Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Below is a selection of books on film festivals. Books are a good source for comprehensive information or an overview of a topic. The books comprise both print and e-books. For print books, a call number is included so that you can find them in the library.
To browse more titles, please visit our library catalogue, or ask a librarian for a recommendation.
Library Books on Film Festivals can be found here.
Film Festival Yearbook by
Call Number: PN1993.4.F487F NO.1
Publication Date: 2009-09-01
The first installment in an annual series, the Film Festival Yearbookfeatures essays on the global proliferation of film festivals, focusing on the dynamics of the festival circuit. Contributions discuss the function of individual festivals within a larger and more complex network and the cultural policies that shape channels of film exhibition and distribution. The inaugural volume will include essays by Dina Iordanova, Charles-Clemens Rüling, Ragan Rhyne, Ruby Cheung, and Rahul Hamid. Forthcoming volumes cover gay and lesbian film festivals; festivals of Asia and the Asian diaspora; and the relationship between festivals and geopolitics.
Film Festival Yearbook 5 by
Call Number: PN1993.4.F487f no.5
Publication Date: 2013-06-01
Most people associate film festivals with premieres and the dissemination of the latest trends in cinema. However, the past three decades has also seen the rise of festivals dedicated to re-presenting cinema's past through restorations, retrospectives and rediscoveries. This anthology is the first to chart the development of this phenomenon, while also considering such key issues as: the relationship between archives and festivals, the role of live music and the event screening, canon formation and the impact of digital technologies. Featuring writings by Paolo Cherchi Usai, Ian Christie, David Robinson, interviews with Tom Luddy and Nick Varley, and chapters by festival specialists and scholars, Archival Film Festivals contains a dozen case studies from around the globe, five interviews with festival directors, programmers and distributors, a themed bibliography and a table of archival film festivals from around the world.
Chris Gore's Ultimate Film Festival Survival Guide by
Call Number: PN1993.4.G666
Publication Date: 2009-09-01
"The guerrilla guide to marketing and selling an indie film. Some people are just there for the loot bags. But most of the people at a film festival are trying to market and sell an independent film. Don' t be just one of the horde. Use Chris Gore' s Ultimate Film Festival Survival Guideto help your indie film stand out! Entertainment Weeklyloves Gore' s book, calling it a treatise on schmoozing, bullying, and otherwise weaseling one's way into the cinematic madness known as film festivals. The newly revised and updated fourth edition includes full listings for more than 1,000 film festivals, with complete tips and contact information, plus in-depth analysis of the Big Ten festivals. With detailed, fresh how-tos for marketing, distributing, and selling a film and using websites to build buzz, plus interviews with top festival filmmakers, step-by-steps on what to do after your film gets accepted, and explanations of how to distribute a film, Chris Gore' s guide tells filmmakers exactly how to become a player in the indie world. Chris Gore' s Ultimate Film Festival Survival Guide includes complete listings for more than 1
The Routledge Companion to Film History by
Call Number: PN1994.R869R
Publication Date: 2010-10-20
The Routledge Companion to Film History is an indispensable guide for anyone studying film history for the first time. The approach taken presents a substantial and readable overview of the field and provides students with a tool of reference that will be valuable throughout their studies. The volume is divided into two parts. The first is a set of eleven essays that approaches film history around the following themes: History of the moving image Film as art and popular culture Production process Evolution of sound Alternative modes: experimental, documentary, animation Cultural difference Film¿s relationship to history The second is a critical dictionary that explains concepts, summarizes debates in film studies, defines technical terms, describes major periods and movements, and discusses historical situations and the film industry. The volume as a whole is designed as an active system of cross-references: readers of the essays are referred to dictionary entries (and vice versa) and both provide short bibliographies that encourage readers to investigate topics.
Horror Film Festivals and Awards by
Call Number: PN1995.9.H6S618h
Publication Date: 2011-10-14
The rise of independent horror filmmaking has spurred a growth of "indie" horror film festivals, promising promotional and distribution opportunities for selected motion pictures. Some filmmakers spend thousands of dollars on festival entry fees, only to be rejected everywhere. What occurs behind the scenes at these events? More than two dozen festival directors discuss how they secure money, sponsors and screening venues, and how they promote and run their events, as well as their criteria for selecting films. This book will help horror filmmakers take fuller advantage of festival opportunities, and assist festival directors in founding and improving events. Included are listings of 200+ film festivals and awards--current, defunct and prospective--and of previous award winners, spanning six continents and several decades.
Sundance to Sarajevo by
Call Number: PN1993.4.T929
Publication Date: 2003-11-01
Almost every day of the year a film festival takes place somewhere in the world--from sub-Saharan Africa to the Land of the Midnight Sun. Sundance to Sarajevo is a tour of the world's film festivals by an insider whose familiarity with the personalities, places, and culture surrounding the cinema makes him uniquely suited to his role. Kenneth Turan, film critic for the Los Angeles Times, writes about the most unusual as well as the most important film festivals, and the cities in which they occur, with an eye toward the larger picture. His lively narrative emphasizes the cultural, political, and sociological aspects of each event as well as the human stories that influence the various and telling ways the film world and the real world intersect. Of the festivals profiled in detail, Cannes and Sundance are obvious choices as the biggest, brashest, and most influential of the bunch. The others were selected for their ability to open a window onto a wider, more diverse world and cinema's place in it. Sometimes, as with Sarajevo and Havana, film is a vehicle for understanding the international political community's most vexing dilemmas. Sometimes, as with Burkina Faso's FESPACO and Pordenone's Giornate del Cinema Muto, it's a chance to examine the very nature of the cinematic experience. But always the stories in this book show us that film means more and touches deeper chords than anyone might have expected. No other book explores so many different festivals in such detail or provides a context beyond the merely cinematic.