Books are a good source for comprehensive information or an overview of a topic. The books listings here include both print and e-books on specific Chemical and Biomedical Engineering topics, relevant sections in e-book collections, introductory texts and references (dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks).
To browse more titles, please visit our library home page, or ask a librarian for a recommendation.
Below are book lists based on key subject terms in Chemical & Biomedical Engineering Click on them for a quick scan of what’s available in NTU Library.
Browsing by E-book Providers
Providers of e-books in the field of Computer Science & Engineering are listed below. Click on the links below to browse collections or search for specific topics. You may be asked to login with your NTU network username and password.
Albright's Chemical Engineering Handbook by
Taking greater advantage of powerful computing capabilities over the last several years, the development of fundamental information and new models has led to major advances in nearly every aspect of chemical engineering. Albright's Chemical Engineering Handbookrepresents a reliable source of updated methods, applications, and fundamental concepts that will continue to play a significant role in driving new research and improving plant design and operations. Well-rounded, concise, and practical by design, this handbook collects valuable insight from an exceptional diversity of leaders in their respective specialties. Each chapter provides a clear review of basic information, case examples, and references to additional, more in-depth information. They explain essential principles, calculations, and issues relating to topics including reaction engineering, process control and design, waste disposal, and electrochemical and biochemical engineering. The final chapters cover aspects of patents and intellectual property, practical communication, and ethical considerations that are most relevant to engineers. From fundamentals to plant operations,Albright's Chemical Engineering Handbookoffers a thorough, yet succinct guide to day-to-day methods and calculations used in chemical engineering applications. This handbook will serve the needs of practicing professionals as well as students preparing to enter the field.
Biomedical Engineering Desk Reference by
A one-stop Desk Reference, for Biomedical Engineers involved in the ever expanding and very fast moving area; this is a book that will not gather dust on the shelf. It brings together the essential professional reference content from leading international contributors in the biomedical engineering field. Material covers a broad range of topics including: Biomechanics and Biomaterials; Tissue Engineering; and Biosignal Processing
Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook by
Get Cutting-Edge Coverage of All Chemical Engineering Topics--from Fundamentals to the Latest Computer Applications. First published in 1934, Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook has equipped generations of engineers and chemists with an expert source of chemical engineering information and data. Now updated to reflect the latest technology and processes of the new millennium, the Eighth Edition of this classic guide provides unsurpassed coverage of every aspect of chemical engineering-from fundamental principles to chemical processes and equipment to new computer applications. Filled with over 700 detailed illustrations, the Eighth Edition of Perry's Chemcial Engineering Handbook features: Comprehensive tables and charts for unit conversion A greatly expanded section on physical and chemical data New to this edition: the latest advances in distillation, liquid-liquid extraction, reactor modeling, biological processes, biochemical and membrane separation processes, and chemical plant safety practices with accident case histories Inside This Updated Chemical Engineering Guide Conversion Factors and Mathematical Symbols * Physical and Chemical Data * Mathematics * Thermodynamics * Heat and Mass Transfer * Fluid and Particle Dynamics Reaction Kinetics * Process Control * Process Economics * Transport and Storage of Fluids * Heat Transfer Equipment * Psychrometry, Evaporative Cooling, and Solids Drying * Distillation * Gas Absorption and Gas-Liquid System Design * Liquid-Liquid Extraction Operations and Equipment * Adsorption and Ion Exchange * Gas-Solid Operations and Equipment * Liquid-Solid Operations and Equipment * Solid-Solid Operations and Equipment * Size Reduction and Size Enlargement * Handling of Bulk Solids and Packaging of Solids and Liquids * Alternative Separation Processes * And Many Other Topics!
Handbook of Membrane Separations by
The Handbook of Membrane Separations: Chemical, Pharmaceutical, and Biotechnological Applications provides detailed information on membrane separation technologies as they have evolved over the past decades. To provide a basic understanding of membrane technology, this book documents the developments dealing with these technologies. It explores chemical, pharmaceutical, food processing and biotechnological applications of membrane processes ranging from selective separation to solvent and material recovery. This text also presents in-depth knowledge of membrane separation mechanisms, transport models, membrane permeability computations, membrane types and modules, as well as membrane reactors.
