Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books are a good source for comprehensive information or an overview of a topic. The books listings here include both print and e-books on specific Maritime Studies topics, relevant sections in e-book collections and Introductory Texts.
To browse more titles, please visit our library home page, or ask a librarian for a recommendation.
The core Maritime Studies book collection is located at Level 5, Lee Wee Nam Library; some books are at Business Library. Books relating to Maritime Studies are classified with call numbers beginning with HD, HE, K, TA, TD, VM and VK. Please use the NTU Library Catalogue to confirm the location as well as the call number of the book
Here is a list of books on specific maritime studies subjects:
Browsing by E-book Providers
Some providers of e-books in the field of Maritime Studies are listed below. Click on the titles to browse relevant collections or search for specific topics. You may be asked to login with your NTU network username and password.
- Knovel - Search for titles using keywords e.g. maritime, marine, port, etc
- SpringerLink - Search for titles using keywords and limit content type to books
- Taylor & Francis - Search for titles using keywords e.g. maritime, etc
- Wiley Online LIbrary. Search for titles using keywords and filter by books.
Introductory Texts - Containers
The Container Principle by
Call Number: TA1215.K66
Publication Date: 2015
In The Container Principle, Alexander Klose investigates the principle of the container and its effect on the way we live and think. Klose explores a series of "container situations" in their historical, political, and cultural contexts. He examines the container as a time capsule, sometimes breaking loose and washing up onshore to display an inventory of artifacts of our culture. He explains the "Matryoshka principle," explores the history of land-water transport, and charts the three phases of container history. He examines the rise of logistics, the containerization of computing in the form of modularization and standardization, the architecture of container-like housing (citing both Le Corbusier and Malvina Reynolds's "Little Boxes"), and a range of artistic projects inspired by containers.
Dictionary of Shipping Terms by
Call Number: HE567.B864 2007
Publication Date: 2007
Contains many new and expanded definitions and takes into account recent changes in: * The liner sector * Agreements between shipping lines and the way in which freight surcharges are calculated * Supply chain security measures - including ports * Bill of lading clauses * New standard forms of charter party
Reeds Dictionary of Shipping and Marine Finance by
Call Number: HE567.P126
Publication Date: 2010
Intended for anyone involved in port operations, finance, insurance, surveying, maritime economics, securities and banking, this is a comprehensive glossary of terms, acronyms and abbreviations used in the world of shipping and marine finance.
Introductory Texts - Shipping
Elements of Shipping by
Call Number: HE571.B816 2007 (Reserves)
Publication Date: 2007
With new chapters on seaports and electronic data interchange, it explains in a lucid, professional manner the basic elements of shipping embracing operating, e-commerce/computerization (shipboard/trade), commercial, legal, economic, technical, managerial, logistics and financial considerations.
Farthing on International Shipping [ebook] by
Publication Date: 2013
[This book] is a valuable source of information for students of traditional maritime law as well as for those who seek to understand maritime and shipping services on a global scale. The text includes information and analytical content on national and international practices in shipping.
Introduction to shipping by
Call Number: HE571.C518
Publication Date: 2012
Reeds Sea Transport : Operations and Economics by
Call Number: HE735.A362 2011
Publication Date: 2011
The sixth edition of Reeds Sea Transport ... includes new data and statistics, new advice on safety, a review of ship types including the growth in tonnage and the increase in container ship sizes, as well as the effect of the 'depression' over recent years, all of which make essential reading for professionals as well as students on courses concerned with Shipping Ports and Transport.
Shipping and Ports in the Twenty-first Century by
Call Number: HE571.S557
Publication Date: 2004
Shipping and port systems are vital to societies and lifestyles around the world. In the late twentieth century, however, assumptions concerning the robustness of these systems were severely shaken by economic shocks triggered by oil crises. This volume explores how many of the consequent uncertainties have been resolved, and how adapted systems have been shaped to meet the challenges of the new millennium.