LibGuides: Chemical & Biomedical Engineering: eResources

Top Journals in Chemical & Biomedical Engineering based on Journal Citation Report

Journal Citation Reports (JCR) is a resource that provides the data to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 11,000 scholarly and technical journals from more than 3,300 publishers. It provides a ranking of journals based on the measure called Impact factor.

The Journal Impact Factor is defined as all citations to the journal in the current JCR year to items published in the previous two years, divided by the total number of scholarly items (these comprise articles, reviews, and proceedings papers) published in the journal in the previous two years.

For example, in the 2017 JCR, each Journal Impact Factor will measure the citations earned by a publication where the citing year is 2017, and the cited year is either 2016 or 2015.

The top 10 journals in the Web of Science category Engineering, Biomedical based on 2017 JCR are:

Biomaterials
Impact Factor 8.806
Annual Review Of Biomedical Engineering
Impact Factor 8.788
Biofabrication
Impact Factor 6.838
Acta Biomaterialia
Impact Factor 6.383
IEEE Transactions On Medical Imaging
Impact Factor 6.131
Advanced Healthcare Materials
Impact Factor 5.609
Medical Image Analysis
impact Factor 5.356
Clinical Oral Implants Research
impact Factor 4.305
IEEE Transactions On Biomedical Engineering
Impact Factor 4.288
Journal Of Tissue Engineering And Regenerative Medicine
Impact Factor 4.089

The top 10 journals in the Web of Science category Engineering, Chemical based on 2017 JCR are:

Energy & Environmental Science
Impact Factor 30.067
Progress in energy and combustion science
Impact Factor 25.242
Applied Catalysis B-Environmental
Impact Factor 11.698
Applied Energy
Impact Factor 7.9
Annual Review of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Impact Factor 7.674
Journal Of Catalysis
Impact Factor 6.759
Chemical Engineering Journal
Impact Factor 6.735
Desalination
Impact Factor 6.603
Journal Of Membrane Science
Impact Factor 6.578
ACS Sustainable Chemistry & Engineering
Impact Factor 6.14

To obtain the full list of journals rankings, access JCR database, select "Browse by Category", click the tab 'Journals by Rank', then Select Categories on the left hand side, select Engineering, Chemical or Engineering, Biomedical and click Submit.

You may want to view Google Scholar Top publications list for Biomedical Technology.

Websites - Associations, Societies & Institutes

American Chemical Society (ACS)
The forefront of chemical enterprise and the professional home for chemists, chemical engineers
International Society for Magnetic Resonance in Medicine (ISMRM)
Non-profit professional association for furthering development of magnetic resonance techniques in medicine and biology
American Institute of Chemical Engineers, AIChE
For chemical engineering professionals, with over 40,000 members from over 90 countries
The Society of Chemical Engineers, Japan, SCES
Advancing academic standards in chemical engineering and activities of key academic groups
Society for Chemical and Biotechnology, DECHEMA
DECHEMA is non-profit Society for Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology based in Frankfurt
IEEE Engineering in Medicine and Biology Society, IEEE EMBS
IEEE (EMBS) is the world’s largest international society of biomedical engineers
Chemical Institute of Canada, CIC
Non-profit umbrella organization for Canadian Societies
German Chemical Society, GDCh
Largest chemical society in continental Europe with members from academe, industry
Institution of Engineering and Technology, IET
The IET is a professional society for the engineering and technology community
European Federation of Chemical Engineering, EFCE
EFCE is an association of currently 40 Member Societies in 30 European countries
Asian Pacific Confederation of Chemical Engineering, APCChE
Non-profit societies, associations and institutions working in Chemical Engineering in Asian Pacific
Royal Society of Chemistry, RSC
The RSC is the largest organisation in Europe for advancing the chemical sciences
The Institution of Engineers Singapore, IES
IES was formally established on July 1966 as the national society of engineers in Singapore
The Singapore Engineer (Institution of Engineers Singapore IES)
Singapore Chemical Industry Council
The Singapore Chemical Industry Council Limited (SCIC) is the official industry association representing the Singapore Energy and Chemicals cluster in the private sector. It plays a proactive role in representing the interests of this manufacturing sector and continues to promote it as a major economic pillar of Singapore

Websites - Institutions of Higher Learning

Websites - Other Useful Resources

Core Databases

BioMed Central (BMC) This link opens in a new window
An evolving portfolio of some 300 peer-reviewed journals using the open access publishing model, sharing discoveries from research communities in science, technology, engineering and medicine. Now part of Springer Nature.