Biomedical Engineering and Design by
A State-of-the-Art Guide to Biomedical Engineering and Design Fundamentals and Applications The two-volume Biomedical Engineering and Design Handbook, Second Edition offers unsurpassed coverage of the entire biomedical engineering field, including fundamental concepts, design and development processes, and applications. This landmark work contains contributions on a wide range of topics from nearly 80 leading experts at universities, medical centers, and commercial and law firms. Volume 1 focuses on the basics of biomedical engineering, including biomedical systems analysis, biomechanics of the human body, biomaterials, and bioelectronics. Filled with more than 500 detailed illustrations, this superb volume provides the foundational knowledge required to understand the design and development of innovative devices, techniques, and treatments. Volume 1 covers: Modeling and Simulation of Biomedical Systems Bioheat Transfer Physical and Flow Properties of Blood Respiratory Mechanics and Gas Exchange Biomechanics of the Respiratory Muscles Biomechanics of Human Movement Biomechanics of the Musculoskeletal System Biodynamics Bone Mechanics Finite Element Analysis Vibration, Mechanical Shock, and Impact Electromyography Biopolymers Biomedical Composites Bioceramics Cardiovascular Biomaterials Dental Materials Orthopaedic Biomaterials Biomaterials to Promote Tissue Regeneration Bioelectricity Biomedical Signal Analysis Biomedical Signal Processing Intelligent Systems and Bioengineering BioMEMS
Applied Biofluid Mechanics by 
Applied Mathematics and Modeling for Chemical Engineers by 
Biomedical Engineering by 
Biomedical Materials by 
Chemical Engineering Design by 
Chemical Process Equipment by 
Chemistry and Molecular Aspects of Drug Design and Action by 
Concepts of Chemical Engineering 4 Chemists by 
Introduction to Biomedical Engineering: Biomechanics and Bioelectricity - Part I by 
Thermodynamics by 
Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary by
1471 new definitions, 5,236 revised or updated definitions, a new Chemical Abstract Number index, and an update of all trademarks Significant expansion of both chemical and biochemical terms including the addition of biochemical terms in the emerging fields in biology and biological engineering such as synthetic biology, highlighting the merging of the sciences of chemistry and biology Updates and expands the extensive data on chemicals, trade name products, and chemistry-related definitions Adds entries for notable chemists and Nobel Prize winners, equipment and devices, natural forms and minerals, named reactions, and chemical processes Update on toxicological profiles
Japanese-English Chemical Dictionary by
This indispensable tool enables scientists and translators with only a basic knowledge of Japanese to quickly locate and evaluate pertinent information, tapping the large body of chemical literature that at present is mainly inaccessible to non-Japanese readers. The dictionary is unique in both its scope and concept, listing over 15,000 technical terms from all chemical disciplines in kanji/kana script, romaji transcription and English translation, ordered according to frequency of occurrence for quick access. The dictionary is supplemented by valuable background information on the Japanese language, chemical industry and chemical literature. A ready reference for all those chemical professionals dealing with the world's second largest economy.
