Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Maritime Studies: eResources

This guide provides an overview of key resources in Maritime Studies

About

This selection of electronic resources (eResources) is related to Maritime Studies and may include full-text journal articles, abstracts, index of citations, e-books, references material, etc. The section below is divided into journals, core databases and websites. 

The Journals section lists journals in the discipline by journal ranking, and for this particular guide (journal ranking by Journal Citation Report JCR). Core Databases section lists popular databases in the discipline. Websites section lists institutions, societies, government agencies, classification societies and news websites useful for learning, research and professional development. 

To browse more eResources, please visit our A-Z collections listing, or ask a librarian for a recommendation. 

Journals

Journal Citation Reports (JCR) is a resource that provides the data to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 11,000 scholarly and technical journals from more than 3,300 publishers. It  provides a ranking  of journals based on the measure called Impact factor.

The Journal Impact Factor is defined as all citations to the journal in the current JCR year to items published in the previous two years, divided by the total number of scholarly items (these comprise articles, reviews, and proceedings papers) published in the journal in the previous two years.

For example, in the 2017 JCR, each Journal Impact Factor will measure the citations earned by a publication where the citing year is 2017, and the cited year is either 2016 or 2015.

The top 10 journals in the Web of Science category Transportation based on 2017 JCR is given  below.

To obtain the above list, access JCR database, select "Browse by Category", click the tab 'Journals by Rank', then Select Categories on the left hand side, select Transportation and click Submit

Websites - Government Agencies

Core Databases

Related Databases

Websites - News