→ Open access scholarly journals
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Consists of multiple databases that cover 190+ subject areas and multiple content types that reflect the depth and breadth of engineering.

NOTE: Our Library only subscribes 2 databases: Compendex and Inspec.

→ Concurrent users: Unlimited
→ Available to current NTU staff and students | Restricted onsite access for NIE staff & students, associate members -- please approach the staff at the Lee Wee Nam Library service desk for assistance.
Reaxys This link opens in a new window
Collection of peer-reviewed literature, patents and substance databases. Discover chemical structures, properties and reactions. Includes synthesis data.

→ Concurrent users: Unlimited
→ Available to current NTU staff and students only

Learn how to get started with Reaxys and how to apply this knowledge to enhance your learning on Analytical, Organic and Inorganic chemistry with Reaxys Education (RxED) Learn Chemistry Youtube playlist
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Previously known as "SciFinder" References, substances and reactions in chemistry and related sciences. Includes bibliographic data and abstracts of journal articles and selected patents on all areas of chemistry and its applications, data on chemicals, their Registry number, different names, physical properties and reaction information. Users can search for substances, reactions, and patent and journal references, chemical suppliers. SciFinder-n provides an array of tools to search, filter and analyze search results.

NOTE: A CAS account required. First time users can sign up for an account here. To reset your SciFinder password, please go to https://accounts.cas.org/password/.

See also: User Guide / Guide on Transferring ChemDraw Structures to SciFinder-n / SciFinder-n webinars

→ Concurrent users: Unlimited
→ Available to current NTU staff and students only
Existing SciFinder users username and password can be used to log in to SciFinder-n.

First time users need to create a personal SciFinder username and password using your NTU email address. After submission of the form, you will receive an email message with instructions for completing the registration process.

FAQs on SciFinder-n

Related Databases

ScienceDirect + New premium journal subscription This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary collections of journals and other publications covering life sciences, health sciences, physical sciences and engineering as well as social sciences, humanities and business.

See here for a list of premium journal subscription.

Note: New subscription of eBooks published in 2022 for the following subjects:
Agricultural, Biological, and Food Sciences
Computing
Earth and Planetary Sciences
Energy
Engineering
Environmental Science
Materials Science
Mathematics
Social Sciences
→ Concurrent users: Unlimited
→ Available to current NTU staff and students | Restricted onsite access for NIE staff & students, associate members -- please approach the staff at the Lee Wee Nam Library service desk for assistance.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering research topics across all scientific and technical disciplines, ranging from medicine and social sciences to arts and humanities.

→ Concurrent users: Unlimited
→ Available to current NTU/NIE staff and students | Restricted onsite access for associate members -- please approach the staff at the Lee Wee Nam Library service desk for assistance.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Formerly known as Web of Knowledge, Web of Science is an online scientific citation indexing service that provides a comprehensive citation search. It gives access to multiple databases that reference cross-disciplinary research, which allows for in-depth exploration of specialized sub-fields within an academic or scientific discipline.

Our Library has access to the following index:

1. Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) --1975-present
2. Book Citation Index– Science (BKCI-S) --2005-2018
3. Book Citation Index– Social Sciences & Humanities (BKCI-SSH) --2005-2018
4. Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI) --2005-present
5. Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (CPCI-S) --1991-present
6. Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH) --1991-present
7. Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED) --1900-present
8. Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) --1900-present

→ Concurrent users: Unlimited
→ Available to current NTU/NIE staff and students | Restricted onsite access for associate members-- please approach the staff at the Lee Wee Nam Library service desk for assistance.

Chemical & Biomedical Engineering: eResources

About