The Dictionary of Substances and Their Effects by
This new edition of The Dictionary and Substances and their Effects (DOSE) supersedes the renowned 1st edition, and offers the benefit of free sitewide access to the DOSE searchable web database. The 1st edition has been completely revised, updated and extended with all the latest significant data on the chemicals known to have adverse effects on lifeforms or the environment. The new edition is a must for all those who need easy access to a single source of the latest essential and fully referenced data on chemicals which are known to have significant toxic or environmental effects. The web database is ideal for targeted searches and customised data retrieval. The 2nd edition of DOSE includes new toxicity, environmental and regulatory data from the world's literature, presented in concise summaries. These new data are essential for the accurate assessment of the risks associated with the use and disposal of chemicals. Data on over 100 chemicals new to this edition have been added, including endocrine disruptors, food carcinogens, pesticides and compounds studied by IARC and NTP. All of the 4000 chemicals contained in the 1st edition have been reviewed. New and updated information for these chemicals includes: * occupational exposure limits for 6 countries * recent toxicity and ecotoxicity data * results of new carcinogenicity, mutagenicity and environmental fate studies * the latest regulatory requirements DOSE 2nd edition comprises 7 hardcover volumes covering over 4000 chemicals alphabetically, and includes indexes of substance names and synonyms, molecular formulae, and CAS Registry Numbers; glossaries of medical terms and Latin to English organism names; an abbreviations listing and a comprehensive guide to the types of data and their origin. Free sitewide access to the DOSE web database is included in the purchase price. In addition to the RSC print/web database package, DOSE is available via Knovel's Engineering and Scientific Online Reference, located at www.knovel.com.
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms by
For more than a quarter of a century, this amazingly comprehensive dictionary has been a standard international reference. Containing more than 115,000 terms and 125,000 definitions--from 100 areas of science and technology--this trusted resource provides definitions written in clear, simple language, understandable to the general reader, yet is consistent with the specialized use of the term. THE NEW SIXTH EDITION: * Thoroughly revised with 5,000 NEW TERMS * Each term includes a helpful pronunciation guide * Entries are complemented by 3,000 illustrations; appendices containing biographic listings, converison tables, taxonomic classification charts, and more * The only dictionary of scientific and technical terms to be thumb-indexed Invaluable to scientists, researchers, teachers, students, as well as interested lay persons, the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms is truly the single best way for anyone to gain fluency in the language of science.
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Named Processes in Chemical Technology, Third Edition by
Recommended, byChoice Current Reviews for Academic Libraries,. Covering a broad spectrum of chemical technology, from the gigantic Bessemer process for making steel to the microscopic Manasevit process for applying circuits to silicon chips, the Encyclopedic Dictionary of Named Processes in Chemical Technology, Third Edition includes all those processes that are known by special names regardless of origin or use. Extensively revised and expanded, this third edition incorporates named processes in current commercial use anywhere in the world, those piloted on a substantial scale, as well as important obsolete processes. Defining more than 3000 processes, 450 of which are new to this edition, this encyclopedic dictionary reflects recent trends in the global chemical industry away from petrochemicals and toward pollution prevention and waste disposal. It also includes processes newly revealed under the Freedom of Information Acts in the US and UK. Each entry is tailored to reflect the importance and topicality of the process providing key reference information, detailed explanation of how the process works, derivation of the name, historical background, date of introduction, patent information, worldwide usage, and end product. The dictionary features a foreward by the widely respected chemical technology historian Prof. Colin A. Russell, extensive cross references, bibliographical references, and an appendix that lists the chemicals and materials that are described in one or more of the processes. Gathering and defining a large portion of special named processes that may fall outside of standard chemical texts or be scattered among industry manuals, Encyclopedic Dictionary of Named Processes in Chemical Technology, Third Edition provides a single source reference to an extensive array of named processes.
