Skip to main content

Sustainability: eResources

A brief overview of resources on Sustainability

About

This selection of electronic resources (eResources) is related to Sustainability and may include full-text journal articles, abstracts, e-books, references material and videos. The section below is divided into journals, databases and websites. 

The Journals section lists journals in the discipline by journal ranking, and for this particular guide (journal ranking by Scimago SJR). Databases section lists selected databases. Websites section lists institutions, societies and government agency websites useful for learning, research and professional development. 

To browse more eResources, please visit our A-Z collections listing, or ask a librarian for a recommendation. 

Accessing e-journals

What is an academic journal?

An academic journal is a peer-reviewed periodical that contains research articles on a specific subject area. It serves as the medium for research dissemination, with content ranging from original research, review articles, and book reviews. 

The top 10 journals in the subject area 'Renewable Energy, Sustainability and the Environment' based on 2018 SCImago Journal Rank (SJR) are listed below.

To obtain the above list, access JCR database, select "Browse by Category", click the tab 'Journals by Rank', then Select Categories on the left hand side, select Engineering, Environmental and click Submit. Other relevant Categories are Environmental Sciences and Water Resources.

Websites - Institutes & Organisations

Databases

Sustainability topics may be found in multi-disciplinary as well as subject-specific databases. Please visit our A-Z collections listing, or ask a librarian for a recommendation. 

Some video databases have content related to Sustainability (see example below), however these may be discipline-specific. 

Websites - NTU & Government Agencies