paragraphs, and through concisely written bulleted lists and highly detailed, well-labeled "teaching" illustrations. The fifth edition features a modernized look with updated chemical structures throughout.
Photocatalysis in Organic Synthesis by
The field of photocatalysis has developed rapidly over the last decade and it is time to clarify its impact on organic synthesis. This volume is an opportunity to provide the defining and current reference work for this field. A primary objective is to collect together the most useful, practical, and reliable methods for photocatalysis and to introduce them to a larger audience. The fundamental concepts of photophysics are introduduced and laboratory set-ups are described, enabling newcomers to the field to instantly apply these new tools in synthesis. Rather than aiming for comprehensive coverage, solutions for challenging transformations in synthesis applying visible light and suitable dyes are presented. A team of pioneers and leaders in the field has been assembled, who discuss both the practical and conceptual aspects of this rapidly growing field. Scope, limitations, and mechanism of the reactions are covered and key experimental procedures are included.
Handbooks & Encyclopedias
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, 97th Edition by
This 97th edition of the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is an update of a classic reference, mirroring the growth and direction of science. This venerable work continues to be the most accessed and respected scientific reference in the world. An authoritative resource consisting of tables of data and current international recommendations on nomenclature, symbols, and units, its usefulness spans not only the physical sciences but also related areas of biology, geology, and environmental science.
Handbook of Combinatorial Chemistry by
This handbook deals with synthetic chemistry in all its forms, applications from life sciences, chemistry and
material sciences, all there is to know about compound library design and synthesis, and, of course, the general basics - making it an indispensable reference for synthetic, organic and medicinal chemists, chemical biologists as well as material scientists.
Encyclopedia of Inorganic and Bioinorganic Chemistry by
The Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry has merged with the Handbook of Metalloproteins to form the Encyclopedia of Inorganic and Bioinorganic Chemistry (EIBC). EIBC incorporates all existing articles from both the Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry and the Handbook of Metalloproteins, and is updated quarterly.
Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry by
This encyclopedia the essential cross-disciplinary reference work for all analytical chemists in academia and industry. All fields of chemical research are covered: analytical, organic, physical, polymer, inorganic biomedical, environmental, pharmaceutical, industrial, petroleum, forensics, and food science. Updated 4 times per year, this encyclopedia is the most comprehensive analytical chemistry reference available and covers all aspects from theory and instrumentation through to applications and techniques.
Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry by
The 4-volume Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry, Second Edition, represents the current state of a dynamic and crucial field of study. The Encyclopedia pulls together over 500 articles that help define and explore contemporary biochemistry, with content experts carefully chosen by the Editorial Board to assure both breadth and depth in its coverage.
Encyclopedia of Chemical Physics and Physical Chemistry - 3 Volume Set by
The Encyclopedia of Physical Chemistry and Chemical Physics introduces possibly unfamiliar areas, explains important experimental and computational techniques, and describes modern endeavors. The encyclopedia quickly provides the basics, defines the scope of each subdiscipline, and indicates where to go for a more complete and detailed explanation.
McGraw-Hill dictionary of chemistry. by
Call Number: QD5.M147
Derived from the world-renowned "McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms: Sixth Edition", this vital reference offers a wealth of essential information in a portable, convenient, quick-find format. Whether you're a professional, a student, a writer, or a general reader with an interest in science, there is no better or more authoritative way to stay up-to-speed with the current language of chemistry or gain an understanding of its key ideas and concepts. Written in clear, simple language understandable to the general reader, yet in-depth enough for scientists, educators, and advanced students.
Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary by
This updated edition provides 1471 new definitions, 5,236 revised or updated definitions, a new Chemical Abstract Number index, and an update of all trademarks; Significant expansion of both chemical and biochemical terms including the addition of biochemical terms in the emerging fields in biology and biological engineering such as synthetic biology, highlighting the merging of the sciences of chemistry and biology. Updates and expands the extensive data on chemicals, trade name products, and chemistry-related definitions; Adds entries for notable chemists and Nobel Prize winners, equipment and devices, natural forms and minerals, named reactions, and chemical processes
Oxford Dictionary of Chemistry by
Fully revised and updated, the sixth edition of this popular dictionary is the ideal reference resource for students of chemistry, either at school or at university. With over 4,700 entires - over 200 new to this edition - it covers all aspects of chemistry, from physical chemistry tobiochemistry. The sixth edition boasts broader coverage in subject areas such as forensics, metallurgy, materials science, and geology, increasing the dictionary's appeal to students in these related fields. There are also biographical entries on key figures, highlighted entries on major topics suchas polymers and crystal defects, and a chronology charting the main discoveries in atomic theory, biochemistry, explosives, and plastics.
The combined chemical dictionary
The combined chemical dictionary is a structured database holding information on chemical substances. It includes descriptive and numerical data on chemical, physical and biological properties of compounds; systematic and common names of compounds; literature references; structure diagrams and their associated connection tables. The online version contains all those compounds published in: Dictionary of Commonly Cited Compounds; Dictionary of Drugs; Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds; Dictionary of Natural Products; Dictionary of Organic Compounds.