Dekker Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology, Second Edition - Six Volume Set (Print Version) by
With its original publication, the Dekker Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Nanotechnologyimmediately became the reference against which all other nano references are measured. Noting that the encyclopedia was being assembled by leading authorities at an early stage in the field's development, Sir Harry Kroto, 1996 Nobel Prize winner in Chemistry, rightfully predicted that the encyclopedia would bring together key advances in a "coherently organized framework." Continuing to cover the field as no other resource, the six-volume second edition crosses disciplines to examine fundamental nano principles, theories, and methodologies, as well as the latest information on nano-relevant properties. It also covers advances in nanoscale engineering, newly developed simulation tools, and emerging computational methods. Among other accolades, this million-dollar bestseller has gone on to win an Outstanding Academic Book Award from CHOICEmagazine. ALSO AVAILABLE ONLINE This Taylor & Francis encyclopedia is also available through online subscription, offering a variety of extra benefits for both researchers, students, and librarians, including: Citation tracking and alerts Active reference linking Saved searches and marked lists HTML and PDF format options For more information, visit Taylor and Francis Online. Or contact us to inquire about subscription options and print/online combination packages. US: (Tel) 1.888.318.2367 / (E-mail) e-reference@taylorandfrancis.com International: (Tel) +44 (0) 20 7017 6062 / (E-mail) online.sales@tandf.co.uk
Encyclopedia of Chemical Processing by
This second edition Encyclopedia supplies nearly 350 gold standard articles on the methods, practices, products, and standards influencing the chemical industries. It offers expertly written articles on technologies at the forefront of the field to maximize and enhance the research and production phases of current and emerging chemical manufacturing practices and techniques. This collecting of information is of vital interest to chemical, polymer, electrical, mechanical, and civil engineers, as well as chemists and chemical researchers. A complete reconceptualization of the classic reference series the Encyclopedia of Chemical Processing and Design,whose first volume published in 1976, this resource offers extensive A-Z treatment of the subject in five simultaneously published volumes, with comprehensive indexing of all five volumes in the back matter of each tome. It includes material on the design of key unit operations involved with chemical processes; the design, unit operation, and integration of reactors and separation systems; process system peripherals such as pumps, valves, and controllers; analytical techniques and equipment; and pilot plant design and scale-up criteria. This reference contains well-researched sections on automation, equipment, design and simulation, reliability and maintenance, separations technologies, and energy and environmental issues. Authoritative contributions cover chemical processing equipment, engineered systems, and laboratory apparatus currently utilized in the field. It also presents expert overviews on key engineering science topics in property predictions, measurements and analysis, novel materials and devices, and emerging chemical fields. ALSO AVAILABLE ONLINE This Taylor & Francis encyclopedia is also available through online subscription, offering a variety of extra benefits for both researchers, students, and librarians, including: Citation tracking and alerts Active reference linking Saved searches and marked lists HTML and PDF format options Contact Taylor and Francis for more information or to inquire about subscription options and print/online combination packages. US: (Tel) 1.888.318.2367; (E-mail) e-reference@taylorandfrancis.com International: (Tel) +44 (0) 20 7017 6062; (E-mail) online.sales@tandf.co.uk
Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology by
Reviews from the previous edition: "The most indispensable reference in the English language on all aspects of chemical technology...the best reference of its kind". --Chemical Engineering News, 1992 "Overall, ECT is well written and cleanly edited, and no library claiming to be a useful resource for chemical engineering professionals should be without it." --Nicholas Basta, Chemical Engineering, December 1992 The fifth edition of the Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology builds upon the solid foundation of the previous editions, which have proven to be a mainstay for chemists, biochemists, and engineers at academic, industrial, and government institutions since publication of the first edition in 1949. The new edition includes necessary adjustments and modernisation of the content to reflect changes and developments in chemical technology. Presenting a wide scope of articles on chemical substances, properties, manufacturing, and uses; on industrial processes, unit operations in chemical engineering; and on fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. The Encyclopedia describes established technology along with cutting edge topics of interest in the wide field of chemical technology, whilst uniquely providing the necessary perspective and insight into pertinent aspects, rather than merely presenting information. Presents the versatile field of chemical technology through articles on properties, manufacturing, and uses of chemical substances and materials, industrial processes and unit operations, along with scientific principles and insights into current research related to the field Addresses such aspects as economic, health and safety factors, standards, specifications and environmental concerns Includes over 1,300 articles Updated regularly to reflect changes and developments in the field (50-60 new or updated articles added each year) Articles are citable and peer reviewed and include bibliography of cited references as well as suggested reading Previous versions of articles are archived for historical reference The Smart Article functionalities were added in 2014, to enable searching for structures and reactions through to the title and across related products, such as journals, databases, and other reference works The last print edition of Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia published between 2004 and 2007 and is available as a comprehensive 27-Volume Set. Since then, a concise edition (2007) and four thematic volumes (2007-2013) on the Environment, Food and Feed Technology, Separation Technology and Cosmetics, have been published and are available in print and e-book formats 27 Volumes Updating wileyonlinelibrary.com/ref/kirk
Encyclopedia of Pharmaceutical Technology by
Presenting authoritative and engaging articles on all aspects of drug development, dosage, manufacturing, and regulation, this Third Edition enables the pharmaceutical specialist and novice alike to keep abreast of developments in this rapidly evolving and highly competitive field. A dependable reference tool and constant companion for years to come, the Third Edition will offer completely new entries that cover critical issues in the field such as the impact of genomics, biotechnology, and implants on drug discovery, targeting, delivery, and formulation. In addition, it will address new regulatory issues, such as the changes in advertising regulations, and emerging FDA procedures.
Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy and Spectrometry by
The Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy and Spectrometry provides authoritative and comprehensive coverage of the whole topic of spectroscopy, from theory to applications. Short articles, each covering one aspect of spectroscopy, provide the professional spectroscopist working in academia or industry with the essential facts and background on areas of spectroscopy peripheral to their own. A list of further reading at the end of each article directs the reader to the level of detail required for professional purposes. Articles are arranged alphabetically, each having been named to facilitate logical access by the reader. Each article is flagged as to which area of spectroscopy it covers ("Mass Spectroscopy," "Magnetic Resonance," etc.) and whether it covers theory, methods and instrumentation, or applications. Users can refer to an alphabetical article listing, or to a listing arranged according to subject area to locate articles. Further reading lists at the end of each article allow easy access to the primary literature. Extensive cross-referencing, a complete subject index, numerous figures, and color plates are included in each volume. Initial access to the online version offering extensive hypertext linking and advanced search tools is available to buyers of the print edition. Ongoing access is maintained for a minimum annual fee.
Ullmann's Chemical Engineering and Plant Design by
Since the unabridged 40-volume Ullmann's Encyclopedia is inaccessible to many readers - particularly individuals, smaller companies or institutes - all the information on chemical engineering and plant design has been condensed into this convenient two-volume set. Based on the very latest edition of Ullmann's, this ready reference is the one-stop resource for the plant design engineering community. Starting with the quantitative treatment and fundamentals of chemical engineering, it combines all aspects of process development and reactor technology, as well as detailing their practical applications in sections devoted to plant design, scale-up and plant safety. The two volumes are rounded off by a keyword and an author index. Throughout, readers benefit from the rigorous and cross-indexed nature of the parent reference, and will find both broad introductory information as well as in-depth details of significance to industrial and academic environments.
Wiley encyclopedia of Biomedical Engineering by
Wiley Encyclopedia of Biomedical Engineering, 6-Volume Set is a living and evolving repository of the biomedical engineering (BME) knowledge base. To represent the vast diversity of the field and its multi-and cross-disciplinary nature and serve the BME community, the scope and content is comprehensive. As a peer reviewed primer, educational material, technical reference, research and development resource, the project encompasses the "best" in terms of its intellectual substance and rigor.
Wiley encyclopedia of chemical biology by
The Wiley Encyclopedia of Chemical Biology is an authoritative new work whose goal is to illuminate the crucial role of chemistry and chemical techniques in the life sciences. The encyclopedia will adopt an inclusive editorial approach, encompassing fundamental and blue-sky science as well as those areas of research that have more immediate medical or commercial applications. The scope and structure of the work will reflect the multidimensional character of chemical biology, focusing in particular on the fundamental science of biological structures and systems, the use of chemical and biological techniques to elucidate that science, and the applications of this knowledge in areas as diverse as drug discovery, sensor technology, and catalysis. Major topics areas covered in the encyclopedia: Chemical Views of Biology Biomolecules within the Cell Chemistry of Biological Processes and Systems Chemical Biology of Cellular Compartments Synthetic Molecules as Tools for Chemical Biology Technologies and Techniques in Chemical Biology Applications of Chemical Biology